We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Island Historical Museum

Marco Island Historical Museum
180 South Heathwood Drive, Marco Island, FL 34145-5028
+1 239-642-1440
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 54 things to do in Marco Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Long famous for its Key Marco Cat- one of the most remarkable and influential discoveries in North American archaeology- the new Marco Island Historical Museum will explore Southwest Florida’s Calusa Indians and bring this vanished civilization to life with informative displays and an exciting recreated village scene. Temporary and traveling exhibits trace the settlement of this subtropical island paradise from its early pioneer roots as a fishing village, pineapple plantation and clam cannery, through its explosive growth and development in the 1960s by the Miami-based Deltona Corporation.
Swansboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Island History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Loved the information about how Marco Island became "civilized" and developed. Many lessons there! The Calusa Indian history was fascinating.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    46
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit- and it's free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

A interesting, and well-done little museum about the history of Marco Island, going back to the 1800's. There was also an artist's exhibit, with beautiful paintings of the area. The gift shop was a nice place to find quality souvenirs.
Closed on Mondays

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A very nice, informative museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have lived in this area seasonally for the past ten years and finally got around to visiting this facility.
It provides information regarding the settling of Marco Island and the history associated with the island and with Florida also.
There is a video that gives a detailed account of how Marco Island was developed, providing insight into the huge transformation of the island over the past 50 years.
There are many interesting artifacts on display, along with newspaper articles, pictures of early settlers and details of their contribution to the settling of Florida.
The volunteers were very helpful in providing additional information regarding the development of the area and also of certain colorful local characters who were instrumental in the early settlement of the island.
This is definitely a worthwhile and educational outing, one that I'm glad we finally put on our list of things to see in this area.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
1 review
“Island gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Tucked away on a side street sits one of Marco's "must see" highlights while visiting the beautiful island of white sandy beach. Fine array of artifacts displayed that can be enjoyed by all ages, Educational but fun atmosphere! Very knowledgeable and friendly personnel. Added treat was a book- signing by an author of a book I had recently purchased for my trip. What a great surprise!

DEG

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Closed on Mondays!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I did my "homework" before we took this day trip to Marco, and the Museum was on the top of things to see. I was so disappointed that it's closed on Mondays, and no where in the information did I see that. Really? During "season"? I imagine its staffed by a lot of volunteers, but maybe during the season they could be open on Mondays. If it had been any other time of the year, I would have double checked the hours of operation.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Island Historical Museum also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marco Island Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Island Historical Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.