We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstand experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Beach Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$75 Daily F&B Credit
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Austin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Outstand experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2006

The service from every single employee throughout our five day stay was fantastic. I have never stayed in a hotel with such consistent care to detail and courtesy. We were on the 11th floor and had a wonderful beach view. I never saw a grain of sand in the hotel; it was so clean. The only negatives were that the hotel bar is very expensice and you need a jacket for the restaurant on the beach at night which was way too excessive for me. Great hotel and total luxury.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    171
    48
    26
    16
See reviews for
264
392
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westmont, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

My sister-in-law and I recently stayed at the Marco Beach Ocean Resort from June 3 to 6. Everything, from the immaculately clean room, to the beautiful white-sand beaches, exceeded our expectations. When we read some of the reviews about the no-shorts rule in the lobby, I wondered whether the hotel might not be a tad on the stuffy side. But the staff managed to achieve a balance between catering to our every need while also somehow fostering a laid-back, relaxed attitude. The pros are:
-Wonderful location directly on the beach
-Full gulf-view rooms offering spectacular views
-Nightly turndown service, including placement of robes and milk chocolates in room
-Exceptionally courteous, informed, and helpful staff
-Complimentary beach chairs, towels, lemon water, and sorbet (this we actually only received on 1 day of our stay)
-Access to myriad of water sports (for an additional fee), including wave runners, parasailing, and sailing
-Beautiful suites, with marble bathrooms, elegant furniture, and mini-kitchens
-Decent food in beach grill restaurant
The cons are
-1-bedroom suite was a bit on the small side, but fine for 2 people and, perhaps, for families with 1 child, but larger-sized families or parties of 3+ adults would probably require a 2-bedroom suite
-Food in restaurant can be pricey and adds up quickly if eating there regularly
-Marco Island is very quiet and not well suited to those who are seeking exciting nightlife, or any kind of nightlife, for that matter
-No hotel entertainment, except for beautiful beach, water sports, and swimming pool

Marco Island may not be for everyone, but if you are looking for a totally relaxing vacation with access to an absolutely beautiful beach with warm, silky gulf waters, this is definitely a great place to visit. Plus, the hotel is a welcoming place after a day spent under the hot Gulf Coast sun. Also, we found that in early June, the weather was still very agreeable, but the prices were much more reasonable than those advertised during the "high" season. We would definitely love to come back!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

We arrived on 5/25 through 5/28. This is our third visit. I must say, the staff is extraordinary. The service is outstanding. This year, I found the BEST MOJITO drink probably in all of South Florida. You need to find Carmichael, the bartender by the pool and ask him to fix one. This is an outstanding drink to sip by the beach as you lay in the beach chair watching the surf, and dolphins frolic in the water.

I would recommend, they add a pasta dish to the room service menu. Other than this, we absolutely enjoy our stays in this resort. They were able to accomodate our wish for a fishing trip, golf and shopping.

Doesn't get much better than this!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2006

A nice all suite hotel but we were disappointed to find that we had a gulf view but were not able to see the beach. Even though we were on one of the higher floors we could not see any beach because the restaurant Sale E Pepe's is beach front and blocks your view. If you are in a gulf view and a high floor room you can see the top of the restaurant and the AC/Heating units that are on top of the building. We were able to see a small view of the water beyond the restaurant. We found it strange to be out on our gulf view balcony only able to look at the restaurant (and to think we paid extra for this view)! This wasn't what we had in mind when we booked our room. If you are going to stay here you might as well book the garden view room which is on the same level as the pool and cheaper.

The rooms were nice but very small. We had the one bedroom which was ok for two people. We had no place to put the luggage racks for our suitcases as every inch of space was taken. The sofa made a bed but I'm not sure how you could open it up and use it. The kitchen cookware was very limited and even though we had a microwave there were no bowls or microwave dishes to use to cook anything. There was an oven but no cookie sheet. My worst experience was when a previous guest's thong underwear fail from the closet shelf on me. (Yuck!!)

The hotel web site mentions they have a dress code but while we were there it was not followed. There were several things that we did like about the hotel. The beach and pool areas were not as crowded as other hotels we have stayed at on Marco Beach. Providing beach chairs, umbrellas, water and sorbet were nice touches.The concierge staff were excellent and even delivered directions and copies of restaurant menus to our room. We were on The Beach, Bed & Breakfast Getaway package and you could have breakfast in the restaurant or room service without additional charges. Breakfast was very good! Our hotel stay was not bad but not as upscale as we had expected for the price. Definitely don't stay here for the view (or lack of it)!! I think we will stay at the Marriott next year!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

Came across from east coast for weekend getaway with my wife. From arrival to check out,the staff and service was friendly and excellent. Our top floor suite with its spacious bathroom was spotless and had a great view. Our only objectives were to relax poolside and in our suite and we enjoyed every minute, especially in the resort robes and slippers that were on our turned down bed when we arrived friday night. This resort is not a congested cattle ranch like the ones down the street that we have also stayed at previously. We will come back again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

I appreciate all the reviews that brought us to the Marco Ocean Beach Resort. What a great place for a quiet relaxing vacation. We've been to Marco Island before so we knew that there wasn't a lot to do there, but we were looking forward to that. It's such a beautiful area. We loved our suite and all the extra touches. Huge shower, great linens, robes & slippers, turndown service with chocolates, sorbet at 3 everyday, etc. The staff created a happy pleasant environment. Our waiter Emil at Sale E Pepe's was excellent. Pelican Bend on the Isle of Capri had the best fried oysters I have ever had!! They melted in your mouth. We had breakfast at Breakfast Plus. Great selections, good food and lots of it. Had the best steak we have ever had at TruLucks in Naples. Yes the beach chairs at the beach were a little close together and the pool is small. Other than that it was a nice experience. Hi to Peter who works at the beach. You did a great job too!! (He reads the reviews. Doesn't that say something great about their staff????)

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2006

My husband and I had to postpone our honeymoon in St. Vincent right before our wedding and I have to say we ended up having a great time for four nights in Marco Island instead. We reserved a room on their internet website last minute, but everything went very smoothly. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and nice. The service in the hotel, spa and restaurant was also wonderful. The beach was very lovely and it was nice to receive sorbet and lemon water when it was especially hot. My only complaint is that the chairs are too close together, but there is only so much beach. Don't plan to have any "quiet time" on the beach, especially if there are families with children around. In any event, we would definitely go back.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Beach Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Address: 480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Beach Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort epitomizes the AAA Five-Diamond standards. Marco Beach Ocean Resort features casual and elegant dining, a spa and fitness center, pool and hot tub, rooftop gardens, four miles of white sand beach and nearby golf, tennis and shopping. Complimentary smoothies on the beach and pool offered daily at 3pm. Wireless internet available complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marco Beach Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Beach Ocean Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Resort
Marco Island Beach Ocean Hotel
Marco Beach Ocean Resort Marco Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Beach Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.