We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Beach Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$75 Daily F&B Credit
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simply The Best Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This resort is stunning! The rooms are immaculate and spectacular! The beach is pristine and the guys who serve you on the beach are wonderful. Brian at the front desk is most accommodating. I would recommend one of the top floor two bedroom units. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your response and for staying with us at the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We enjoyed reading your comments and we have shared them with our staff. On behalf of the entire team we truly look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    171
    48
    26
    16
See reviews for
264
392
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WV
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at MBOR for 6 nights and particularly liked our stay because there were no worries. The best thing is the beach. At some resorts there is concern over beach seating/service. Not here. There are plenty of beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, and service. The valet parking and doormen couldn't have been better. It's especially nice to return from dinner to find the results of turn down service i.e. chocolates, refreshed towels and pleasant music from the radio. The location is good too, the resort is within walking distance of restaurants, convenience store, movie theatre.

However, I did find the layout a little strange. The "beach bar" isn't on the beach and if you dine there, you are essentially sitting in a thoroughfare from the hotel to the beach. The facilities in general need an upgrade. This still wouldn't deter me from staying there again.

We had also considered the Marriott. The property itself looks very nice and we walked down to their place for lunch. It was very overpriced and overcrowded. I was glad that we had chosen MBOR over the Marriott.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your response about our resort! We truly appreciate your patronage and hope you will come and stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed five nights at the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We had never been to Marco Island and we both agree that our trip to the island was made more superior by our stay at the resort.

We stayed on the fifth floor and had a wonderful view of the gardens with the ocean in the background. The room was beautiful. The kitchen is filled with everything one might need. We used the fridge, as well as the dishes and silverware. The living room and bedroom were comfortable, with nightly turn-down service. And the bathroom was very spacious and modern. If I could rate the room individually, I would rate it 4 stars, as it is beginning to age a bit.

What bumps the rating up is the resort as a whole. We loved all of the amenities and the friendliness of the staff. The beach is gorgeous, with white sand and tons of shells. The resort provides beach chairs and towels and even beach side meal/drink service. We took advantage of the in-room dining a couple of times and it was very fast with great quality food.

And this review cannot be complete without mentioning the food from Sale e Pepe. We dined there for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant overlooks the ocean and the outside terrace was so comfortable and beautiful. We enjoyed every meal we ate there and would highly recommend dining there for all three meals.

Overall, our experience at Marco Beach was fantastic. I would highly recommend Marco Island and this resort for its amenities and relaxing qualities. It truly felt like we were in a different part of the world!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your compliments and comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful resort expererience. We will certainly share your remarks with our team members.

We truly look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

At first impression we were greeted by a very friendly staff. It may be a little older property, but they keep it up and they keep it clean. We stayed at 4 other hotels on the East coast prior to and following a cruise. None compared with this resort. The restaurant was fabulous and worth the wait because of a local power failure.(1 hour) They gave us a cheese tray to pass the time. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The view ( from the 11th floor) of the Gulf of Mexico was fantastic, especially at sunset. Hint. Pay up front for big savings if you don't mind taking a chance, We did.

Room Tip: Get garden, ask for upgrade to higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind response regarding our resort. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time here and sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We truly enjoyed this getaway.Once acclimated to restaurants and shopping the relax time is a breeze.
Room service was fun.Shellimg on the beach was relaxing.The personnel were very pleasant.
Concierge helpful as well as informative.
The Valet's were friendly as well as efficient.
The weather was a plus and the Gulf sound very peaceful.
Wonderful time!

Room Tip: Try to get a Gulf view!So peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. On behalf our our entire staff I would like to say thank you for your complimentary words. We do hope you come back and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

While this is a nice resort in a great location that I have rated very good, there are a few things I expected based on the ratings here that did not materialize. First, it is not readily obvious from any site that these accomodations are not right on the beach. There are a couple of buildings, a restaurant and a parking garage between the hotel rooms and the beach. There is no beach view below about the 8th floor. We paid for an upgrade when we arrived based on this discovery. Second, I would expect pristine cleanliness when you're paying $300+ per night for a room and as you can see from the photos, the shower grout had visible mildew. There are few other things that indicate a level of carelessness in a hotel property to me than mildew. It's easy to eradicate and is so visible! Lastly, I would expect the furniture to be well maintained. As you can see it's needing some attention.

The pros -- exceptional service from the moment you drive on the property, beautiful beach and pool area and great location.

Room Tip: If you want any view of the water at all, 8th floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay here at our property. We were embarassed to hear that the room was not up to the standard we hold our resort to. Please be assured we take your comments very seriously and have addressed this with our cleaning staff. On a more positive note, our staff was delighted to hear your kind words about the service you received. We hope we will see you again here at Marco Beach Ocean Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I don't think I have ever stayed at a place with a weirder layout than this resort. I can't imagine why they designed the buildings the way they did. It seems they forgot the fact that there is an ocean out there and people want to see it. Unless you are on the top floors you wont see a thing and even then you have to look over buildings to see the ocean front. The condo I was in was on the 5th floor and it had no view of anything. The condo is cramped and so poorly lit I felt like I was living in the dark. No sun comes into the 5th floor condos and there are no screens on the doors so you can't even hear the ocean for fear of a lizard will come in. It has some nice features but they are all in the wrong place. The long dark walk to the beach that starts at the parking ramp and goes around the restaurant is a long haul for people with kids or those who have trouble walking. It's a shame with such nice ocean front that the place was so poorly designed. My advice is keep looking and find something with a view and a pool by the ocean.

Room Tip: Only stay on the top floors if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Beach Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Address: 480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Beach Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort epitomizes the AAA Five-Diamond standards. Marco Beach Ocean Resort features casual and elegant dining, a spa and fitness center, pool and hot tub, rooftop gardens, four miles of white sand beach and nearby golf, tennis and shopping. Complimentary smoothies on the beach and pool offered daily at 3pm. Wireless internet available complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marco Beach Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Beach Ocean Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Resort
Marco Island Beach Ocean Hotel
Marco Beach Ocean Resort Marco Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Beach Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.