We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Beach Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Marco Beach Ocean Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$50 Daily F&B Credit
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence
sparta,nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here 2 yrs ago and loved loved it. It is peaceful and very private. You can walk almost across the street to go eat pick up a few beach items etc.We stayed in the first floor 1 bedroom which was so nice because you basically get a little grassy backyard and can continue out onto the beach. As our family grew we did not stay there again...but will go back again for a couples get away.

Room Tip: first floor towards the south end! great back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We were so delighted to hear you came back to visit again. We are a family friendly resort so please, feel free to bring the entire family along with you, we are here to cater to any needs you may have. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    204
    60
    29
    17
See reviews for
311
437
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very nice and quite hotel. Would recommend to any body. The service was very good. Room service was fast. Rooms clean. We were upgraded to a suite. The hotel is located back a little further than the other hotels because they have a wedding facility and restaurant near the beach. It is a short walk past two bars to get to the beach. Nice warm pool.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer N, Front Office Manager at Marco Beach Ocean Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to the Marco Beach Ocean Resort and for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was our first trip to the other side of Florida. We moved to the Atlantic side several months ago, and wanted to see the Gulf. The hotel was fine. That's it - just fine, not spectacular (considering the cost). We picked it because it came up clean on bedbugregistry.com. We were first given a one bedroom suite, but it was so tiny and so overstuffed with massive furniture that we did not envision ourselves spending four days in it. The bathroom was miniscule. We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite, and that was perfect. This really should be the size of a one bedroom suite (and is, at many hotels I have stayed at). We were on the 11th floor, and as mentioned by previous reviews, the higher floor, the better. But if you are on your balcony, and your neighbor is smoking a stinking cigar, the pleasure of sitting on the balcony is definitely non-existent.

The beach was strewn with shells and was very hard, not soft sand. The shells were mostly inhabited by their marine life, and thus uncollectable. We did find a few of the prized sand dollars and empty conchs, but after two days on the table on our balcony, they started to smell terribly and we had to throw them out. Not like the shells on the Atlantic, which are buffeted and cleaned by the rough waters. The Gulf is mostly limp. The pool was nice, but the heater was broken on our first day and the water was icy, which somehow escaped the maintenance crew. I mean, really? The beach lounge area was also acceptable, but as at the pool, it is filled - like every place these days - with people yakking on the phone, smoking cigars, and being just insufferable. And no, I was not impressed with the attendants.

Altogether not a repeater. Go to Marco Island to attend a convention, if you must, but for a vacation destination, stay on the East coast.

The highlight of our stay were the dinners (and breakfasts) at Sale e Pepe. More on that at my restaurant review.

Room Tip: Get a room on the South side, and on a high floor. Try to get upgraded to a 2 BR suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked with my husbands points from United. We had a wonderful suite with a kitchen, balcony and front gulf view. The service was amazing. Umbrellas, lounge chair, beach towels and lemon flavored water are all provided at no cost.

The next day we moved to the Marriott for a room using my points. Definitely would have preferred to stay at Marco Beach Ocean Resort for another night instead!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney, London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really enjoyed the Marco Beach Ocean Resort. We stayed for 5 nights in September 2012, following 9 days of frenetic activity in Orlando. We booked and paid several months in advance, which meant we got a discount off the list price. We chose a a "full Gulf view"suite.

The suite had a small kitchen area - we didn't have a kettle at first, but one arrived 30 minutes later after we phoned to ask - it was brand new in its box, so I think someone had been sent out to buy one.

The room had a comfortable balcony, and we would often order room service and eat outside. We spent most of the time on the beach - with flying fish and dolphins coming close to the shore. The pool area was nice and we are able to take advantage of of happy hour in the cocktail bar.

There are a couple of restaurants and shops within walking distance. We also drove to a newer development called The Esplanande (I think) and found a nice restaurant for brunch.

It's a small hotel by US standards, but that suited us and service was excellent. And as a Brit, I could definitely get used to the idea of valet parking :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a full Gulf View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We've been coming back to Marco Beach Ocean Resort for the last few years. The service standard is high, the staff is friendly, as the food top notch. It's location cannot be beat and as the island is so small it is easy to get around by bike. Great place!

Room Tip: Read my other reviews for the simplest of advice regarding booking a room....same applies here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The reason we have returned four times is because the resort associates are friendly, warm, caring, and will do whatever is required to insure our needs are taken care of. The resort is clean from top to bottom no matter where you are. The food and beverage is of the highest quality and service is the BEST!! This resort has a Triple A Travel rating of four diamonds and should be given a five-diamond rating, it's that good!! We have made reservations for a return this December. It is always nice to return to Marco Beach Resort our home away from home.

Thanks to everyone at the resort for another GREAT week in Marco Island !! Brian & Doreen

Room Tip: Any room you pick will be rewarding
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marco Island
3.3 mi away
Olde Marco Island Inn and Suites
Olde Marco Island Inn and Suites
#9 of 13 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach Club of Marco
Beach Club of Marco
#11 of 13 in Marco Island
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
15.2 mi away
Naples Bay Resort
Naples Bay Resort
#9 of 58 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
#8 of 13 in Marco Island
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Marco Island Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Beach Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Beach Ocean Resort

Address: 480 S. Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Beach Ocean Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort epitomizes the AAA Five-Diamond standards. Marco Beach Ocean Resort features casual and elegant dining, a spa and fitness center, pool and hot tub, rooftop gardens, four miles of white sand beach and nearby golf, tennis and shopping. Complimentary smoothies on the beach and pool offered daily at 3pm. Wireless internet available complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Marco Beach Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Beach Ocean Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Beach Ocean Resort
Marco Beach Resort
Marco Island Beach Ocean Hotel
Marco Beach Ocean Resort Marco Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Beach Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.