We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Island Lakeside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marco Island Lakeside Inn to your Saves list
Marco Island Lakeside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 First Avenue, Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had never considered the area for vacation and found a gem. Very pleased with cleanliness and comfort. This accommodation didnt have the commercial feel but a homey feel. Very pleasant no complaints. The town is quiet, I mean quiet. Very refreshing and 100% relaxing.
Will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
811MarciaM, General Manager at Marco Island Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear LuckyTV,

I always love it when a guest says they will be back and I am truly glad that you found our inn to be homey, comfortable, and above, all- clean!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again now that you found us!

Warm wishes,
Marcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    88
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
74
196
22
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We set this trip up on spur of the moment and located this hotel. Let's just say for the price we were a little weary but after seeing the room and the area we were located was excellent. We will be visiting again and booking a room in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 200's... Closest to the pool and tiki hut
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
811MarciaM, General Manager at Marco Island Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thanks you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We would love to have you come back and stay with us again and it's always a delight when someone loves the room and the location!
Kind regards,
Marcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with this hidden gem. If you like clean and quiet and all the amenities of home, this is the place for you. This was our first trip to Marco Island and we booked thru TAN. Although not on the beach, everything is just a short drive away. We did many excursions while on our trip and it was always so nice to come "home' to a clean, peaceful, and comfortable room. The staff was always very helpful and friendly as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
811MarciaM, General Manager at Marco Island Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Kathy,
Thanks so much for reviewing your week-long stay with us. It is our goal that you find the rooms clean and that they feel like home, so I guess we succeeded with your vacation experience! I'm glad you took so many excursions and got to know the island a lot better. Marco Island is a beautiful place and everything is so close on a little 4 x 5 mile island. We look forward to seeing you again!
Warm wishes,
Marcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Marco Island. We were treated kindly from the start. Our accomadations were pleasent and would stay at the Lakeside Inn in the future.
Located close to everything that you need in this beautiful little town.

Green Features: Asside from the "heavy on the air freshener" which makes you think of what really is the smell is that they may be covering up. It was a very cozy place and we would stay here again in the future.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
811MarciaM, General Manager at Marco Island Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Scott,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I read every single review and value the feedback highly. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again! I am also pleased that we treated you with kindness.

Thanks again!
Marcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My children and I found this quiet inn home-y and comfortable. We made dinner in the well-stocked kitchenette and just vegged in the living room and bedroom. The bathroom featured "yummy" shampoos and lotions! The beautiful pastoral views of the lake -- with a hammock calling -- prompted photos of wading birds hunting for their dinner while allowing one's mind to wander. The pool seemed to be well-utilized by guests, and many amenities from grocery stores to restaurants to things to do were nearby.
The front desk check-in was painless and fresh-baked cookies helped welcome us.
The in-room guest book allowed us to see how others enjoyed the room -- and they all did!

Green Features: Recycling bins in the room and multiple nights uses of towels and sheets helped save the environment.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
811MarciaM, General Manager at Marco Island Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Jill,

Thanks for taking your time and for your lovely review of our hotel. I'm glad you were were able to just relax an enjoy the lovely little lake and the birds who have made their home here. Thanks for posting some pictures, too! We aim to make you feel pampered so I am glad we succeeded! Come and stay with us again real soon!
Warm wishes,
Marcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have stayed in Marco Island Lakeside Inn for a week on August. Overall we’re happy with our stay; here is the details:
- CHECK-IN: Welcoming was good and check-in was quick and easy.
- ROOMS: We stayed in a one bedroom suite with lake view. It has a bed-room with balcony, a bathroom, a living room with a kitchen includes all equipment you need even a dishwasher. Rooms and kitchen equipment were pretty clean and in good condition. Decoration was nice. Our balcony had a good lake-view. Lake includes various of birds and even two alligators (we had chance to saw one of them, it was a small pretty one :) ). You can enjoy your breakfasts and dinners (especially in full moon) here. Rooms have air condition which is a must for the area. You should close AC while sitting at the balcony if you want to listen nature instead of your AC.
- VALUE: We stayed on August which is low-season for Marco Island. The price we got was pretty good when we compare with the other hotels/motels around.
- POOL AND BEACH EQUIPMENT: There is a small pool, with grills and gazebo next to it. Lakeside inn provides towels for pool and beach chairs, umbrella and coolers for your beach trips. We barrowed just an umbrella and it was surprisingly in good condition when we consider our past experience with complimentary beach equipment.
- SERVICE: Lakeside Inn is managed professionally; we like the service in general. They also have a good cooperation with many web based travel organization that I personally like.
- PARKING: There were more than enough parking spots (at least in low-season), and it is free.
- LOCATION: Location of Lakeside Inn is the only problem if you want to stay just steps away from the beach. Marco Island is small enough but I think it is not pleasant to walk to the beach from Lake Side Inn. We drove to beaches every day and paid a parking fee of $8 per day which is still cheaper than hotel parking with mandatory valet services. Once you pay daily parking fee you can use your receipt to access all county beaches. Parking was not a problem in beaches for us, but I guess it can be a problem in high season. Access to the South Beach and Tiger Tail is a short drive, while Napel Beaches (like Napel , Loudermilk, Clam Pass Park, Barefoot beaches) is taking between 25-50 min. We loved Napel beaches, you can check my reviews about them.
- PROBLEMS WE EXPERIENCED: I wrote them in feedback form they have provided as well
1) Rooms were clean but our bedroom had a small ant/fly problem. Hotel management should check bedroom of suite 105. I don't consider this as part of a huge cleaning problem because the hotel is located just next to the beautiful lake; but still our bathroom and living room didn't have such a problem so I think it should be fixable.
2) Pool was closed 5 days of our 7 day stay due to renovation. During web reservation there was no notice about it. It was not a problem for us as we don't use pools in general if the area has beautiful beaches. But, as part of good customer service I would expect an early notice or price advantage for this service cut-off.
3) Pool construction was noisy for two days. Hotel has a policy for customers which asks avoiding making noise before 8:30 am and after 11 pm. Our room were just next to the pool and construction started at 7:30 am one day and 6:30 in the other day; and I woke up with that noise. I was expecting they should care a customer staying/sleeping just next to the pool like many other pool side rooms.
4) Hotel web site/service can be improved. For example, a confirmation email after web reservation is a must instead of displaying a confirmation page. Generally mobile devices is the easiest access point for reservation confirmations. Also there can be better descriptions about some other services like parking or borrowing beach chairs, umbrellas etc. We have learned them from Trip Advisor. Thanks to Trip Advisor and travelers! :)

Room Tip: Room 105 has: - good lake views, - noisy when children plays in the pool, or there is a constructi...
See more room tips
Green Features: Positive: - They have dishwasher, - They support and promoting energy saving policies. - They also keep the nature around the lake wild.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoIslandLakeside, General Manager at Marco Island Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an extensive review of our rooms and property! May I first apologize for the totally unplanned resurfacing of the inside of our swimming pool. Had we known a sudden crack/problem would occur we would have notified all of our guests. Since it occurred and once we knew the specific dates the pool would be closed, we did call every guest who had not yet arrived, and advised them of the pool closing. I also apologize for the early hours the pool company awakened you those 2 days in their effort to get the pool back in service as soon as possible. All work is now complete and the pool will be chemically treated today and will be swimmable tomorrow (Tuesday 8/27).

I'm glad you enjoyed the one-bedroom suite- the kitchen, decor, cleanliness and the lovely view from the balcony.

I am sorry for the small ant/fly problem you experienced in your bedroom- if you had let us know, we could have taken care of it in just a few minutes.

I will also suggest to our website designers that they add more extensive information to our confirmations, as our website is currently being redesigned. When you contact us directly to book, you receive a confirmation with a full description of the suite, policies, and and directions as well.

Kind regards,
Marcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We took a mini vacay with the inlaws. Instead of the Keys, we opted Marco Island. I left this trip to my hubby, I was burned out from organizing my family reunion in CA. I was so surprised by the hotel, the nightly price made me nervous. I work for an airline so I travel a lot. This hands down is the cleaniest hotel I've ever stayed in. It is an older hotel, but there was not "old hotel" smell anywhere. I would stay here again and again. The staff is so friendly. My husband has a disabilty that requires his legs to be elevated at night. We order extra pillows in advance to accomadate when we travel. We did so on this trip too. They forgot to place the pillows in the room. By the time we returned from dinner the office staff went home for the evening. We did a courtesy phone call to have the pillows for the following day. One of the staff member returned after hours that night to bring pillows. I was shocked when the knock at the door was the sweetest little lady, with black curly hair. She remembered seeing the order and wanted him to be comfortable. I was once again plesantly surprised. The kitchenette was very convient. The screened poarch allowed me to enjoy tea and a novel in the am. I felt so rested.
We even had the opportunity to see a gator cruising across the lake.
I will be back to enjoy another relaxing mini vacay soon.

Room Tip: The rooms with the patios facing the lake give a serene atmosphere.
See more room tips
Green Features: They ask that you reuse towels, and only change lienens every 3 days. I see no problem with this request. I reuse my towels and linens at home. It's only a request, if you want fresh items daily they will provide it.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoIslandLakeside, General Manager at Marco Island Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you for all your lovely comments and for noticing how clean the rooms are! Our housekeepers work really hard to keep them that way! I was the woman who brought the pillows for your husband that night so I appreciate your mentioning it and I am glad they made his stay more comfortable. I am glad you came away from your stay feeling frested and relaxed and we would love to see you "again and again"!

Kind Regards,
Marcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Island Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Island Lakeside Inn

Address: 155 First Avenue, Marco Island, FL 34145
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marco Island Lakeside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marco Island Lakeside Inn sits one mile from Marco Island beaches and boasts a sparkling-heated pool and affordable rates year round. Come and enjoy the only Lakeside getaway on Marco Island. A Cozy Island Getaway. Our 19-suite Marco Island Inn offers two two-bedroom suites, 10 one-bedroom suites and seven studio suites. Our spacious and comfortable suites have been recently remodeled and decorated with a cottage chic decor reminiscent of Old Florida and Key West. Each hideaway is thoughtfully appointed with a fresh, clean white and beige pallet and select floral accents. Wicker cottage-style furniture tastefully completes the setting for an island atmosphere. Imagine French doors, private decks, lake views, tropical breezes and blue skies....you are at Marco Island Lakeside Inn. Lakeview Suites offer a screened-in balcony overlooking the Marco Lake, which is designated a natural habitat for local birds, ducks and turtles to name a few. It is the perfect place to sit and enjoy a cocktail before dinner while taking in the serene atmosphere. Our beautifully landscaped inn is located off the beaten track but close to everything. It is a serene sanctuary and a great retreat from the atmosphere of the large resorts and high rises. You will feel right at home the moment you enter. Our friendly staff is quite informative about the local area and offers a personalized experience of Marco Island. If you are looking to escape your fast paced life and slow down for a while, you will want to stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marco Island Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Island Lakeside Hotel Marco Island
Lakeside Inn Marco Island
Marco Island Lakeside Inn Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Island Lakeside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.