We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's The Way..... Uh,Uh...... I like it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa to your Saves list
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carrollton, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“That's The Way..... Uh,Uh...... I like it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

First things first: If you like to be pampered & waited on hand & foot..... it cost money. This place costs money to stay at and lives up to the price. I travel once or twice a year usually and when I do, I'm willing to spend a little extra to experience the royal treatment. If you're tight with your money or in your own terms maybe it's thrifty or frugal, keep looking for that "deal" somewhere else. But if you want to splurge for a romantic weekend getaway like I did, look no more--- this is the place for you! Really, treat yourself & that special person in your life to a wonderful experience here. When you make your reservation, tell the Concierge to have Romance Package waiting in your room when you arrive- nice touch. Don't eat on the property except room service for breakfast is a must then head out for Fresh oysters & peel & eat gulf shrimp at The Crazy Flamingo. Ask for James Hubbard (GM) and tell him the "going to a concert guy" sent you. He's a helluva guy!
Definitely use the daily valet deal for your rental car. A quick call before you leave your room and it's there waiting for you so you can get in & out without any hastles. For dinner, treat yourself to Campiellos in Naples. It's the finest Italian cuisine I've ever tasted (try the short ribs w/pasta or the shrimp/crab Linguine) and James is a career server with a smooth charm & attention to detail. Eat on the Veranda out front and soak up the lavish local lifestyle.
I'm sure no one could be as lucky as we were but it was our 17th wedding anniversary on the 28th & wouldn't ya know it, KC & The Sunshine Band put on a concert on the beach at the Hotel for The Qwest Co executives that were staying there. What a trip, what an anniversary---- so now you know why:
That's The Way Uh, Uh...... I Like It

I hope your trip lives up to my review...... try not to worry too much about the price & I think it will !!!
Good Luck!

  • Liked — The service baby! And of course the KC concert
  • Disliked — Valets dented my rear bumper but it was cool... they took care of it. Thanks Ash.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    677
    169
    49
    33
See reviews for
820
675
30
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

The only negative that keeps me from rating this hotel as excellent is how expensive everything is. However, I'm happy to have experienced the pampering from the incredible staff at this Marriott The employees here must be treated well because all seem to be very happy to be working. Our maid was always cheerful. We actually heard her singing while she worked. Our room was cleaned in the morning and in the evening they straighten up, re-empty the trash, and left more fresh towels, as well as turned down the beds leaving mints on the bedside table. The first two days we saved the cocktails for dinner but by the third day it was hard to resist ordering a frozen mixed drink from the nice men in the golf carts who drive up to your lounge chair which is under the umbrella on the hot sunny beach. By the last day we were ready to refinance the house if need be to try all the terrific drinks on the menu, not to mention the coconut shrimp salad and the buffalo wings,.....yum. We stayed in the North tower which has not been renovated. Our room decor while not offensive is a bit dated and in need of a make-over which I believe is scheduled. The bath however is very nice and not showing age at all. The building and pools are beautiful, clean and well maintained. Our daughter fell asleep with our car rental key in her pocket. She recalled getting up in the middle of the night to put on her pajamas, and noticed the key had fallen out and was in the bed. The next morning she forgot about it until 8:00 at night when we discovered the maid had changed the linens and taken the key with the sheets. We frantically called housekeeping only to find they send the linens to a service in Miami. The head of housekeeping who was very apologetic said for us to go ahead and call Alamo and have them fax the bill to the Marriott. Nice. The bill by the way was a whopping $350 which the Marriott paid for leaving us to pay another $100 service fee when we dropped off the car. Btw, the nice man at Alamo who we left the car with at the airport said next time just get into the car and find the hidden key they keep in the trunk. Yea, nice if they had told us that instead of telling us to pay the locksmith.
If you want to save some cash, check out the coffee shop in the morning and the reasonably priced pizza for dinner. We normally rent condo's for our vacations. After experiencing the luxury of a resort, I've been spoiled. I don't think I can go back to washing my own beach towels.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights for a girls only family vacation. Very nice hotel but really, really expensive... as most marriotts that are in great locations are. Was it worth the money?? yes. Would I stay again?? Definitly.

The food isn't all that great but it's hotel food. The views, grounds and the rooms (the ones that are renovated!) are great.

Kids programs seemed extensive, I will most definitly go back. Hopefully Quinns will have shirts in stock. :o)

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

We stayed here for five nights during the 3rd week of April. We have 4 kids ages 8,7,4,2. The property is absolutely beautiful--my 7 yr old honestly thought we were outside the US! Landscaping is stunning, pools are great and the waterslide etc were endless fun for kids. The beach is beautiful and you can walk to a shopping center 5 min away for shopping and lots of restaurants. We had a rental car but really didn't need it. My only two negatives were that the rooms are expensive and fairly small and that the food and other activities/amenities are outrageously expensive. $9 for a pbj sandwich at Quinn's is out-of-hand. For a place that caters to families, the prices are not at all family-friendly. However, having said that, we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Ate all but one meal off the property: Susie's and NeNe's for breakfast/lunch and Five Brothers Pizza were especially good. The staff at the hotel were all very kind to us and we had a really fun family vacation.

  • Liked — Great pools and beautiful beach
  • Disliked — Very high prices
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

We stayed during Spring break with our 3 children. We were in the South Tower, which was recently renovated. We had adjoining rooms,which were similiar to the Ritz Carlton. We had requested a refrigerator and a roll-a-way bed. The rooms were very clean and spacious. My only complaint is that there is not a door or curtain covering the entrance to the sink/changing room area by the bathroom.
We ate at The Rookery and Kurrents. Both were terrific in terms of service and food. They were very accommodating with the children's requests. Quinn's on the Beach was mediocre at best and expensive. The Tiki Bar is awful and expensive.
The Tiki pool was very noisy between having everyone getting food at the Tiki Bar, loud piped in music and tons of people. The adult pool was beautiful , but each day we could not get a chair. We spoke to the staff, but informed we'd have to wait one hour before we could remove people belongings from the chairs.The Marriot has this policy with staff manning the lounge chairs, but groups of chairs just sat ther for long periods of time. We were extremely frustrated , along with other guests, that we couldn't find a chair, when we were paying top dollar to stay there.
The beach is spectacular ,but ridiculous that you have to pay $18 for 1/2 a day for an umbrella. That should be a given. They charge you for the Tiki huts and the floaters ( $50 a day).
My daughter had her hair braided which they have a few times a week at the Tiki pool. She had 1/2 her head braided and it cost $95 with a tip. They don't advertise that you have to pay for this , plus need an appointment.
We did the Sailing and Shelling catamaran tour, which was great. We had a terrific guide and even though we could not do the shelling aspect through the Gulf of this trip, we all still had a great time.
We took an air boat ride and a manatee boat ride, recconmended by the hotel. They were good ,but expensive ( $200 for a family of 5 for roughly an hour long trip).
Housekeeping, room service, waiter services ect. were all terrific.
Overall, we had a great time and it is a paradise ( sunrise/sunset) . It's a great place for families and kids of all ages.

  • Liked — beach,food,location
  • Disliked — services too expensive
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

I stayed here with my family for 5 nights in mid-March. Had a great time here one year ago so chose it again because it worked well the first time. We have four children (16, 15, 11, 10) so this location had what our family was interested in. Primarily a large beach which we spent all our time on. Rented two chickee huts for 4 days and found it well worth it. Kids sailed, all of us kayacked, walked/ran and occasionally took a dip in the pools. Great 75 degree weather but windy (2 days they wouldn't let us take the sailboats out). We stayed in the north tower (no cranes out in front of us) with a gulf view. Worked out great. We reserved a one bedroom Tower Suite (one large bedroom with balcony and bathroom) connecting to one even larger room with a wrap-around balcony, bathroom, King-size Murphy bed, twin sleeper sofa, galley kitchen, large entryway. We also had a rollaway in there to accommodate all 4 kids. Call their "Pre-Vacation Planner" directly at the hotel to book your chikee huts ahead of arrival if you are there during a busy time. Renovations seemed to be focused on the retail space on the lobby level. Much better/bigger coffee/snack area. It all looks nice but we didn't notice anything new/improved about the rooms. Request a high floor. Views at sunset are terrific. In summary, a very good destination for families who enjoy the beach!

  • Liked — Chickee Huts at the Beach
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

Let me start by saying that I love Marriott. I am a silver rewards club member and I don't book any where until I have read reviews on TripAdvisor. The price was very high ($600/night for standard room on spring break), but the reviews were very good so we decided to stay. There were some good things and some disappointments. Unfortunately, for that price, we would not stay again.

Pros:
Upgrade to the most amazing room we have ever had
Corner room with wraparound balcony
Huge bathroom with double sinks and separate tub/toilet area
Large wet bar
Beautiful grounds
Gorgeous beach
Friendly staff
Very safe crosswalk with lights to parking lot
Sailing/shelling excursion is wonderful, request Tom the Captain
Marco Island is the most beautiful part of Florida
Excellent restaurants on the island, try Marco Polo Restaurant, Cafe de Marco, and Arturos


Cons:
Room was dirty when we checked in
Wet bar counters sticky and had crumbs on them
Drawers had crumbs and a long, dark hair in one
Sand on floor
Tiki bar tables never cleaned and public bathroom floors dirty
No staff around the pool area to check on things or take orders
No lifeguards on beaches or pool, except 1 at waterslide
Waterslide is very small and limited to kids 3 - 4 1/2 feet tall
Very high drink and food prices, which would be ok if room was not so much

It appears that they may be short staffed, which would explain cleaning and service issues. For example, we sat at the pool for two hours and did not see one single hotel employee. The wait for a drink or food order at the tiki bar was long because of few staff. At one point, the lone cook asked a guest to restock the condiment bar. Very unusual for a hotel this size.

  • Liked — Room, location, excusion, facility
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness, short-staffed
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Address: 400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa! Come kick off your shoes and explore paradise found at this one-of-a-kind Florida resort. As one of Marriott's top resorts, we offer an idyllic getaway with the spirit of Balinese beauty, hospitality and well-being. Nestled on three miles of pristine Southwest Florida beaches, the Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa is the perfect destination for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, a memorable meeting or an unforgettable wedding. With several renowned restaurants, championship golf, a world-class spa and a wide range of activities and amenities, Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa now offers even more - including upscale shops for men and women, a free-form fantasy pool with views of the Florida Gulf, new dining options and completely redesigned and redecorated guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club And Spa
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club Hotel Marco Island
Marriott Marco Island
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.