We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like being on a Carribean Island..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa to your Saves list
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Allentown NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“like being on a Carribean Island..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

stayed 1 night while in the Naples area.. Beautiful resort, pool areas, lovely large white sand beach.
Several restaurants on site, nice selection of shops within the hotel.
Room prices were discounted, but everything else is priced so outrageously, Marriott
should probably be giving the rooms away!
Could be a really nice adult "honeymoon" type hotel, if not for the scores of children
everywhere, particularly in the pool near Quinn's, which they term the "adult pool".
The other pool, with water features and a slide, couldn't seem to hold the kid's attention, for whatever reason.
Families with children (and big credit lines) will love this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    677
    169
    49
    33
See reviews for
820
675
30
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

My wife and I, along with our two boys (5 and 2) stayed here for 5 nights at the end of our 2 week holiday on the Gulf Coast. I booked a Tropic View room, using Marriott points, with 2 doubles and a rollaway. On check-in, I asked about the possibility of an ocean-view room - of which I think there are about 100 or so (counting the balconies) - but didn't hold out much hope. I was right, and we had our alloctaed room next to the elevator! The room is everything one comes to expect of a Marriott; clean, comfortable and actually quite spacious. The layout wasn't perfect, with some wasted space in the bathroom/closet area but all rather pleasant. Nice balcony with a view over one of the pools and a side-on view of the ocean.

Thanks to the lovely Julia on the front desk, we were upgraded on day 2 and moved at lunchtime to our ocean-view room - and it truly was. Being on the 7th floor, it felt as though you were just opening your door right onto the beach. This room had a better layout and was just great. One minor gripe: I think they could afford to put proper coffee machines in the rooms, rather than the ones that hold a little plastic filter and brew into your plastic cup; less waste too. The fridge is a nice touch though for storing your daily comestibles.

So, great rooms, but what about some of the gripes levelled at the resort with regard to prices etc? All I can say is come over to Europe and then complain!!! OK, so there are no bargains to be had (30 bucks for 2 paninis, couple of coffees and a cake is quite steep!) but you are at a high-end resort on the beach in an exclusive community a stone's throw from Naples. If you expect it to be cheap, you are either an eternal optimist or perhaps a little naive? The 2 restaurants we tried - Quinns on the Beach and 400 Pazzis - were both pretty reasonable and certainly on a par with some of the local restaurants we tried outside of the resort.

For lunch etc there are plenty of options nearby - Subway, McD's, Publix (great subs for $2.50) etc which you can happily eat by the pool. If you're too tired to head out after a day in the pool(s) or on the beach, you can always grab a pizza from Little Caesars for $5.99 (14" pepperoni) - again, a 5 minute drive. For a break from the chains, try Amigo's for proper, home-cooked Mexican food; it's in a strip mall about 10 minutes away - ask the concierge for a 10% discount voucher.

Top tip for the beach: loungers, beach chairs and towels are complimentary, but you pay $18 (+tax) a day for the umbrella. I wasn't sure if you could use your own (just try that on a hotel's beach in France or Italy!!) so paid out for one day. But plenty of people had their own, so I would recommend heading across the bridge to WalMart (15 mins) and using that. Oh, and self-park..it's $8 a day less than valet and is literally right across the street.

In summary, I tend to shy away from big resort-type places (there are some shockers in Europe) but I found the Marco Island Marriott to be a truly relaxing stay. That said, we were off-season and stayed during the week - it was certainly getting busier on the Saturday we left - so perhaps we were lucky. But I think not. All the staff were charming and helpful, the public areas immaculately clean and the rooms comfortable. I would recommend the resort to anyone - and as for the prices, either absorb it as part of your holiday, dine locally, or head out to a HoJo!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Traveled with my husband and two kids, 11 and 14. Everyone loved the hotel, especially the pool. Could have stayed at the pool 24/7. Rented wave runners on the beach, absolutely fun. The Gulf water was hot as well as the pool. High humidity but you have the water around you. Air boat tour of the Everglades, 15 minutes from the hotel, interesting. Buy the $8 cups from hotel restaurant, Pazzi's, free refills as long as you are there. The beach is really shelly, may need flip flops to get to the water. White sand. The sunsets are beautiful. Well worth the 17 hour drive, will fly next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidbeckhamxox
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Ulgh! We went here for a family wedding and we booked really early and I have a confirmation that says we're guaranteed a king room. we were downgraded to 2 fulls which aren't nearly as big or comfortable. After we checked into this room that we settled for cause the kings weren't cleaned yet, I took a shower and noticed old soap and hotel toiletries from the guests before and when i investigated, i saw a red pubic hair on the soap it was so gross and dirty, mind you we paid GOOD money for this hotel
it was terribly crowded and expensive and NOT worth it. The lines at check in were terrible the only good thing about it was Jose and the breakfast buffet downstairs at tropiks.. AMAZING!! They also promised us a beach view instead of the kings and it was literally u had to go lean on the balcony and turn ur head it was terrible
plus parking was really far and expensive
ulgh

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Our family stayed here for 9 days from July 10-18. We were all ready for a relaxing beach vacation after finishing the very busy school year. This resort is beautiful!! Our rooms were roomy and well kept. We had a beautiful view of the pool area and beach. We had fun in the Tiki pool but ultimately enjoyed the quieter Quinn' s pool. Lounge chairs go fast as in any resort. I do agree with some of the previous posters drinks are expensive. Some of the food is expensive too, but I had a grouper sandwich in Quinns that was cheaper and far better than some of the other restaurants off property. We stocked up on breakfast and lunch foods at the local supermarket and only ate out for supper. The staff were very friendly and helpful, often going out of their way to help you. Parking is across the street and valet is also offered. There is a variety of water sports offered. Our family did the shelling tour, jet skis and my son took the scuba lessons. The scuba instructor is fantastic with the kids and gave a great clear concise lesson. Beach chairs and chikee huts are expensive, and some of the little things(internet etc) can creep up on your cost if you are not careful. The refillable cup is a great deal and cold water is available all day free at the tiki hut. I really can't say enough about this property. My entire family had a great vacation and loved the resort, we plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, RI
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Our family of four stayed here in mid-July. I am a lifetime platinum Marriott member so I have tons of Marriott experience. Much of what you’ve read from previous reviews are spot-on. This is a U-shaped hotel directly on a very expansive pure white sand beach. I would guess virtually every room has some type of ocean view, even if you are situated near the road portion of the hotel. Two pools are nice sized; one caters more to kids with its small water slide. The hotel is on the main drag in Marco, Collier Blvd.
Our rooms were standard- about the same size as you would find in a typical full service Marriott, so I would rate this as average size, nothing elaborate. The resort itself is quite expensive if you plan on eating and drinking here. We did not eat one meal here (besides one comp breakfast). There are plenty of choices on the island, even within walking distance. One you can walk to is Davinci’s, which is superb Italian, homemade pasta, great service, etc. Pasta is $15-$19. If you choose the hotel breakfast buffet , watch out. It’s a staggering $29 per person. For a family of four you’re looking at close to a $150 bill with tip. No thanks. Drinks are a rip off. You’ll spend $8 for a well drink, plus tax, in a plastic 10 ounce cup with a lousy pour. A call liquor will cost you $10.95 plus tax. Draft beer at $5.75. All the rooms have small fridges so there is room for a 12 pack of beer/soda and a half dozen water bottles, I recommend this route. Another item to beware of is the “free” 8x12 family photo they offer. Here you’ll spend a half hour with a professional photographer getting you into goofy poses on the beach. Then at a separate session they try to offer you different sets of photos up to an astounding $1,840 for the super-duper backage. That is not a misprint, nearly two thousand bucks! If you opt for the “free” 8x12, they nail you for $20 to “ship” it. And it does not include a digitized format copy, just the physical picture. A better bet would be to simply take your $100-$200 point & click camera, have a friendly guest shoot it and have CVS/Walgreens develop it for under $5.
If you’re a golfer, they own a real gem of a course about 15 minutes away. They are running specials now where you can get 3 rounds for $129 (includes cart), a very sweet deal. They have a 7-day unlimited version for $199, even better. Bring powerful bug spray, they are relentless. You will have to spray your entire exposed body, even fingers. There are also several resident alligators, one I spotted was at least 10 feet.
Other gotchas- internet is $14.95 plus $2.18 in tax. Car parking is $12.72, which is right across from the property. In room movies, a whopping $16.
Overall, this is a pleasant resort hotel run by courteous staff. It is in excellent shape and there are plenty of dining alternatives right on this small island, or 15-20 minutes away in Naples, which has dozens of options. If you have teenagers, there's not much for them to do besides beach, pool and jet ski. Everglades City is about 40 minutes away, a great place for air-boat rides.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

stayed there for a wedding this past week. Great resort, clean but the service stinks. People are rude and rush you. We got a knock on our door 830 am by the maid to make sure we were checking out at 11. GMAB!!!! Food and drinks at the restaurant way too expensive for families. I would go to Walmart and stock up on snacks! Much better value. Would not stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Address: 400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa! Come kick off your shoes and explore paradise found at this one-of-a-kind Florida resort. As one of Marriott's top resorts, we offer an idyllic getaway with the spirit of Balinese beauty, hospitality and well-being. Nestled on three miles of pristine Southwest Florida beaches, the Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa is the perfect destination for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, a memorable meeting or an unforgettable wedding. With several renowned restaurants, championship golf, a world-class spa and a wide range of activities and amenities, Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa now offers even more - including upscale shops for men and women, a free-form fantasy pool with views of the Florida Gulf, new dining options and completely redesigned and redecorated guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club And Spa
Marriott Marco Island
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.