We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Resort and Great Wedding Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa to your Saves list
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun Resort and Great Wedding Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time at this Marriott Resort even though the weather was miserable. It had all the amenities that we could ask for and the hotel staff was very helpful. With great views of the beach from almost any room in the hotel, it makes for a great morning of evening sunset. The beach was convenient and very clean. If you are there for July 4th the view of the fireworks is fantastic. Definitely the place to stay in Marco Island.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,295
    623
    153
    40
    32
See reviews for
754
607
28
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pennsyvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our getaway to Marco Island was wonderful. The weather was what I expected. This was our second trip to Marco Island, however, we have stayed at numerous Marriotts. Including JW. This time around at the Marco Island Marriott Resort, we were very disappointed. However, we will go back.

This Resort is a good price for what you get. By no means is this a JW or like a JW… Our experience the first time at the Marco Island Marriott was fantastic, which is why we decided to stay here again.

Let me start out by explaining what we did. Hubby travels. He gets points. We use points… We had enough points for 3 nights in the room we wanted which is the same type room we stayed in before… A partial pool/gulf view. We had 3 free nights, and paid for 2 nights… mind you, we paid for two nights at the partial pool/gulf view price.

I called several time prior to our arrival making sure we had the reservations and that nothing went wrong, double checked that we had the room type we booked.

Arrived early on Wednesday before Thanksgiving knowing that our room would not be ready at this time. We checked in. However, the room was not ready, but, says the CSR, Oriville, I would like to upgrade you and put you in this lovely , lovely room for you since you and your husband are Elite members… :) great! never ever received any type of upgrade with out paying before. So I said that would be great. I would like to be sure though that we do at least get what we asked for. A view of the pool and gulf view. Knowing darn well that sometimes when they say upgrade you really are not getting an upgrade. He said, oh, yes this room is beautiful. I will call you on your cell phone when it is ready… Someone called us, room in ready. BTW at 4:00 check in time… We were given 4 elite cards. Arrived at our room, which is in the furthest bldg. Cannot remember the names of the bldgs. If you are on the beach looking at the two lg bldgs, it is the bldg on the left. We stayed in the other bldg the last time. So we walked in, DBL beds they remodeled since the last time, it was nice as what a usual room should look like at this hotel. I walk over to the balcony to find that we were not upgraded. !!!! Really? I could not believe this.
Our view was a Tropical view of the island and overlooking the condo next door and part of the spa. Anyone that stayed here knows that is not a partial pool/ gulf view. I called the desk right away. oh mrs. DJB, but this is an upgrade. I said lets not argue we both know this is not an upgrade and I want the room that I booked. A view of the pool with a gulf view… Well we are booked up. I said I know you have rooms available. Give me someone else's room that did not check in yet, because that is what you did with my room, you gave it away. She told me I have to talk to the person that checked you in. He will call you back.. I told her if I do not hear from him within 10 minutes I will go over there heads with this… He called within 5 minutes and told me I will see what I could do let me call you back. He called back and told me I have a room for you. Wonderful, He met us half way near the elevators this time we are in the other bldg. We walked in our room and low and behold!!! the room I booked. However, it was closer to the gulf. I did pretty good. I then went down and gave him a tip… He did not have to do this. Although this is the room I ordered and he should have put us in it in the first place. This room was perfect as far as pool/gulf view, however, I think this room was a white elephant that no one wanted. The bathroom ceiling had water damage to the point that it was soft and wet. Bathroom above us was leaking. The smell in this room was terrible and giving us headaches. Not just me, the whole family. I did not ask to be moved, however, I did tell the CSR about the room, he offered to move us, but I declined. I said if it gets worse I will let you know. The rest of the stay was not too bad.

The overall resort is nice with two pools, but not enough chairs. We had this problem the last time too. Also, It is a big problem when groups save chairs at 7am and return to them hours later. The pool attendants were monitoring this but if people didn't complain they would not do anything. My family found two chairs near the towel stand, yuc. And we were lucky enough to get the two chairs next to us because they had been gone for over two hours. Pool attendant took everything off so we took the chairs. They came back clearly 3 hrs after we took the chairs and started yelling at us. I told them to see the attendant.

No turn down service, therefore dirty towels were not taken and new ones were not brought. Had to call down every night.

I will return to this location because this location is probably one of the best locations on Marco Island for the price.

Thank you for being patient.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Typical upscale Marriott property; very nice but not out-of-this-world fantastic. Also typical Marriott add on pricing for just about everything beyond the beds in your room. $500 a night for a gulf view room with balcony and they tack on an extra $22 to park your chariot? REALLY??? Not that it's a surprise; it's just excessive.....it's Marco Island, the nearest commercial airport is 47 miles away; do they think that you are going to get there by bus??? Other than that, the facilities are well kept and the place has the feel of some luxury without seeming snooty. Several nice touches like being able to order food to be delivered to your beach chair via golf cart. Over-all, quite nice if all the add-ons don't bug you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I love this property. A few little bumps along the way wouldn't stop me from giving this property a great review. A few things you should know; be prepared to spend, spend and spend some more. Everything has a cost at the Marriott. I spent $12 per day to park or $22 per day if you wish to valet park plus taxes and fees. Basic room service for breakfast which consisted of 2 - eggs, toast, hash browns, bacon, juice and coffee came with a cost of about $30. Dinner was the same. Everything came with service fees and taxes. Cocktails ran around $12 - 14 ea. which is pricey by most persons standards. The property offers several options for eating and drinking as well as a sushi bar. The beach has the softest sand I have experienced in a long time. Finally, I couldn't help but be a bit put out when my king bed, reservation made one month earlier, had been given away by the time I arrived. I was placed in one of the two newly remodeled towers (flat screen, ironing board, large closet, mini bar, safe and fridge) which was okay with me. Be aware of excess charges to your room for items taken out of the mini bar that you may not have taken. This happened to me and was resolved by a quick call to the front desk. However, if you don't challenge these bogus charges you and others will continue to be taken advantage of too. Nice property and beautifully manicured.

Room Tip: Rooms in tower one have large balconies with two chairs and one small table. The higher up you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was an excellent place to go for Thanksgiving! The hotel accomodations were excellent the staff was above excellent, everyone was friendly, the service over the top. The hotel was totally booked, yet we never waited for anything. We ate at Kurrents for Thankgiving dinner, the service and food was excellent. Definitely going back next year!!

Room Tip: We loved our beach view room! Honestly, we have no complaints! We checked in on Thursday Thanksgivi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went for convention. They handled multiple events seamlessly. Rooms were clean and decent sized. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly location was great. Hour and fifteen ish minutes drive from Ft Myers airport. Two pool areas. Could see this as a lovely wedding venue. Located on the beach. You can see white sand from many rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington,nc
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Beautiful white sand beaches which are very wide, several pools to choose from and balcony views from your room. We stayed in South tower but after touring the grounds would recommend the island tower. This property is very large but also very accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Address: 400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa! Come kick off your shoes and explore paradise found at this one-of-a-kind Florida resort. As one of Marriott's top resorts, we offer an idyllic getaway with the spirit of Balinese beauty, hospitality and well-being. Nestled on three miles of pristine Southwest Florida beaches, the Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa is the perfect destination for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, a memorable meeting or an unforgettable wedding. With several renowned restaurants, championship golf, a world-class spa and a wide range of activities and amenities, Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa now offers even more - including upscale shops for men and women, a free-form fantasy pool with views of the Florida Gulf, new dining options and completely redesigned and redecorated guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club And Spa
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club Hotel Marco Island
Marriott Marco Island
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.