We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Annual Trip - the Good and the Bad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa to your Saves list
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Our Annual Trip - the Good and the Bad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Ok - this is usually our relaxing anniversary get-away each year, but this year wasn't as idyllic as years past. I'm hoping that the enchantment is not lost and the only reason our trip wasn't as enjoyable as the many years past is just a matter of timing. Because it's one of our fav spots - we'll give it another chance during a different time of year.

Our stay was at the beginning of the 4th of July Holiday week. We got in on the Saturday before and stayed until July 3. Each year we come to Marco during this time and never want to leave - almost always booking an extra night stay. This year - we couldn't wait to leave.

The Good, the bad and the ugly:

Service is impeccable. Everyone had a smiling face and greeting and whatever we needed was taken care of. This is usually the case. Though the breakfast buffet in the Tropix Restaurant is a little expensive ($50 for two for breakfast buffet) as well as for room service - it's still very good food. One thing that had changed was the delightful Bloody Mary bar- last year it was unique and inviting, almost had a Tuscany kind of feel- even though it was just a small part of the buffet - but this year, they had changed it and now its just ordinary. We noticed a couple of subtle changes, but overall it still remains a top notch breakfast buffet, and free Mimosas. We didn't eat at Kurrents. We had drinks a couple of nights in the Koral bar but didn't have the sushi. The drinks were good - they did a great job making a custom martini for me, but the Pina Coladas at Quinn's can't be beat!! (Get them with a 151 floater) Barbara, from Long Island, our waiter, remembered us from last year - and even what we drank!! Food at Quinns was good - a bit better than sportsbar food. Their peel & eat shrimp is yummy! They have really good wings too. Restaurants in the area: the new Fin Bistro is excellent and just down street! Excellent wine suggestion, really good food. Café de Marco and Island Café never fail. We ate at Arturos for the first time based on Trip Advisor reviews and it was "okay" -but kinda like eating at your grandma's house- not because the food was as good as grandmas though - there were a lot of older folks there and décor was like a nursing home dining room. We were kind of uncomfortable in the atmosphere. The food was just okay, our side of penne pasta with marinara was like box pasta with Ragu. Service was slow. Our room was full oceanfront with wrap-around balcony. Beautiful view - and immaculate. As a frequent business traveler, I'm very picky about hotel room cleanliness and this Marriott is top notch. The mattress wasn't the best, just okay. The room was quiet and we didn't hear other guests until morning when kids were running up and down the halls. Even though we were on the end/corner, we could still hear the kids. Not Marriott's fault - just the parents' fault. It seems that when folks are on vacation, they think that rules and manners are on vacation as well. Now let's get to the pool - for years we have been coming here and always wondered why this type facility doesn't offer an Adults Only pool. There is a great kids pool with a water slide and water fall and even has a tiki bar that parents can get food and drinks. Here's where I couldn't understand why management didn't step in- Quinn's pool - the one that should be an adults only pool - was extremely crowded with children, adults, couples, families. There were people throwing balls and tons of rafts/floats in the pool. Why is this allowed? At the very least, ball throwing in the pool should not be allowed - a little girl was smacked in the face with a thrown ball and needless to say that didn't go over well. I was almost hit in the face as well. These were grown men throwing balls to younger children/teens. I couldn't figure that one out. Would be one thing if the pool wasn't so crowded, but that was not the case. The other thing I've never seen before in the 15+ years we've been coming here is debris in and around the pool - mostly mulch as well as by late afternoon- the water wasn't clear anymore - yuck! Never saw that here before!! The pool was just too crowded - period. The "Kids" pool (the one with the water slide) had gross scum and debris in it - I wouldn't even go in there. None of the staff paid attention to whether babies/small children had on water diapers. We saw a lot of regular diapers going in the pool - gack.

If you are looking for a romantic get-away for Godssakes don't go in June/July. It's summer camp time. We won't do it again.

I hope the hotel takes the advice of making Quinn's pool an adults only pool - or at the very least - not allow rafts/floats or ball throwing!

Room Tip: Do not go during July 4th Holiday week/weekend - it's like a kid's summer camp- over-run and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    677
    169
    49
    33
See reviews for
820
675
30
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
forida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Room walls so thin you hear next door very clear, also had movie at pool until 10:30 at night. Not very considerate when you have children. Prefer the hilton, much more accommodating and less crazy atmosphere for relaxing, same beach for 1/2 the price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent fourth of July weekend at this resort. We have never visited Marco Island before but are glad we did and will return. The hotel is great. The staff are accommodating and friendly.
Although I'm not sure, it seemed that all rooms have a balcony which I enjoyed reading and drinking tea in the morning overlooking the ocean.
There are 2 pools at this resort, one more geared towards kids. The town itself has a very beachy laid back feel with lots of good restaurants. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you are looking for the perfect destination wedding location this is the place! As a bride I was so concerned about everything going off with perfection...well I got it, and my Marriott Coordinator Mark Williams was the icing on the cake to making my wedding day dreams come true.
About the rooms:
The rooms are all very clean with comfy beds and awesome linens. We stayed in the lanai suites 191, 192 and the large 2 bedroom suite 193. These suites are amazing with breathtaking views right out your back door to the ocean. We also stayed in a tower suite. Talk about perfect! These are all higher priced rooms but we got a chance to see some of the guest rooms and they are still clean and worth the stay as well. We didn't spend much time in the rooms anyway so you can stay in a basic room and get great quality if you just need a place to put your head for the night.

Pools and restaurants:
There are 3 pools available. Two are open to all guest and one is the spa pool. The spa pool is very private and available if you use their services. There is the Quinn's pool which is close to the lanai suites and is the pool you see from the lobby. This is great for sun and drinks for the adults! This one won't have as many young children. The other pool is more kid friendly. (see my picture) If you want to relax I don't suggest this pool, it is really great for the families though!! it has a water slide for the kids and our 6 year old couldn't get enough of it!!

Food, etc. :
Marco Island Marriott is a great place for your most important day. The service from the staff was spot on. The dinner choices are all so good its hard to choose and they accommodate you even if you have that one vegetarian plate needed!! We went with the desert station. The desert station is fun and full of mouth watering selections! We had a cake brought in but the guest really loved the deserts because they got to choose something to their liking! The meals came out at perfect temperature and the meat was cooked just right! I heard the next day how everyone was trying a bite from one another at their tables because everything was so good! Bar service was quick and my guest didn't have to wait long for a drink with the 2 bars set up. That keeps the guest happy!! We chose to get married on the Palms Lawn. This gave us the gorgeous beach background setting but without all the guest getting sand in their toes for an elegant wedding!

The set-up and break-down was all done by the staff on hand at the Marriott. Mark oversaw everything and he made sure every little detail was perfect! We chose to hire an additional assistant from the Marriott for the day and she was able to help with little details like relighting a candle if it went out during dinner service. She also helped escort me to a private room to wait with my father so none of the guest could see me before walking down the aisle. At the end of the night the staff had all of my wedding centerpieces, candles, etc all boxed up, bubble-wrapped and ready to load. They really are so helpful and made it less stressful on my family.

Room Tip: Lanai suites and corner suites are much more expensive, but If you are on vacation then splurge to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The view from the room was gorgeous! Completely enjoyed the beach and the simple sit back and relax atmosphere! Great for family as well as just couples! Went there for the 4th of July. The fireworks was fantastic! From the room (5th floor; tropical view) we got to see 4 different fireworks going on around town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Outstanding hotel on the water in Marco Island. Very easy trip for someone from West Ft Lauderdale. It allows you to feel like you got away, but really didnt travel far. Resort is laid out nice with easy access to both pools. Rooms are a little larger than average and offer wonderful views of Gulf (if you get water view). Resort is well groomed and very kid friendly, with a slide pool, a shallow pool, and a gameroom. Its a resort, so I probably should not be surprised by the aggressive prices of EVERYTHING, but it still seems a little high. Resort and I guess Island, shut down early. I got it (!), its Marco Island, I hear you, lots of old people, blah, blah, blah... But why close early? Everyone there for the fathers day weekend was middle aged and ready to spend money to have a good time. Why collectively flick the switch at 11:00pm? If you come from south florida, the water is disappointing because of clarity and temp (murky & very warm), but it is easy to get past because the beach is epic. Wide White sandy beaches, great shells, no rough surf, and pretty shallow (kid friendly). Everything is a tiny bit dated, but maintained well. Parking is tough. You can valet or self park across the street. When I say across the street, I actually mean; across and down the street for a long stroll. Not too bad if you park and never go back, but brutal if you need to run the car "for a sec". Staff was underwhelming, not mean or rude, just very ok.

Room Tip: Sounds cliche, but you either have a water view or not. Last 3 times I have stayed, water view meant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last year for 4th of July and decided to go back after having such a nice time last year. We had accumulated enough Marriott rewards points so it was a great way to use them. The service is great. Every single employee was so friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the Islands Tower which was newly renovated. The room (double queen with partial ocean view) was beautifully decorated and fresh and had plenty of room for the 5 of us. We brought a blow up mattress instead of using a roll away bed for our 5th person. There was plenty of closet space, a small fridge & the sink was separate from the toilet & bath so that was helpful.

Kids love the Tiki pool with the slide but we all went to Quinn's pool and that was really nice too. The only downside is that there were no chairs available to put our stuff on no matter what time of day it was.

We ate fries at the tiki pool. They were pretty good and reasonably priced. The drinks are crazy expensive though but to be expected. We ate at Quinn's on the Beach (that was a good choice because the food is good and you can't beat the location but it was very expensive) and 400 Piazzo (never again - pizza was so small & ridiculously expensive for what you get & almost impossible to get a table. Next time we will order pizza from a location outside of the hotel and have it delivered).

It's nice that there's an arcade but very few games to play especially for younger kids. Luckily there was an air hockey table. Just outside of the arcade are 2 ping pong tables. Kids loved that even though you sometimes have to wait a while to play. Sign up near the front desk for the scavenger hunt. My kids have fun answering the questions. When they're done, they turn it in for 6 arcade tokens or a (junk) prize from a treasure chest. Prizes could be a LOT better. These were picked through and all the things that no one wanted.

The exercise room is huge & well -equipped & open 24 hours which is really nice. They even have headphones that you can borrow while using the gym.

The beach is your typical west coast Florida beach: plenty of shells & nice white sand. (If you're there for July 4th, the fireworks in Marco Island are beautiful especially if seen from the beach.) Lounge chairs & umbrellas are provided for resort guests while on the beach. Towels are also provided at the beach & pools. You get towel cards at check in which allow you to get your towels. Beach shoes or flip flops are recommended because of all shells. Plus the sand gets really hot in the Florida sun.

We hope to be back to this hotel in the future. Hopefully we can accumulate some more points. :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Address: 400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Marco Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa! Come kick off your shoes and explore paradise found at this one-of-a-kind Florida resort. As one of Marriott's top resorts, we offer an idyllic getaway with the spirit of Balinese beauty, hospitality and well-being. Nestled on three miles of pristine Southwest Florida beaches, the Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa is the perfect destination for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, a memorable meeting or an unforgettable wedding. With several renowned restaurants, championship golf, a world-class spa and a wide range of activities and amenities, Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa now offers even more - including upscale shops for men and women, a free-form fantasy pool with views of the Florida Gulf, new dining options and completely redesigned and redecorated guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club And Spa
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club Hotel Marco Island
Marriott Marco Island
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.