We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep going back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Save Saved
You added Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Marco Island
Central NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We keep going back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a wonderful resort with pristine beaches. We have been here 5 times in 8 years. There are always kids for my kids to play with at any time of year. The resort is very safe and laid out so you can see both pools, the beach and the game room at once. The rooms are spacious and clean (you can upgrade from a regular room to a 26/28 line suite or lanai suite for a small fee - but you get a great room!
My only gripe is the "don't ask don't tell" culture - no helpful hints or info into hotel offers are given without asking specific questions (Even with upgraded Marriott status).
A few tips - get in good with the pool wait-staff from Quinns, otherwise you will wait at least 20 minutes to get someone to take your poolside order; Buy the endless drink cup at Pazzi's; definitely take an excursion or two off the beach - but don't ride the Jet ski's - you can only go 8 buildings down the beach and it's not enough space to really get going.
Hint: You really don't need to leave the resort and parking is pricey - so rent a car at the airport from Hertz and return it at the Marriott and then rent again to get back to the airport. If you want to go anywhere on the island, it won't cost you more than $12 per ride.
Also - it is a resort - but the spa is very over-priced - $50 for a 20 minute manicure - and they are a bit disorganized there - so if you book a massage or other appointment, make sure you confirm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JShigley, Public Relations Manager at Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
First I wanted to say thank you for your loyalty. We so appreciate our guests that return to us year after year. I wanted to apologize about not offering helpful information on offers. We do have an in-house Reservations Department and our wonderful team would be happy to review current offers and promotions with you. Marriott has a Best Rate Guarantee policy so we do encourage our agents to offer all available promotions to our guests. We also have a Specials & Promotions page on our website that we try to keep updated with current offers. Please feel free to call us direct the next time you plan to return to Paradise. 800-438-4373 or marcoislandreservations@marriott.com Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,172
    569
    143
    35
    30
See reviews for
705
547
26
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our annual week at this great Marriott property on the beautiful Marco Island beach. Sitting on the Florida southwest Gulf coast, on a three mile white, sandy and pristinely maintained beach, the Marriott grounds, pools, rooms and staff are just superb. The beds are the best and the rooms are comfortable and spacious, each with a balcony. We enjoy the little restaurant right on the beach, Quinn's on The Beach, from which we love to watch the spectacular Gulf sunsets. The menu is small but interesting, often with seasonal dinner specials. The quality of the food is mixed and not always consistent , but average hotel food. The service, though, is most always exceptionally good and friendly, The other restaurants on the property Re also expensive Nd the food just average. But Marco Island is full of wonderful restaurants, a number of which are even within walking distance. The beach activities, pools and spa are fabulous. There is a special Kid's pool as well as a giant family oriented pool. Both offer comfortable water, spa and sunbathing opportunities in a safe, clean and friendly environment. The separate Marriott Spa facilities have an additional pool. This is our favorite hotel in the world! We look forward to returning each year.

Room Tip: Unless you book a gulf-facing room, in the winter, ask for a south-facing room in order to see the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived at the Marriott Marco Island after booking a quick getaway through an American Express vacation package- and we were not sure what to expect this being our first visit to Marco Island. It is now day five of a six night trip and everything about the resort has exceeded our expectations! Beautiful clean and updated room, gorgeous view, amazing amazing beach to walk for miles, scrumptious food, lovely staff, it is just fabulous. We have stayed at the JW Marriott in Ko Olina, HI and while those rooms may be a bit more upscale in my mind there is no other real difference in the level of quality at this resort. Like any resort it can be a bit pricey (breakfast, beach umbrellas, parking charges)- but with the level of quality and service- I will gladly pay it. We will return for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 4th floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a great hotel. You can't beat the location right on a beautiful beach. The pool is very nice too. Our room was upgraded to a full ocean view which was awesome!!! The hotel food was typical Marriot fare. The spa was very nice and clean. I recommend this for couples and families.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Staying here now on my honeymoon. Been coming to resort for years and love everything about it. First few nights had a beautiful ocean front corner suite. Amazing views, clean, nice wrap around balcony. Problem we had was noise.... These rooms a join on both sides. We asked to move after first night because of loud partying on one side and the other a couple in a fight screaming and swearing till 3 am! Not the resorts fault just bad luck and they offered to move us to same room just 3 floors higher. Of course that one had a screaming baby next door. All hours of the night and early morning, more bad luck!!!

So I went to the front desk and explained the situation. JANI helped us and went as far to upgrade us to a lanai suite!!! I can't tell you how much that meant to us being on our honeymoon and running into a few sleepless nights. Outstanding service above and beyond. Can't thank them enough. This always has been and continues to be one of the most beautifully maintained, friendly, and unique resorts I have ever been too. Dont think twice about staying here. Thank you again, especially JANI!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JShigley, Public Relations Manager at Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I sincerely apologize for the bumpy start due to the noise you encountered but very glad to hear Jani was able to assist you. Congratulations to you and hopefully we will see you back on your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I were at a business conference at this hotel this past week and stayed from Wednesday to Sunday. I am not a Florida person due to humid conditions. I was pleasantly surprised upon seeing the beach at this resort. It's gentle breezes made conditions so enjoyable. This is a spectacular US beach! Sand is pure white and powdery. It is a wide and long beach so it is perfect for walks or runs. There are a million tiny shells in some area so you may prefer to walk with sandals or running shoes. Employees were probably the nicest I have ever encountered in a US chain hotel, helpful, smiling, looking to please you. We rented a beach "Tiki Hut" which was fabulous. There is a person (Tiffany) who comes around to take your order for drinks and sandwiches. Tiffany was wonderful as was Helen (inside towel hut), and especially Betsy one of the managers. My husband left the hotel to play golf at their course "The Rookery" which he said was absolutely beautiful! I could not leave the beach. I was just to comfortable. Our suite was on the top floor with a wonderful terrace and very nicely appointed. The only thing they could change is the noise from the air conditioning vent. We found it to be louder than it should be, especially when trying to sleep. The food throughout the conference was absolutely delicious (and I'm not easy!). I used the spa twice and found it satisfying both times. Technicians were knowledgeable and had ample products in their store to suggest. All in all this Marriott has their act together. They have a gorgeous property and they rise to the occasion. We certainly will be going back when looking for a quick trip in the sun! Oh, and by the way, the Sea Turtles nesting time in this area is from May to October. By 9PM the hotel black out shades are drawn (if you are not in your room they will do it for you). Lights are not allowed on the beach in order for the moon to guide the hatchlings to the water. I found this aspect of the hotel and beach to be so very interesting. It gives you a feeling of helping the environment and I praise the Marco Island Marriott for enforcing these restrictions!

Room Tip: When choosing a room ask if there are any weddings planned for the weekend. Ask to be located away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you are in the Marco Island/ Naples area it is worth a visit for lunch at the beach grill and bar. Very relaxing. Service could be better but then the real attraction is the location - you are on the beach. Food is average.

Pat H.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Address: 400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and SpaCome kick off your shoes and explore paradise found at this one-of-a-kind Florida resort, now celebrating the completion of a $225 million renovation and redesign that has infused every moment here with the spirit of Balinese beauty, hospitality and well-being - and added even more wondrous experiences to this already acclaimed destination. Nestled on three miles of pristine Southwest Florida beaches, the Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa is the perfect destination for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, a memorable meeting or an unforgettable wedding. With several renowned restaurants, championship golf, a world-class spa and a wide range of activities and amenities, Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa now offers even more - including upscale shops for men and women, a free-form fantasy pool with views of the Florida Gulf, new dining options and completely redesigned and redecorated guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club Hotel Marco Island
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club And Spa
Marriott Marco Island
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.