We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay on Marco....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa to your Saves list
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The only place to stay on Marco....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed here for five nights for our 25th and walked the beach many times (great shelling) and on our walks, as far as we saw, this Marriott is the only place where you can eat at a restaurant on the beach. We ate at Quinn's a few times, Kurrants for great steak, and Pazzi's 400 several times for great pizza. Each place we ate outside looking at a gorgeous view of the beach. If you think it's expensive, look at the view you're enjoying, not to mention the great service we had every time. And it's actually no more expensive than the couple of places we ate at away from the resort. Marco is an exclusive place to stay and you're going to pay a little more--but it's so worth it. We loved it here. Woke up each day with no more in mind than where we should we relax today--by the beach or by the pool. All of the food we had here was excellent, including the appetizers in the bar. We did the jet ski tour and were feet away from the dolphins. We rented a chickee hut three days ($35 for a full day from 8:30 a.m. until sunset, $20 from 1:00 until sunset). Not bad for a full days entertainment. The rooms are nice and we did not (as mentioned in a couple of reviews) have any mold in our shower. The best part of the rooms are the balconies where we could sit in the warm air and see the pool and the gulf. Ask for a room on a high floor as some of the lower rooms would not have a good view. We drove into Naples one night for dinner on 5th Ave. It's a nice drive and only takes about a half hour. Other than that we ate at the hotel restaurants except for one lunch at Liitle Bar on Goodland Island--the amberjack dip is really good. It's true there's not much else to do on Marco, but you really never have to leave the resort. It was such a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. We're ready to go back tomorrow. It's really a beautiful place--no complaints here!

Room Tip: As for a high room with a pool/gulf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience. Your experience is what we strive for every day. We are delighted you had an opportunity to enjoy many of our resort services. We will share your positive experiences in our restaurants with our team. On behalf of all the associates at the Marco Island Beach Resort, we thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,329
    639
    157
    40
    32
See reviews for
771
626
28
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

on our trip we stayed at this beautiful hotel for 3 nights but extended it to 6 nights, all the staff are friendly and the service was excellent the rooms spotless and the bed was die for. the position of the hotel was right on the beach with its pure white sand all in all it was paradise. easy to drive to the everglades for about 30mins and only a two hour drive to Miami, an excellent holiday and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
We value your feedback and strive to provide all of our guests with a memorable experience. We are delighted you extended your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We just loved this hotel -
RIght ON the beach, two fabulous pools, hot tubs, great service, and lots of activities for all of us,, kids, and grown ups.
The fact that we could rent a Tiki Hut ont eh beach for the day, with lounge chairs, and a WAITER was really all we needed for a perfect vacation. We went on shelling trips by boat, swam in the pools, and had all kinds of activities available. The rooms are pretty basic hotel rooms, clean, decednt size, etc. This place is more about the spot on the beach, and the luxury of the sevice both pool side and beach front. There is plenty to do at the resort and we all loved it! There is not a ton to do in Marco Isand - so don't go for the town, altough Naples is close and a lot of fun. BUt if you are happy to hang around the resort and just relax, you will love this place! Especially with kids!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
We value your feedback and strive to provide all of our guests with a memorable experience. We are delighted you enjoyed many of our beach activities. Sailing and shelling is one of our signature activities and we are delighted to hear you had a perfect vacation. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming your family back to paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We recently spent five nights here on vacation and had a great time. The hotel has a prime location on the huge beach. We never had a hard time finding a great spot for our umbrella and chairs. $18 a day for an umbrella rental is a lot, but it's worth it when you're planning on spending most of the day at the beach. We had a fairly easy time finding places to sit at the pool, as well; although I wish they had more small tables between chairs. The beach and pool staff are very friendly and attentive. We ate at Quinn's twice and both times were excellent. Try the fish tacos!

We had a great view of the pool and the gulf from our room. Aside from that, however, the room was pretty average. Staff were very friendly, as we had a few housekeeping items that were overlooked when we arrived. I think my biggest complaint would agree with the previous post that there was a lot of mold and mildew on the shower walls. The stone appears to be pourous, which probably isn't the best idea, but I think if they would bleach it after each guest, they wouldn't have a problem. It really detracts from the appearance of the bathroom. The bed wasn't overly comfortable, either. It did appear that they were renovating several rooms on our floor, so perhaps ours was next on the list.

Overall, go for the location, amenities and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2011
We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and we will always do everything possible to ensure your complete satisfaction. We will share your comments with our Director of Services to ensure we maintain the highest level of cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sueq575
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed at the Marco Island Marriott resort with our 3 children, ages 18, 14 and 8. It is a beautiful resort with a fantastic beach. The hotel is very luxurious and well-maintained. We all had a great time both at the beach and at the pool areas. Our 8 year-old loved the waterslide and kids pool area. The beach is covered in shells, so we had fun collecting. We had heard that Sanibel Island was the best place to hunt for shells...but we found you can collect just as many here and save the trip! I think the beach here was better than Sanibel's beaches too.
The restaurants are a little pricey, but there are plenty of great family restaurants off-site. We loved The Italian Deli for sandwiches and pizza.
Overall, we loved it and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I recently attended an award ceremony at the Marco Island Marriott and was grossly insulted by the charges for parking. I decided to Valet my car, after I was given a valet ticket and my car was gone I was told I had to prepay for parking......what?!?!?!? So I went to the desk where to prepay and was told I had to pay $13.00 to have my car valeted. There was no way to have my ticket validated. This was shocking to me!!! Even the Ritz Carlton will validate a Valet ticket. The fact that they wanted to squeeze that extra money out of my pocket is deplorable. And to add insult to injury, when the event was over and I turned in my ticket to get my car, I noticed on their parking rate board that they should have charged me $12 not $13. I know $13 is not alot of money, but it's the principle. (especiallly because this was a Collier County tourism board award ceremony...they should have at least given us a discount on parking....afterall we did pay $30 a plate for lunch that consisted of a mixed green salad and an entree of grilled chicken breast and rice)......definately will not recommend the Marco Island Marriot to friends and family.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011 via mobile

We are into our second day of 11 at the resort and are having a great time. There are only a couple of small business conferences going on, so the beach and pool are sparsely populated.

All of our staff interactions have been 99% great. As everyone has said, the food is expensive, however we went to a waterside hole-in-the wall restaurant and it was more than what we spent at Quinns the day before. So don't necessarily expect things off resort to be cheaper. Honestly, for the sunset view from Quinns, it is worth the extra cost.

My only negative observations is the large amount of mold on the shower walls and dirty shower curtain.

As we spend the next 9 days we'll keep you posted.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Address: 400 South Collier Blvd., Marco Island, FL 34145
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa! Come kick off your shoes and explore paradise found at this one-of-a-kind Florida resort. As one of Marriott's top resorts, we offer an idyllic getaway with the spirit of Balinese beauty, hospitality and well-being. Nestled on three miles of pristine Southwest Florida beaches, the Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa is the perfect destination for a family vacation, a romantic retreat, a memorable meeting or an unforgettable wedding. With several renowned restaurants, championship golf, a world-class spa and a wide range of activities and amenities, Marco Island Marriott Beach Resort Golf Club and Spa now offers even more - including upscale shops for men and women, a free-form fantasy pool with views of the Florida Gulf, new dining options and completely redesigned and redecorated guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club And Spa
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club Hotel Marco Island
Marriott Marco Island
Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Island Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.