We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination or Journey?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keewaydin Island

Keewaydin Island
On the Gulf, accessible only by boat, Marco Island, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Destination or Journey?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our family rented a pontoon boat on Marco Island and took a leisurely ride to Keewaydin Island. Contrary to another reviewer’s opinion, we found the journey very much worth the effort (and cost) as opposed to keeping ourselves entertained elsewhere. While the beach is very remote and a beautiful amenity, we found the time getting there the true reward. It might be true there are other beaches that are more accommodating, convenient, and better for shelling. However, meandering through the inter-coastal's on our way to find this gem was a great time to unwind and explore something new. One strong suggestion I can make, from personal experience, is to bring shoes or sandals if you’re going to walk through the scrub or you’ll have a complete collection of cockle-burs. I hope this destination remains somewhat remote and desolate keeping its unique qualities and beauty – otherwise I fear it will become just another stomping ground for the masses. In any case, I suggest packing a small cooler and spending a half day’s journey getting to Keewaydin Island. If so, you might just end up like we did: pleasantly surprised.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    38
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

There is always a scene here during Spring Break! Bring your sunscreen and your adult beverages. Boats will be beached like cars at the mall.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A Nice way to spend a Florida day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

A neighbor and his wife invited my wife and I to take a boat ride to this wonderful island which is only accessible by water. We started our trip from the Naples Harbour Yacht club and made our way through the canal. Along our way we passed Tin city, the Boat House and then into Naples bay. There were numerous osprey nests perched atop markers and many playful dolphins about. We got to our destination around 12:30 and the beach was already crowded. We took a leisurely stroll on beach to tip of the island where you can Marco Island's high rise buildings in the distance. Make sure you protect yourself with sun screen before you venture out on this trip.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Besides the lovely boat ride there and back, the island is a nice place to visit for the afternoon. We were surprised that many people just stayed by their boats on the waterway side, while just a short walk away was a lovely and uncrowded Gulf beach. We spent quite a bit of time shelling, finding a large conch and a sand dollar in the water, as well as many other shells. Don't miss this lovely place!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rent a Boat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

By boat is the best way to experience the real Florida. This allows you to navigate easily with the maps given. We recommend getting to this island early in the morning as there were only 2 boats pulled up at 10:00. As we left around 12:30 it was non stop line of boats coming in.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keewaydin Island also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Keewaydin Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keewaydin Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.