We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff always makes you feel welcomed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sasso's International Cuisine

Sasso's International Cuisine
961 Winterberry Drive, Marco Island, FL 34145-5426
(239) 393-4960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 104 Restaurants in Marco Island
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Staff always makes you feel welcomed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were greeted by Michelle with a beautiful smile and went straight to bar, where we were welcomed by Jo-B and Cathy, they always remember our drinks. Then we were entertained by Reggie the singer, who we always find enjoyable and talented. The early bird specials are $15.75, I had great meatloaf and my husband had the seafood entre finished with a piece of key lime pie. We always include Sassos during our winter stay every year., it means we are "home" on the island. Thanks Marianne..

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    21
    15
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super Seafood at Sasso's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Friendly accosting staff. If you go before 6:00 there is a special menu which had plenty of choices. I ordered Salmon off this menu and for my salad I selected Caprise and the cheese was exceptional. This place was filled with Snow Birds in the bar area which appeared to be a favorite hang out and dinner can also be ordered from there. I noticed several young families with children who seemed to be enjoying themselves. Interior is nice using an Italian Villa theme and booths have individual amazing Venetian glass chandeliers which have individula dimmers on them so you can adjust the light level down after you have read the menu and ordered. A great experience all around!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“#1 Secret Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Most locals and regular visitors will likely include Sasso’s in their Top 3 Southwest Florida dining favorites. I don’t find articles about it in the standard promotional publications, so locals and those “in the know” have managed to almost hide this gem. My husband and I found it by accident about 4-1/2 years ago, and we never fail to dine here at least once on every visit… as many times as we can, quite frankly. The dining rooms and lounge, with a big, comfy bar and several dining tables all fill up very fast. Even full-time residents say they try to make reservations at least one to two weeks in advance. If you are in a hotel, ask your concierge to help you, but don’t wait until your last night. We’ve talked with several folks who did that, only to regret having to wait until a future visit to get back to Sasso’s.

Because we travel the world and love foods from various cultures, Sasso’s lands right on target. The Mediterranean-styled interior is sassy, yet stylish… classic, yet comfortable. Diners fit in whether bedecked in their dressiest ensembles or in casual attire and flip-flops after a day at the beach. Regardless of whether Sasso’s becomes your favorite Marco Island haunt or the spot where you go just for a special dinner, you will probably find the owner (Marianne Kramer) circulating about the tables, making sure you feel welcome and that your foods are prepared to your liking. Sasso’s reflects Marianne’s passion!

We’ve always been welcomed by the staff and treated warmly and with the utmost professionalism, whether we were eating several courses in one of the exquisite dining rooms or simply sharing some appetizers in tapas style at the bar in the lounge. (Bartenders Jo-B and Cathy handle a big crowd with skill and smiles.) We admit that we are frequently wooed by the splendid nightly specials.

We love the regular menu items, especially items like the Ahi Tuna, whether as an entrée or in the Ahi Tuna Stacks appetizer, which is outrageously awesome, served on crispy wonton chips with a marinated seaweed salad and a superb Japanese ginger dressing. We also enjoy the ever-changing House Spring Rolls, the calamari (both the spicy Asian variation and the traditional Italian style with marinara for dipping), and the melt-in-your-mouth Lobster Purse. Who knew Maine lobster, portabella mushrooms, and brie cheese all wrapped in perfect puff pastry could be so gleefully addictive!!?

Every night a special menu features a different international culture. The other night, Greece got the nod, and my husband was wowed by the Lemon Chicken soup, heralding as the best he’s ever had… anywhere.

The live entertainment is also first rate. Everyone we have seen makes an effort to befriend the audience, welcoming both regulars and newcomers, and getting everyone dancing and having fun, whether you are 4, 40, or celebrating the 40th anniversary of your 40th birthday. Owner Marianne Kramer and her staff are doing a great job of making fine dining fun and not at all stuffy.

If you drop in some night without a reservation, don’t worry about the wait time for a table. The lounge is apt to be standing room only, especially on Thursday through Saturday nights. That’s because the Happy Hour deal is great and the musical entertainment is delightful. You could actually plan to go earlier and pop in next door to the miniature golf facility recently opened by Marianne and her husband. These 18 holes are far from typical, as the course meanders through luxurious gardens throughout the tropical theme.

Regardless of where we dine across the United States or abroad, we always look forward to coming home to Sasso’s.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great service and entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My husband and I have enjoyed our meals at Sasso's. The early bird specials are a great value and the other dishes are equally as delicious. We have had most of the dishes on the menu and can say the consistency is perfect. My favorite is the seafood risotto and my husbands is the chicken picatta. The portion is healthy and the soups and deserts are all home made. 3 courses for $15.99. what a value on Marco.
Very nice decor and classy atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
391 helpful votes 391 helpful votes
“Exquisite Fine Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you are looking for a Fine Dining Experience that is unsurpassed this is it!
The creativity of Owner/Chef Marianne is remarkable!
Her goal is to have each meal perfectly prepared for each guest and she delivers!
The wait staff are a delight as they share their humor throughout your dinner.
Lovely, simply lovely!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sasso's International Cuisine also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sasso's International Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sasso's International Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.