We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Crystal Shores

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Crystal Shores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Crystal Shores
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   600 S Collier Blvd, Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Marco Island
Kansas City, MO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Crystal Shores for a 5 nights in September and had a great time. My mother-in-law got us two free nights with Marriott points, so we only paid for 3 nights.

Upon arrival, it is very confusing where to check in. There are large signs that say check-in is on the 3rd floor. But this is only if you are interested in purchasing a condo, not for hotel check-in. So we had to walk across the parking lot in the rain to get to the hotel check-in. The actual check-in was a breeze, and we then had an escort to our room to help us navigate the pools in the dark on our first visit.

The room is amazing. The bedrooms are huge with very comfortable beds. The bathrooms are equally nice and very luxurious. The kitchen could have used a few more basic kitchen items (bags, foil, etc.), but we understand Marriott doesn't want to pay to keep these stocked. The dining room (area) looked nice, and was not used. The living room (area) had a couch that needed to be broken in, but a great television. The balcony was amazing with a four-seat round table and two loungers with a table between them. We had a view to the North and the Hilton and thoroughly enjoyed the room. For the two of us, it was way more than we could ask for.

The grounds are very nice. The ocean in front of the hotel is mostly sea shells, so don't go expecting soft sand. It cost $7 to rent a lounge chair on the beach for the day and $18 for an umbrella. We decided on sitting by the pool instead.

The pool is the true draw in my opinion. We sat next to the pool for multiple hours each day reading books, listening to music, and sipping beers. There is one pool with a zero entry side facing the ocean and there is a child's pool with a slide. The (more) adult pool had tons of chairs around it, never an issue getting a good location to sit. They have waiters for ordering drinks and food. They service was a bit slow, but it appeared they only had one waiter for both pools. The drinks we had were slightly expensive, but very tasty. They have a happy hour from 3-6pm (might be 2-6) where draft beers and well drinks are only $3. We bought cases of beer and brought them down 4 at a time to drink by the pool. They allowed this as long as there is no glass.

There isn't a whole lot going on here besides sitting on your balcony, by the pool, or at the restaurant and enjoying yourself. We went to the restaurant, but only for a drink. If you are looking for a relaxing time this is your place. You can easily walk across the street to quite a few solid restaurants (Nacho Mama's Mexican, DaVinci Italian, Irish Pub, two seafood restaurants, and a bar and grill). It is still an easy drive to the rest of the island.

All-in-all it was great. I can't imagine paying full price for the whole time, this might work if you had a few friends staying with you to share the cost. Enjoy the pool and the great sunshine and have a cold beer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    58
    24
    9
    0
See reviews for
160
46
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

I was amazed by the beautiful location and standard of accomodation at this resort. The apartments overlook the golden beach offering a perfect view of the amazing sunsets. The beach was covered in shells and the water was very warm. My children were enthralled by the presence of sea turtle nests along the beach and were desperate to see them hatch, but unfortunately this didn't happen while we were there. The presence of these nests is of great importance on the island and a light blackout policy in in force from 9pm. This is slightly irritating if you wish to sit on your balcony of an evening, but it was nice to see that the presence of turtles is of more importance than tourist desires.
The apartments themselves were fantastic. Spacious with modern decor and patio doors that stretch across the living area to make the balcony feel like part of your living space.

The onsite facilities are limited but there is a bar and restaurant, and we found the food to be of an excellent quality, but it closed very early.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the resort had a very friendly feel to it.

I would positively recommend it and hope to return there myself one day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

I was at Crystal Shores from 7.4 – 7.11. We had a great time. The accommodations are first class and exactly as described. Although they were almost sold out, it was not crowded at all. There were some afternoons where it seamed that my kids had the pool to themselves. I really liked the beach set-up. If you want, you can rent chairs and an umbrella for the week. You pick your spot and it’s your spot for the entire week. They set the chairs and umbrella up in the morning and label the spot with your name. This is nice because if you want to go to the pool in the am you don’t have to worry about getting to the beach for a good spot. We left our stuff on the chairs went back for lunch stayed in the pool a bit then went back to the beach – very convenient especially with the kids. The Hotel is in a great location it’s so close to the beach you don’t need to worry if you have want to run back to the room for anything.

We were in a 2 bedroom on the 10th floor. We were 2 families of 4 (4 adults and 4 kids) and there was plenty of room. Our guests said the sofa bed was better that other queen size beds in hotel rooms. The accommodations were as described - Full kitchen with all of the supplies you need for cooking, making drinks, etc. Washer and dryer were big enough to wash 6 large beach towels at a time. We were on the 10th floor Gulf front and were able to watch the fireworks on the 4th from the balcony which is huge.

Stilts the onsite restaurant / bar is ok - we ate there the first night. For the other nights usually ordered in from Joey’s (pizza, pasta, salad) or other local restaurants they all deliver and we usually ate by the pool. One of the nights we barbequed steaks and burgers – they have gas grill’s you can use. Publix is only 1.5 miles away. We also walked to the Marriott Hotel (about 10 – 15 min slow walk on the beach) and ate at Quins on the beach.

All the staff were friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. I shipped a box of beach toys and floats back and forth with no problem. The only draw back I noticed is there were no other concessions at the facility except for the small convenient store at registration – no big deal. The group had such a great time already booked next year’s stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We had a week here in August in a 2 bedroom villa. Although our unit was at the side of the building we still had an excellent view of the ocean and the balocon was huge so spent a lot of time here. Inside of villa was absolutely lovely and probably the best we have ever had. Very, very clean and new. We were told that the resort was full to capacity when we were there but even so there are only 60+ units so with 60 families the place was practically empty. Although there are so few villas completed they have still finished the excellent amenities - 2 pools, one with slide and another huge pool with plenty of chairs and loads of space around the resort, Conveniently placed outdoor games area for kidse and stilts restaurant, Of course the beach is also on site. The best Marriott vacation club we have stayed at - EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Just spent 4 nights here with 3 teenagers and a 22 yr. old. We all had a great time, the 2 bedroom unit is very spacious, modern and beautiful, we had a side gulf view and it wasn't bad, not sure i would actually pay an $100/night to have the "facing the ocean" unit, you can see the sunset and the beach from the side units (yes you can also see the Hilton, but it's not bad, we spent those extra $400 doing the jet ski eco tour which was a nice adventure :-)
The 2 pools are very nice, one with a slide which the girls really enjoyed, and the cabanas by the pool were specially nice since we were celebrating a 13th birthday on one of the days, we rented the cabana which has a refrigerator, a safe, and a flat screen tv on the wall... it was perfect for all of us and a few extras that came to visit for the birthday. We were in and out of the cabana from 8:30 am till 10:00 pm) well worth the money (less than renting 4 chairs and 2 umbrellas on the beach) which by the way it is a bit outrageous to rent chairs at the beach if you rent them by the day, it is probably worth it if you are there all week, otherwise, take your own, plenty of people did it, you wont look out of place or cheap .... and you can just leave them in the car at the end of the day.
We went to Arturo's Italian restaurant and it was delicious, also ordered pizza for our bday party from Vandy's 5 brothers and it was one of the best pizzas we have ever had, also great chicken wings. The restaurant at this resort "Stilts" was ok if you didn't want to go out, we had dinner there one night and it was an enjoyable dinner with a beautiful view.
We really enjoyed it here and would love to come back, maybe even buy a timeshare here !

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Just returned from 3 nights at the Marriott Crystal Shores. What a nice place. The rooms are spacious and brand new. The balcony is very big and ours was a corner unit, so it was especially large. The kitchen was fully equipped and had stainless steel appliances. There are 2 pools and the slide at this place is better than the one at the other Marco Marriott. There is also a kids club that my kids played in all the time. Will definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We bought a timeshare there last year, preconstruction, and have just come back from a week there. The resort is a renovation of an existing hotel (this allowed Marriott to
'grandfather' the beach setback; otherwise, it would have been needed to be built further back from the water) with a Phase 2 planned in the very near future. Phase 2 will be all new construction. Phase 1 feels like all new construction; I would argue that the suites are nicer than most folks houses (and maybe bigger if you live in an apartment): stainless steel appliances, great utensils and pots and pans, white ceramic tile floors, dark wood cabinets with dark green granite, and herringbone (large) tan and navy blue carpet in the bedrooms, large LG flat screens in both bedrooms and living. Bathrooms have large walk in showers with multiple heads. Sinks and faucets are Kohler. Countertop is a cream and brown (St. Cecilia?) granite. The balconies are incredible, really. Quite huge, with wonderful, heavy glass storm doors that open WIDE and let the living room expand outward. Everything is simple and clean. Lighting at night is amber--absoultely unexpected and beautiful. Also, functional, I believe, as it does not distract the sea turtles as they come ashore. Recycling bins everywhere. Very nice grilling areas. Fire pit. Great staff. Great kids pool. And the beach--white sand, clear water.

Everything is so white and clean, I am concerned about how it will age. It will need to be maintained, but also cared for by the guests (owners). If you see someone picking up trash, or arranging furniture, or pointing out something to the staff to be corrected, it's probably me......;)



Parking is very limited.

We drove from Houston, and we will do it again.

BD

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Crystal Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Crystal Shores

Address: 600 S Collier Blvd, Marco Island, FL 34145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Crystal Shores 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Crystal Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Crystal Shores Hotel Marco Island
Marriotts Marco Island
Marriott's Crystal Shores Marco Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Crystal Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.