We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Crystal Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Crystal Shores to your Saves list
Marriott's Crystal Shores
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   600 S Collier Blvd, Marco Island, FL 34145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Marco Island
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Do not bypass this Marriott property because it is small. Marriott has maximized every inch for the pleasure and comfort of their guests. Units are beautiful and show no wear. Balconies are large with two full size , very comfortable, cushioned lounge chairs and full table with four cushioned chairs. The view of the ocean and incredible sunsets are fabulous. Very nice pools and never a problem finding a chair and umbrella. Employees always greet you and inquire if you need anything. Great location. Across the street are fabulous restaurants and shopping.
11th floor, oceanfront , happy, happy, happy !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of Marriott's Crystal Shores! We are happy to be your slice of paradise in sunny Florida. Please visit us again soon on your next trip to Marco Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    65
    24
    9
    0
See reviews for
171
52
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

For those thinking of buying Marriott Destination Program versus using Interval International, listen to this. I wanted two weeks at Marco Island Marriott Crystal Shores at certain dates to correspond with a conference nearby in November. So we donated two weeks of a very expensive Aruba timeshare to Interval and we did it 18 months in advance. They promptly took our two weeks and told me to keep calling back. Time after time, "no vacancy"; Try again later and see if owners have deposited their rooms.

Shortly before the dates needed, it was obvious that Interval was not going to come through but they would not give me the two Aruba weeks back. So I called Marriott, having just transferred to the Destination program. Two minutes later I had succeeded in getting the two weeks we wanted at the Marco Island Marriott. Two minutes for success versus 17 months off failure. That is the difference between Marriott and Interval International.

We used the two weeks Marco Island timeshare and had a great time. Afterwards we tried to get some use out of the two weeks we had deposited into Interval. We would ask for Hawaii and Interval would say no. Everything we wanted was not available. I had to get a Marriott representative to phone them. Eventually we were offered Palm Beach Florida and we took it just so that we could use up our two weeks deposited earlier, even though we did not really want to go to Palm Beach. We also enjoyed the Palm Beach Marriott: full kitchen, nice rooms, location OK etc.

This whole experience left me with a nasty taste in my mouth about Interval International. Sure, they show you a world full of resorts to pick from. Unfortunately, we could never get what we wanted from them. We still have membership with Interval because that comes with the Destination program from Marriott but we just call Marriott and book what we want in the Marriott chain of beautiful timeshares.

I always sound like a Marriott salesman because I have nothing but good things to say about Marriott - just as I have nothing but good things to say about Viking River Cruises. However, I am a neuropsychologist and I have no connection with Marriott except that I use their timeshares regularly. I also have no connection with Interval. Nor do I recommend interval unless you are willing to go somewhere that is not really of your choosing.

Room Tip: Ask the booking agent about where the sun sets and get one that lets you see the setting sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Crystal Shores! We are happy you were able to visit us using the Destinations Points Program. As a Marriott Vacation Club owner, we appreciate your feedback regarding the booking process and will share your comments with our partners at Interval International. Thank you again for your review and please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYS
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

There were four adults and a 4 year old in our group. We had a longer vacation in south Florida (Miami, Key West, Dry Tortugas, Everglades) in early January 2014 that we spent at various Marriott properties. The Marriott's Crystal Shores was supposed to be relaxing 2 night stay before heading home.

The vacation club itself is really nice, very nice villas, nice beach. But it scores very poorly when one wants to relax and sleep at night. The reason is the pool engine (as I was told).
Originally we were accommodated in the 303 villa, which is a very nice ocean view villa. At around 10:30pm, when all surround noises subdued I noticed an engine noise. First I thought that someone in the room above us just checked in and were doing their laundry right after arrival and the noise would eventually go away.

But that was not going to be the case. At about 2:15am, after not being able to sleep for even a minute I called the front desk. They dispatched a technician. I let him into the villa. He said that what we were hearing was the pool engine noise and there was nothing he could do about it. So, I called the front desk again. They offered that they could accommodate us in another villa - the 401 villa. The pool engine noise was somewhat less noticeable there – enough to have a 4 hour sleep.

In the morning we moved our stuff from the 303 villa into the 401 villa. The front desk was very nice to let us use 2 villas for several hours. However, this being a premium location (Marriott Rewards category 8) one would expect to be able to have a relaxing stay and be able to sleep at night. The Marriott Crystal Shores vacation club failed badly in this regard – it was pretty much a waste of points.

Room Tip: Avoid the 303 villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Crystal Shores. The situation you described is not typical of our resort and is not what you deserve as a valued owner. We would welcome the opportunity to personally address your concerns regarding your stay with us. At your earliest convenience, please contact our Customer Care team at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a beautiful 2-bedroom suite on the 5th floor with a view of the beach. Tons of room with a large flat screen TV in the main living area. The sliding glass doors to the outdoor patio open completely. The pools are OK but the ocean/beach are right out your back door. We rented jet skis ($150/hr) and had a blast. Also $65 to rent beach umbrellas (per/day) for four of us but worth the money for a shady retreat. There are no restaurants on the property but a full service Marriott and Hilton up the road + lots of local fare as well. Always appreciate the in-room washer and dryer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Our team is thrilled to read your five-star Tripadvisor Review! We look forward to welcoming you back to Marriott’s Crystal Shores in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Just returned from a glorious 12 stay at Crystal Shores. We were there from Dec. 8-20 and have already re-booked to go back next year. Had read previous reviews that were negative about the size of the lobby, being much to small and trailer-like. Read that the staff was not friendly or responsive to the needs of the guests. These were all 110% off the mark. True, the check-in area is a small building and the lobby is the size of our living room, but who comes to Marco Island to spend their days or nights in the lobby?? The check in process was smooth and efficient and the chocolate chip cookies were right out of the oven and chewy. Who could ask for more??

We were provided with a luggage cart and off to our room. Wow!! 10th floor gulf-front with a spectacular view of the Gulf of Mexico from every room and the spacious wrap around balcony. The rooms were very well appointed, clean, and, of course, the beds were spectacular. One can always depend on a great night's sleep in a Marriott bed. Initially, we thought that the kitchen lighting was dim, but when the CFLs heated up we had no problem whatsoever. The kitchen island provided all the space we needed and the appliances were all stainless steel and great. 2 ground floor gas grills just off the elevator area were well maintained and they provided all the utensils on the grill. Of course, during our stay, the starters did fail once, but I had brought a small butane lighter which solved the problem. As soon as the starter issue was brought to the attention of the staff, it was fixed. Fixed right then and not the next morning!!

During our stay, the resort converted all the flat panel tvs to satellite HD. The activities staff members were most hospitable and engaged the guests in many activities without being pushy or in-your-face. The 2 pools were clean and well maintained; staffed by wait-staff from the bar at Stilts to bring drinks to your lounge; and there were plenty of lounges. The beach was very clean, power-raked every night and staffed by vendors for umbrellas(for rent) and water sports. The vendors were so pleasant that they even helped us with our own umbrellas by digging holes in the shelly sand deep enough not to blow away. The beach was great for shell collecting, long walks, or just sitting and watching the dolphins, pelicans, and gulls.

Sunsets were quite impressive especially if there were some high clouds to reflect the brilliant colors. What a great place to come and relax.

Room Tip: gulf front corner units are the best, but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week escaping the snow of the mid Atlantic, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The individual condo units, that are part of the Marriott Vacation Club, were spacious and well equipped. Large rooms and very large decks proved to be enjoyable. The common grounds and pools were well maintained, clean, and were a nice alternative to the beach when the breeze was a bit too much, or later in the afternoon.

The site is a bit awkward with limited parking and a poorly marked entrance. Staff was pleasant and helpful. A beautiful island and we were quite pleased with the accommodations.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Crystal Shores, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for the five-star review of Marriott’s Crystal Shores! Our entire team appreciates your kind words and look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We decided to take a few days off and drive down to Marco Island. We had never been there before but have heard a lot of good things about it. This property is a Marriott Vacation Club property with two full bedrooms and two full baths.

The resort was very well maintained. Clean and very spacious. We had an oceanview room so we had a good view of the gulf. Staff was very friendly and responsive.

One night they had an entertainer that was really remarkable. He was able to impersonate a wide variety of singers, perfectly. He performed as Barry White, Frankie Valle, Neil Diamond, Three Dog Night and old Blue Eyes.

Definitely will visit this place again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Crystal Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Crystal Shores

Address: 600 S Collier Blvd, Marco Island, FL 34145
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Marco Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marco Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marco Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marco Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Crystal Shores 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Crystal Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Crystal Shores Hotel Marco Island
Marriotts Marco Island
Marriott's Crystal Shores Marco Island, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Crystal Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.