We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birding Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigertail Beach

Tigertail Beach
Marco Island, FL
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Peterborough, Ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Birding Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a must see if you are a serious birder. Before going, check the times for low tide if you want to save yourself some time by wading across the inlet, which is filled with birds and fish. The water is murky and mucky on the bottom, and reaches to mid thigh, but well worth it. Once across there are hundreds of crabs on the pathway to the beach that you can actually hear moving as they scurry to disappear.

The beach is beautiful, and walking to the end of the spit affords some spectacular finds. Many different species of birds, including oystercatchers (see pics) and skimmers. There were also some interesting finds in the tidal pools, including seastars, and sand dollars. We found many horse conches along the spit, you could follow their trail in the sand as they made their way into the shallow water. We also saw a fisherman reel in a hammerhead shark.

It's important to keep an eye on the tide as it comes back in. The beach shrinks and you have to walk IN the water, around some mangroves on your way off the spit back to the main part of the beach. Time passes very quickly as there is so much to see! Highly recommended!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    205
    87
    35
    40
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ozark, MO
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pay extra and go to Resident's Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We are only on Marco for the month of January and when we discovered the Resident's Beach, we never went back to Tigertail. Tigertail has an outcropping (I know there is a better term for this) between the beach and the Gulf so at Tigertail, you don't see much Gulf. The cost to park was $8.00 the last I checked, it does have a restaurant, playground, and dress/restrooms plus cabanas you can rent on cold days. We pay $130.00 for the month of January (if you own property on Marco that's a year's pass) to use this beach. It has picnic areas with grills, change/restrooms, cafe with great breakfasts and lunches and what I need most, Tiki huts on the beach so you can bring your own lounge chair to sun and move under the tiki hut when sun gets too hot. It is a huge expanse of white sand and Gulf. I dream about it in December! Don't miss a thing about Tigertail!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beachlovers should avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Once you park, you either have to wade across an inlet to the beach, or walk around it at least 20 minutes to get to the beach. The amenities are not located on the beach, but on the inlet. The sand is rough, you really need tennis shoes or aqua socks to make the lengthy journey to the gulf. If you want a great beach, go to siesta Key near Sarasota. We will go back there next year. We paid $130 for the Residents Beach on Marco which has a beautiful setting, but it too was a half mile hike to the water's edge. While many make note of the miles of beach, they neglect to point out how far it is to the water's edge, and the shells, while interesting and fun to collect, are tough on the feet!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wixom, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great sunset. Lagoon is gross”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Why can't they build a bridge across the lagoon? It is so gross. First day we walked around with a wagon and it took us FOREVER. Not worth the walk. So we crossed the lagoon. I absolutely hate the lagoon (wear water shoes), but the beach on the other side is very nice. We are renting a house nearby so we don't have to pay the $8. We have gone back everyday, but I picture an alligator attacking us :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Did Not Feel Welcome”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

There are only two beaches for tourist, both have limited parking and charge $8. I can' think of a single reason you'd want to go to the beach on Marco Island unless you stay at one of the $400/night hotels. Florida has so many other beaches with friendly access, reasonable parking. Marco Island is definately not one of those communities.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tigertail Beach also viewed

Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Marco Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tigertail Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigertail Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.