We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like to stay with nature this is the place for you!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Siesta Motel to your Saves list
Siesta Motel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7425 Overseas Highway, Marathon Shores, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“If you like to stay with nature this is the place for you!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The siesta motel owners are very misleading they claim the 3 bedroom 2 bath is a suite and when you get there they even tell you..it is a house you are staying in but in actuality it's a double wide trailer filled with spiders in every room along with mold in the bathroom. The beds are so uncomfortable everybody woke up with back pain. A reason I decided to book there is because of the kitchen but judging by the the oldest dishwasher I have ever seen the black stuff at the bottom of the dishwasher grossed me out that we never cooked in the kitchen we were afraid to get something. I understand this was a motel I wasn't expecting a whole lot but to lie about the accommodations that's not right. Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Well I have to laugh at this review. The suite dishwasher has not worked in years and we do advertise it as having one. There is a large sign on the dishwasher that says "Dishwasher broken - please do not open". AND the funny part is that we have actually used several screws to lock the dishwasher shut to prevent guests from attempting to use it. So if this guest really did open the dishwasher they were really really determined to try and open it. And if they did get it open there is nothing gross in it - it is old and broken and much of the paint was worn away showing black metal. End of that story.

We have no spiders in the rooms and use a professional exterminator monthly to prevent such problems. We have NEVER had any mold in the bathrooms and we get compliments daily on the cleanliness of our rooms. The guest never mentioned this or any other problem to us ever and seemed very happy when they checked out. We did take an extra long time cleaning the suite after this guest checked out - their children had spilled juices on the furniture which we had to steam clean and had used crayons on the walls which took a long time to wipe off.

We do not lie about our accommodations - our website has great current pictures of every room on our property.

Oh and one more thing - just to prevent future "problems" the dishwasher was removed yesterday and we added some new shelves in its place.

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    15
    19
    53
See reviews for
37
50
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houghton, Michigan
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Siesta Motel does not bill itself as a fancy resort with a pool, just promises clean rooms at affordable prices with a helpful staff. I've had family stay here on two occasions. On the second, my son and his fiance were visiting the Keys together for the first time and were given a room just off the small but delightful garden. While modest, it had everything they needed, including a fridge. And they liked it so much that they decided to stay another night. The owner/operator, Frank, is super friendly and very solicitous about helping out with anything you need. He makes sure patrons know that he lives right next door and is handy in case of emergency. That made us much more comfortable about having the "kids" stay there. Conveniently located midway down the Keys right on the Overseas Highway, this is a centralized point for traveling up or down island. After all, if you're in the Keys how much time do you want to spend sitting in a hotel room? This place fills up fast for good reason, so be sure to make reservations.

Room Tip: The rooms on the garden side of the property are quieter and more attractive. Again, this is not a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank_siesta, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
WOW... Thanks for a wonderful and honest review... We could not have described our property/philosophy any better.. We are happy they had a wonderful stay and we certainly hope to see them again in the future.

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Hi,

My young family of six needed a motel to stay at for a few days whilst we quickly explored the Florida Key's area. Marathon, being roughly half way down the keys, seemed to fit the bill. As we are on a budget, Siesta Motel seemed ideal.

We booked the 3 bedroom accomodation which is not on site (but is only a few houses away). It's an old permanent trailer with three bedrooms. It sleeps 8 to 10 people and has a kitchen, two bathrooms, two toilets. It was clean but very dated. The kitchen facilites were very old and I didn't feel comfortable really to use it aside from have breakfast there.

The back sliding door didn't lock, instead it used a wooden pole as security to jam the door shut.

Aside from that, we were comfortable enough with it to stay those few nights.

Please note, the Motel is not beach side but is a short drive away to a child friendly Marathon Beach and about a 20 minute drive to Bahia Honda State Beach (which is very nice).

The owner Frank was very personable and helpful with his tips around the area.

PS. Bonus is that it had a washing machine and dryer on site.
PPS. I don't think we had maid service every day (if there was, there was no evidence of the place being cleaned).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Siesta. We booked the smallest double room but were upgraded to the middle-grade efficiency, with 2 double beds and a small kitchenette. The room was bright, clean and cheery. We read all of the reviews and the Owner's responses before booking and were not disappointed. When we indicated we might be arriving late, Frank the Owner called us right away to let us know about arrangements for a late arrival. The Siesta is not a resort, but rather a small 50's style roadside motel. It was right on the US 1 highway, very busy during the day, but traffic was quite calm by the time evening came. We weren't bothered by highway noise, although we were aware of it during the day. We also opened our windows for the fresh sea breezes and it might have been quieter still with the windows closed and AC on, but that is not our style. We were not bothered by the few small planes that landed or took off during the day across the highway. Frank was very helpful about places to eat (great lobster mac & cheese at Key Fisheries, on the dock a short drive away; nice breakfast at the Stuffed Pig, same area.) The Terrazzo floors were in excellent shape and added to the retro ambiance. Although the Siesta sign says "low, low rates," all of the lodging options we saw were a bit high for our budget, but the Siesta was a good choice.

Room Tip: The corner efficiency is worth the small upcharge, but we looked at the smaller doubles and they see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Hi everyone, if you like lose your money dont take reservation in this Motel. Is terrible and they have extra charge in the suppous low rate, so you need be carfully with the person work in this Motel special the Manager Frank. We have reservation in this Motel and after they say LOWLOW RATE later they excuse you need pay more money for nothing. The have trouble in the Rooms and for sure nothing confortable for nice trip and Fun. Again if you like Loseeeeee you Money never take this Siesta Motel in your reservation. This Motel is old facility and again the pict you see dont reflect the true situation. Thanks and i hope Expedia take out this Motel fron the your select location for best results.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marathon Shores hotels

Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at the Siesta Motel in Marathon at Mile Marker 50 for three days, the maids did an awesome job of keeping our room clean. The shower was great. It had very easy access and was quiet. There is a normal sized fridge with ice cube trays, microwave and coffee pot in the room. Management was very helpful and responded to all our needs very quickly. Not a resort so don't expect one but service was excellent.

The only down side to this room was the air conditioner needed some cleaning, and was fairly noisey, and the beds were rather old and broken down but not super uncomfortable. For the price though pretty much what we expected. There is not a pool at the motel but when asked the owner directed us to a couple of cooperative other resorts that allowed us access to their pool.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank_siesta, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
A big thanks for the great review. We love to help our guests enjoy their time the Keys and we are glad we accomplished that with your stay.

We also noticed that air conditioner unit was noisy and it has already been replaced. I apologize we did not notice it sooner. We get compliments on our beds regularly but we do have some new box springs/mattresses on order for next week. We appreciate you letting us know they were not as comfortable as they should be.

Once again thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The rooms are clean, as advertised, but the location is terrible. There was no room to sit, the lighting was bad (not enough to read) and no space for toiletries. If you don't mind being next to a construction project with heavy traffic noise from Rte 1, don't book more than one night at a time and you should be okay. We were forced to book at the last minute and subjected to their harsh cancellation policy when we had to leave two days early.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frank_siesta, Owner at Siesta Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
We appreciate that you found our rooms as clean as advertised but some of the other things are a bit off. Every room has a nice nightstand light for reading in bed and the rooms have several wall sconces as well as the bathroom lighting is very bright. The bathrooms are not huge but there is a large medicine cabinet above every bathroom sink for toiletries etc... Also a nice tile ledge in every shower for shampoos, soaps etc... There are several chairs in every room for seating as well as a beautiful patio in front of every room with deck chairs and tables plus the huge garden area in the back.

There is a small construction site but all the heavy work is done and I really do not see how painting etc.. is that noisy...

Remember we are a small friendly motel with great rates - you could have spent $400 plus a night at the resorts if you needed more space. We also do not "subject" anyone to "harsh" cancellation policies. You knew and accepted our policy and knew you would only get a refund if we were able to rent the room when you left 2 nights early. Especially after we had turned away other customers for that room.

It also would been helpful if you had told us of your concerns - we might have been able to get you another light or chair rather than leave and then leave a misleading review.

We strive to make every guest happy and have gone out of our way numerous times for guests but some people just seem to be unhappy all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Siesta Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Motel

Address: 7425 Overseas Highway, Marathon Shores, Marathon, FL 33050
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon > Marathon Shores
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Siesta Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for having the cleanest rooms in paradise and affordable prices year round.We feature refrigerators, coffee makers, and cable television in every room plus we have several larger rooms with full kitchen facilities. Built on 3 spacious lots we have beautifully landscaped tropical gardens with barbecue grills and deck chairs in the rear of the motel for your use. The Siesta Motel has been a vacation favorite for years throughout the Keys. Known for having the cleanest rooms in paradise and some of the lowest prices year round ? all the top fishing guides keep their clients here. Minutes from Sombrero and Bahia Honda beach, Dolphin Research Center, Crane Point Hammock, Key West and shopping - we are centrally located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Siesta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Marathon Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.