We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the Facade of Luxury” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Eau Palm Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Eau Palm Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Eau Palm Beach Resort and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   100 S. Ocean Blvd., Manalapan, FL 33462 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Palm Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Prepay and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manalapan
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Only the Facade of Luxury”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The "Eau" markets itself, and bills its customers, as a luxury property; however, the reality is far from the illusion. It is a nice property, but mediocre service and poor food make it an overpriced waste of travel dollars. It was a Ritz a few years ago when I stayed there; it seems clear why it no longer carries that title.

I arrived around 5:30pm to check in and was offered a glass of champagne. However, I didn't want a glass of champagne. My idea of good service would have been a hotel room. Even though check in time is 4 pm, there was long line of people milling about waiting for their rooms, and I was told there was a waiting list of over 30 people waiting for rooms. The facade of luxury: a glass of champagne, but go wait for your room.

They do not, however, extend any courtesy to their guests on the other end of the spectrum. The day I was to check out, I stepped out of my room less than 5 minutes after the official checkout time, and I couldn't get back in. They had deactivated my key card at exactly checkout time. Talk about a double standard. The facade of luxury...

I was there for a business conference, so my food expectations were not overly high, but the food was plain awful. For the buffet dinner the first evening, the courtyard setting was lovely, but the piece of steak that I was served was absolutely inedible. I've had better at a 24 hour highway diner. The side dish was bbq baked beans, obviously from a can. Baked beans in Palm Beach, really?

The next night there was what appeared at first to be a lovely cold seafood bar. If you were one of the first 25 or so people through the line, you got stone crab claws. After that, they didn't bother to restock. The oysters looked like they'd been shucked hours ago and left in the sun, dried out. I love raw oysters, but I also appreciate my health. Fried chicken and collard greens for dinner? Luxury? Might have been ok, but the greens hadn't been washed and were so gritty that they crunched with dirt with each bite.

Bad service was especially evident when it came to getting one's car. Guests are required to valet park at a healthy fee. I was told to call down when I wanted my, and did 15 minutes in advance each time. Even with 15 minutes notice, one could expect to wait for another 15-20 minutes or more for the car to arrive. "Valet luxury?" This is not service, it's major inconvenience.

I would caution anyone from staying at the Eau unless you are there because you have to attend a business conference. If so, research the restaurants in the area. You'll have a much better meal and far better service at the local ethnic restaurants in strip malls. Do not waste your own money on this place.

Room Tip: Beach and pool front rooms have lovely views. The north side overlooks a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    54
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
86
104
3
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

traveled all day from LA, arriving at 9:30pm. Had called in morning to confirm room and were promised ocean front king. At check in, sent to side street view double bedded room, but it was renovated! Went to reception, where attendant could not have cared less, told of morning confirmation, no dice. Moved us to ocean front but still 2 beds. Not renovated, but old Ritz decor more restful! Reception very rude and uncaring. Hotel not full, could have done better but didn't feel like it. This is our first day, haven't had any of the food yet. Very pricey. Beautiful setting though. Here for conference or would stay closer to civilization. Hope to update this with better news as stay progresses. I have stayed at hotels all over the world and never encountered such attitude at check in. This hotel has a ways to go to keep the 5 diamond rating.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went on a company trip. So hotel was pretty full with all people I work with. They did not have enough staff. Actually I felt bad for the staff. They worked so hard and still smiled. But it was not fare for them. It was tough to keep up with amount of people. Out room was not good and all and we were not the only one. The decoration was just horrible and they were supposed to be the renovated rooms. Our ac did not work well at all. Apparently we were not the only one with this issue. Also not all the outlets worked in our room and some of the electric did not work... this was that same of other rooms as well. And there were some outlets that had no covers...just wires handing. One of the room has their big screen tv just sitting on their dresser leaning against the wall. Room service was very good and so was room service food. The beach was terrible. Probably the worse I have even too. Really no beach at all until the tide when out. But whether the tide was out of not there were VERY BIG man made concrete blocks in the water. You can cut your feet and legs which some did. You could not dive in or body surf due to these blocks. Very dangerous. The pools were pretty and the property was clean, but they still have a lot of work to do.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle P, Manager at Eau Palm Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear ClaudBG123,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. The feedback from your event planner and other guests has been phenomenal, so I am interested to hear a bit more about the opportunities you and the other guests you mentioned in your review experienced. I looked at all housekeeping and engineering reports from your stay and did not see any complaints about broken AC's, wires hanging from outlets, lack of light bulbs, etc. All of these incidences could have been very easily solved had they been reported since we had full staff here to accommodate your large group.

In reference to our beach, along the Florida coast, many of us experienced The King Tide that was in effect last weekend. This happens one time a year, when a number of natural phenomena happen at once, like the harvest moon and high tide. It is the one time a year when the tides are highest in the state of Florida. In fact, last weekend the tides were so high that some of the streets from Ft. Lauderdale south to Miami were flooded.

I also wanted to address your concern about the old A1A and the rocks in the ocean. Removing these from our beach is unfortunately not an option as they have become a large reef and home that protects the native marine habitat. Depending on the tides, the strength of the surf, etc. you either notice them or don’t notice them at all– and since during your stay there was the King Tide they effected you, however, I trust you were able to find comfort with the 2 oceanfront pools we have on property.

If you would like to discuss your room opportunities further, I welcome you to contact our Rooms Executive at 561-540-4815.

Sincerely,
Management Team
Eau Palm Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thought the hotel was beautiful, but the beach was pretty much non-existent. Loved the pool, the cabanas are very small. Good for a quick get away and 28.00 to park.What is this charging me to park to stay in the hotel. I think that is nonsense

Room Tip: Pool or Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have never written a negative review but I feel compelled after the experience my parents had recently. The hotel was recommended to us. My brother and I booked a night at the hotel for my parents for their anniversary. I spoke with several people in reservations and they assured me my parents would be well taken care of. Beautiful room -check; champagne and fruit on arrival - check - That's where it ended. My parents decided not to have dinner or breakfast in the 'restaurant' - They said it was more like a cafeteria. And in the morning - THE BILL WAS LEFT UNDER THEIR DOOR!!! All charges were charged to my credit card but my parents needed to 'check out' at the front desk and explain that they were not responsible for the charges. Simply inexcusable. You would think a 5-star hotel would have better communication with their employees. Bottom line - I'm sure there are equally nice hotels in this area. I would give one of them my money next time.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed at EAU hotel earlier this year, hotel was full so they gave us an upgrade to an ocean view suite.....WOW ! everthing about this hotel is quality.
even without the upgrade everything marvellous, the pool is overlooking the beach. there are several restaurants and the staff are extremely pleasant ,there are a number of independently owned restaurants nearby

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not the Ritz Carlton, there is a decline with Eau.Grounds are still beautiful, food/restaurants are mediocre at best (except breakfast), rooms are old fashioned, bars close way too early in high season, location is easy but middle of nowhere. This facility used to be amazing for meetings-no longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eau Palm Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eau Palm Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 100 S. Ocean Blvd., Manalapan, FL 33462 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Palm Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Manalapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manalapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eau Palm Beach Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eau Palm Beach Resort & Spa is situated on seven acres of private oceanfront beach. With our lush tropical gardens, and breath taking ocean views, guests are immediately welcomed with the warm Florida sunshine and the turquoise waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The Resort radiates the new Palm Beach lifestyle.Spacious guestrooms offer oversized private balconies with full ocean, pool or garden views. All suites have a seperate bedroom, living room and two bathrooms. Club level offers exclusive access to extra indulgences including a private lounge with scrumptious delicacies changed six times daily, plus a full bar.Our award-winning and world class “Eau Spa” is 42,000sq. feet of pure indulgence. Luxurious spa villas, exotic pampering treatments, and a Mixoligist’s Bar to create, stir and wisk into your very own magic potion. The extensive fitness center includes a dedicated spinning studio , Pilates classroom and a Yoga Studio along with the most up to date cardiovascular and strength equipment. Our Certified Exercise Guru’s are available for personal training.Resort amenities include: Four distinct restaurants and lounges, two refreshing pools, Har-tru clay tennis courts, Aquatic sports desk and oceanfront cabanas. For our younger guests, we offer AquaNot, Kids Camp or Coast, Tweens Club, both an adventure of social, and sporting activities. The hotel also offers business lounge, complimentary wifi throughout, and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Eau Palm Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Palm Beach Hotel Manalapan
Ritz Carlton Manalapan
Ritz Manalapan
Ritz Carlton Palm Beach
Ritz Carlton Florida
Manalapan Ritz-Carlton
Eau Palm Beach Resort And Spa Florida/Manalapan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eau Palm Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.