We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, quiet, happy place to visit with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thurston House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Thurston House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Thurston House Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   851 Lake Avenue, North Orlando, Maitland, FL 32751   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Maitland B&B and Inns
Golden, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Relaxing, quiet, happy place to visit with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We met friends here for a wonderful visit--charming decor, delicious breakfasts and afternoon snacks, and enticing rocking chairs on the big porch overlooking the water! Carole and Joe made us all welcome and helped us find great restaurants (Try Antonio's where we went twice!) and local sights including the marvelous Tiffany museum in Winter Park and the beautiful camellia and rose gardens nearby. We recommend this as one of the best B&Bs we have ever visited!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

One of the best bed and breakfasts have ever stayed in. Carol the innkeeper aims to please. Her breakfasts are great. The rooms are just beautiful. Quiet. All kinds of little things that make you feel special. Location also good. Highly recommend

Room Tip: There are only 3 and all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Spent 2 wonderful nights here. Carole has thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are large, immaculate, and beautifully decorated. The beds/linens are very comfortable, and extra towels, chocolates, candles, fridge access with water bottles, contribute to a great experience. The breakfasts are amazing: expertly prepared food, a lovely dining room, a beautifully set table. They are a perfect way to start your day. The location is convenient, with many restaurants, Charles Hosmer Morse Museum (Tiffany Glass), and Harry Leu Gardens(Camellias and Roses) nearby, and 25 minutes to Universal Studios. Our only regret was that we didn't have time to lounge on the rope hammock on the second floor porch, maybe next time...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMPA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Thurston House Bed and Breakfast.
It was a great time of peace and R & R for us. Carole and Joe are wonderful hosts and you become part of the family or you can do your own thing. The setting of the lake, porch chats and especially the delicious breakfast that Carole serves makes you want to go back for another stay.
It is hard to pick another B & B when this one is first class. Thanks again Carole and Joe!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the Thurston House are beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

There is a good reason that Orlando had to grow southward when Disney became the 800 million pound gorilla of the region: because Winter Park and Maitland abut it on the north side. They are snug and decidedly non-Disney-fied. That is, they represent Old Florida in many ways-- the best ways. Their zoning rules are so tight that very few lodging establishments have been able to get traction in their areas, that is, in the areas that really count. I have felt for years that the Thurston House B&B represented the pinnacle of the select few good lodging choices in Winter Park and Maitland. I tried for multiple years in a row to get a room there, but as they only have 3 rooms, any event worth traveling to the Orlando area found them booked up months in advance.

I must have tripped into a cancellation when making plans to go to the Winter Park Sidewalk Arts festival this March-- we were able to get a room! Couldn't wait. The wait was worth it. The gracious hosts, the Ballards, are originally from Massachusetts, and the appurtenances of their Maitland establishment are classics of New England's historic homestead culture.

The home is hidden away on a small lake, next to a woods, just the way a "suburban getaway" ought to be. Large screened-in porches with comfortable chairs; charming gardens; a hidden second-story porch with a hammock; stained glass, art and furniture that can steal your attention when you are not expecting it-- the list just goes on and on. I can best describe the lodging room as one that pampers you-- comfort and elegance, with all the little extras.

Carole's breakfasts were different each day, and every day brought another surprising dish that was as good as it was unique. We could not have felt more welcome, comfortable and at-home than this. I grew up in the area, so knew what dining and sightseeing attractions (non-Disney!) we wanted, but Carole was at the ready with good suggestions and helpful comments on our choices.

Such quality doesn't come cheap, but for this special trip we felt that the rate was within reason, especially considering that the few other select choices had some not easily dismiss-able disadvantages. We would go back there at the drop of a hat, a feather, a hint-- what have you!

Room Tip: All three rooms are excellent, on second floor (no elevator), differing mainly in size and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We came to Thurston House near the end of our vacation in Florida. We couldn't have found a better place to spend our last two nights before heading to Sanford (just 1/2 hour away) to take the Amtrak Auto Train back up North. We were greeted personally by our hostess Carole. We enjoyed wine & cheese with Carole & Joe before heading out to dinner to a wonderful little Italian Restaurant recommended by our hosts. Coming from the Northeast we were suprised to find an excellent Italian Rest. in Florida. The next day we went to the nearby "Audubon Bird of Prey" sanctuary. The peacefulness of the expansive screened-in porches was like a warm cocoon enveloping you in it's warmth. At night I heard the owls as I relaxed on the porch. Individual tables in the Dining Room allowed you either privacy or social chatter with other guests. Breakfasts were delicious and you definitely didn't leave hungry. Thank you Carole and Joe for a beautiful, peaceful end to a less than relaxing vacation !!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully appointed and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Maitland House is very close to Winter Park and Orlando. It is tucked-away, off the road and has a beautiful lake view, large porch with comfy chairs, magnificent bkfst. The O"Heir Room is elegant, comfy bed, desk, two chairs, internet access. Private bathroom with tub/shower.

Innkeepers Carole and Joe are more than friendly and accomodating. The bkfst is scrumptious, lots of snacks, drinks, cheese/wine in the p.m. Why stay at a hotel?

I will come back here again?

Room Tip: Check the website, I stayed in the O'Heir Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thurston House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurston House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 851 Lake Avenue, North Orlando, Maitland, FL 32751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Maitland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maitland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thurston House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurston House is central to everything, making us perfect for both business and pleasure travel. We are in the heart of Maitland, and 5 minutes to Winter Park, 10 minutes to downtown Orlando, 30 minutes to the attractions and one hour to beaches. Our three queen-sized guest rooms offer all modern amenitites. Our 8 acre lakefront setting provides our guests with quiet accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Thurston House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thurston House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.