We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pasta” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Francescos Ristorante and Pizzeria

Francescos Ristorante and Pizzeria
400 South Orlando Avenue, Suite 104, Maitland, FL
407-960-5533
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Francescos Ristorante and Pizzeria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 49 Restaurants in Maitland
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: In the authentic Italian tradition, we select our simple, whole ingredients and combine them by hand with heart, using the time-honored method of open flame cooking. We utilize the intense heat of our wood burning ovens to lend unique flavor to our food. From our hand-made mozzarella to our artisanal pizzas, pastas and salads, we have a passion for quality and pride in our product that we know you'll appreciate. We only use sustainable, fresh, local ingredients.
Maitland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Pasta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The pastas are very good. The pizza is not very good and the paninis are strange. The paninis are like calzone dough that they put the ingredients into and bake. It doesn't work. The service is really spotty.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    7
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Taken here for dinner by friends before heading to see War Horse in Orlando. As mentioned by another reviewer, the first impression was the concrete floor, but I never judge a restaurant by its appearance. Good thing too. I ordered the nightly special; salmon served with shrimp, linguini and a fabulous sauce. Prepared perfectly, tasted great. I split a side salad with my wife as suggested by the waiter. My wife chose the gnocchi with alfredo sauce, also an excellent dish. They had a great Italian house wine list by the glass which is unusual. I chose the Barbara d'Asti. Service was great, but we were informed by our friends that the chef will serve each dish when it is ready so we got our dinners at separate times, but that wasn't a problem. I'll definitely return when visiting the Orlando area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Skip it...I will!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Guess we need to start with the fact that this place has cement floors. So, you say! Well that means that the conversations are so loud you can't even think much less talk with other guests. Waiters were very, very slow. Prices were a little too high and I am still waiting for a refill of my tea. Trust me there are far better restaurants in the Orlando area than this one. Pass it by. The only reason this place gets a one is because there is no zero rating.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Entertainment, Great Chef/Owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband surprised me with a new restaurant, Francesco's. We had reservations for Valentine's Day. We expected the time would not be exact, but we were constantly kept up to date about seating and were given a complimentary glass of wine while waiting. The food was excellent. Both of us had a pasta dish. The salad was extra, and I would not advise getting one or share it, as it was enough for two. I ended up taking half of it home. We both took home half the entrée too, as the serving size is very big. We were entertained there with three Italian musicians, who were very, very good. They appear at various dates, so you would have to call to find out when. The owner/chef came over to our table to talk to us and find out how we liked the food. It was such a wonderful experience that we will return!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good food and selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have been here twice. The food is consistently good and the service is consistently slow. It is not the waitstaff, it is the time it takes to deliver the food. If you are not in a hurry, then the wait is no problem. Although the outdoor seating is a nice idea, sitting in the Walgreen's parking lot is not. Sitting inside is very noisy and hard to have a conversation once it starts getting full. Some tables are close and on top of each other. So, go early, sit inside, don't get seated where the tables are close, and wait for some good Italian food. The food is worth it in the end.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francescos Ristorante and Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Francescos Ristorante and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francescos Ristorante and Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.