We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, the fish and shrimp perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Dave's

Dockside Dave's
14701 Gulf Blvd., Madeira Beach, FL 33708
727-392-9399
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 61 Restaurants in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Voted Best Grouper in the South...Southern Living Magazine, DuPont Registry, Best Grouper Sandwich!Now open for Breakfast: Saturdays 7:30am-10:30am • Sundays 8:am-11am
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“Excellent, the fish and shrimp perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just excellent food, i ask for the plate with grilled fish and shrimp, with french fries and salad, everything so good,

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
docksidedave, Owner at Dockside Dave's, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
So glad you enjoyed it! We are excited to be ready for another great season with new specials, the tried and true award winning favorites, and your same super friendly staff. We can't wait to see all of our seasonal friends and family coming down to enjoy the warm Florida sunshine and making more fond memories with us here are Dockside Dave's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    192
    48
    41
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Still the best grouper in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Have been coming here for years on our winter visits to the area. We are never disappointed. My husband always orders the grouper (see picture) and he raves about it. I always order the shrimp. Have had it deep fried, grilled and country fried. My favorite is the deep fried. Friendly servers. Casual, no frills...just the best food around.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
docksidedave, Owner at Dockside Dave's, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Happy, thanks for your post. We are glad that our food and humble staff here at Dockside Dave's was soooo great! We have some locals that eat here almost everyday. They get upset when we are closed on a few holidays each and always show up early the next day after a holiday staring for more Dockside Dave's great eats, fair prices and outstanding staff. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The night we ate there they had King Crab legs. They came with drawn butter, waffle fries and Cole slaw. My husband had lemon pepper sea scallops and chose fresh vegetables and Cole slaw as his sides. Both of our meals were outstanding. Another night we ordered take out appetizers. Fried mushrooms, poppers, and chicken fingers. All were excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
docksidedave, Owner at Dockside Dave's, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear bug and musles, sounds like you visited us a few times and really enjoyed it. Thanks for your review. Say "hello" to our friendly staff next time you come in. We are all about great friends and food here at Dockside Dave's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grouper and fried oysters, tomatoes were yummy, and a glass of wine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We ate here tonight Jan 24, 2014. Grouper sandwich and fried oysters, sliced tomatoes, house-made key lime pie...move over Publix. Service friendly and casual. So glad we went there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
docksidedave, Owner at Dockside Dave's, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. Here at Dockside Dave's we sure are not as fancy as most folks but if you want the best food and the friendliest staff, come on over and find a new favorite. We are now taste testing new snapper and mussel dishes to add to out already great line up of the freshest seafood you can find anywhere. We have to perfect it before it ever is served to our best friends the customers who truly make our place the best place to have an unforgetable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A "Must go to Place"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Been coming to this beach area for vacation for several years. A local friend said this was a place we had to go to and she was right! I was surprised that the Hotel I stayed at in North Redington discouraged it, but we came here anyway and had no regrets. I tried a Grouper Reuben sandwich which was not only unique but absolutely fabulous!
I knew the onion rings were the size of tractor tires, so my party of 3 split 1/2 order for an appetizer and it was perfect.
Nuttin fancy for you snooty folks, but by golly, some darn good eatin with great service and great prices!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
docksidedave, Owner at Dockside Dave's, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your experience. I have never heard our onion rings referred to as big tires but it is accurate. I always love to see the reaction of new customers when we serve those famous Dockside Dave golden delights! A great start to any meal whether our limited time 1lb king crab legs at an unbelievable low price of 19.95 and a second lb for 10 bucks more or the best burger or grouper sandwich that anyone will ever taste. Come on in and visit our humble hideaway and bring your friends. Thanks from all us at Dockside Dave's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Dave's also viewed

 
Madeira Beach, FL
 

Been to Dockside Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.