We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Bay Resort to your Saves list
Madeira Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   13235 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bay city, mi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

Stayed in room 410 for a week in April with wife and 3 kids 7 and under. Condo was clean and was appropriately outfitted.

Beds were like rocks. The pullout mattress had no sheets and we had to call three times throughout the course of our 2nd day to finally get some. I finally had to put the mattress on the floor and sleep on it like that because it was so uncomfortable on the frame. No clean towels although washer and dryer in the unit. The furnishings were dated. Nothing terrible but overall we were disappointed w/ the area and the condo.

We had stayed in Sand Key our previous times to the area and were disappointed w/ how commercial and busy Madeira Beach was in comparison.

The pool is small but very warm and was fine for the kids, although it is right on the road and there was major construction right next to it as well so the atmosphere was less than relaxing.

The beach was across the busy road but was very nice.

The balcony overlooked a lagoon w/ boats anchored and was nice although very small.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    38
    17
    12
    21
See reviews for
105
68
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We had a great stay, very clean and the rooms we stayed in (302 & 402) were decorated sooo nicely that we felt like we were at home,our familys will be back again!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

We rented unit 312 from the owner on line for the month of Feb. 2009. We were promised a great view of the harbor and marina from the balcony-upon arriving we found our view was a fish shack- no water in sight!! Also,daily light maid service was to be included at N.C. Manager informed us we would have to pay $25.00 for each maid service!! We had to buy all cleaning supplies-unit was very dark and gloomy-had a terrible vacation! Staff was not at all helpful, and owner did not even apologize for the dishonest advertising. Horrible!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at Madeira Bay Resort more than 4 times and each time it has been a wonderful stay in a fresh and clean resort! We always stay here when we visit our family who live in Largo. There just isn't any other place I would stay when in the Madeira Beach area!! All of the other hotels/condos here are old, out dated, have low ceilings and musty smells. I went to several while staying at Madeira Bay Resort and it confirmed what I already knew, I picked the best around. The staff has always been friendly and helpful and the grounds well maintained.

Did I mention we walk everywhere?! It is so nice to walk instead of driving all over the place, John's pass is very nice to visit and the beach is just across the street. Also the grocery store is a short 5 minute drive which is unusual for a beach condo or hotel around there. We stayed in 2 beautifully decorated units and now make sure to request them each time we come to visit. Units 402 and 302 both have a nice gulf view and are the best ones in our opinions. I hope this helps any one traveling to the area. ps - The last reviewer of this place sounds like he was just having a bad week. I've never had this experience (ever) at MBR.

  • Liked — Clean and new, up to date decor, close to everything
  • Disliked — They need to add in a gym but I just ran on the beach every morning instead
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

For the second year in a row, we stayed at the Madiera Bay Resort for the 4th of July weekend. Last year, I would have given it 4-5 stars , but this year it earns only two. The biggest complaint is that we were not given the room that we booked; I had gone thru the owner of this specific condo who's property we had booked previously at MBR. It was very nice and had an ocean view, so we asked for it again (the owner called the hotel and then I followed up with my credit card reservation). However, the check-in desk had put someone else in that property and we we're given the only one still vacant that day. It had a view of a neighborhood and a little of the bay...we were so looking forward to the ocean view. In the room itself, half the shower door was missing, the decor was minimal and the beds were hard. The first two nights there were very loud revelers above us going to all hours of the night. And parking was ridiculous. One night the hotel authorized me to park in a handicap space. While it is nice that they have a covered deck, it rarely had available spaces...the property has a lot of illegal parkers and also many who double park their vehicles-
-there needs to be some enforcement of the rules. There was only one desk person who seemed way overworked and not very concerned about our disappointment and frustration.

It's called a resort, but it has few amenities. The only thing added from '07 to '08 was a some spa deal. No gym...no gameroom....no nothing. Outside is a tiny pool right beside the busy road. They said a on-site restaurant is coming soon.

It is a great location at John's Pass...an easy walk to the John's Pass boardwalk and the Gulf across the street with fairly easy access. A solid property overall. I really liked the room from '07 and I may stay again, but will have the owner double and triple-check that the reservation folks have us booked for the right room.

  • Liked — Convenience, newness, large fully equipped rooms
  • Disliked — Noise, parking, lack of customer service, reservation accuracy
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Madeira Bay Resort. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo and everything was perfect. The condo was new, clean and provided all we needed for a perfect beach holiday.
It is a very short walk to John's Pass, across the street from the beach and very close to the trolley stop that you can take to go to Treasure Island, Clearwater Beach, etc. We purchased a day pass for $3.50 and used the trolley to bar hop along the beach one day.
There is a small pool area with a hot tub but we preferred the beach.

  • Liked — new facility, seperate bathroom and bedroom areas, kitchen facilities
  • Disliked — sometimes loud traffic noise
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystal river, fl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

We just returned from booking unit 206 thru VRBO for only $80 per night. What a bargain considering the pricing for similar places along the beaches was twice as much or more. The condo was roomy, modern, nicely furnished and decorated, granite countertops and stainless steel appliances plus washer and dryer. Nice living area and dinette with a lovely balcony and view of the inlet with beautiful boats. The master BR was roomy with a view, the bathroom was huge and there was a little den with twin beds. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Ed. Everybody staying there was very friendly. The pool was a little small but not overdrowded and afforded a great view of the boats and inlet. The beach is just a few steps across the street, very clean and uncrowded. Great sunsets! Very short walk to John's Pass with its great variety of shops and restaurants, parasailing, jet ski and boat rentals. You can easily kill a day there! The only time we used our car was to cross the bridge to Gator's for dinner and live music. The evening view of John's Pass from Gator was lovely. The food was average but the server was entertaining and made up for it! The band was great and even got us out on the dance floor. All in all, I don't think there is a better deal to be found on this beach and I've been there many times. I've already booked for a few days in August and will return to Madeira Bay Resort each time we visit the area again.

  • Liked — Modern, roomy, clean, great location
  • Disliked — No complaints unless you are really hard to please
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Bay Resort

Address: 13235 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madeira Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern resort directly across the street from the Gulf of Mexico and 2 blocks north of John's Pass Village & Boardwalk. All 1 and 2 bedroom units have complete kitchens, washers & dryers in the unit and picturesque views of the intra-coastal waterway, Marina or the Gulf of Mexico. Free WiFi is available throughout the resort. The 6th floor "Sunset Room" is equipped with a weight machine and elliptical. A heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi are adjacent to the full service marina and restaurant. Oceans West Day Spa located within the resort provides hair, nail & skin care as well as massage. A 2,000 square foot function space is available for rent for private parties, family reunions, wedding receptions and corporate meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Madeira Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Bay Hotel Madeira Beach
Madeira Bay Beach
Madeira Bay Resort Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.