We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rates and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Isles Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Isles Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Isles Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14711 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great rates and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A nice clean friendly MOTEL directly across the street from Madera Beach public access walkway. Whenever you can find a room that is over 330 sq feet (they refer to it as a studio) for under $100 per day on the weekend, including all taxes etc, that is a deal! They are not on the beach, but a street width away. The complex is small but they pack a lot into it. Pool, patios, tiki huts, grills, parking, and they supply beach chairs, umbrellas, etc, for you to use. The staff are great and went out of their way to welcome us in every way.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR, Owner at Holiday Isles Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of Holiday Isles Resort. We appreciate your feedback and use it to help us improve our services. It pleases us greatly to receive a nice review from someone who is a seasoned reviewer and traveler, such as yourself! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Thank you Holiday Isles for being old time Florida. saw the other review we stayed same time 4th of July weekend can not complain about a thing. We will be back The staff were very attentive Always on the go , cleaning outside and so forth

Room Tip: we like upstairs balcony with bigger table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bwinds2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR, Owner at Holiday Isles Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of Holiday Isles Resort. We appreciate your feedback and use it to help us improve our services. The Fourth of July is always a busy time at our place, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay! As you know, it is not easy to please everyone, but great guests like you make the staff feel good about all of their hard work to make our place special. We look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Isles Resort for the first time (4 nights/5 days) from Thurs. July 3, 2014 to Mon. July 7th 2014 with our family as well as my sister and her family and friends and their family. Overall it was "OK" but not somewhere that we would probably go back to again.
It was a busy weekend due to the holiday so I can deal with the front check-in guy being a little on edge. He was as pleasant as he could be but didn't hide the fact he was stressed and ready for his day off. Asked him about an additional parking pass for a visitor coming Saturday and his response was "Come back and ask the question on Saturday, I'll be off that day and they (whoever was working) will be able to help you"....mmmmk.

My sisters room had to have the refrigerator replaced because it wasn't working, they were very quick to replace it.

My friends room had to have their television replaced because it was malfunctioning and ticking all night, this was also replaced promptly by a very pleasant maintenance man.

The best way to give a good review in this situation is to do a basic Pro vs Con.

(PARKING):

Pro - the parking was in the back of the hotel and we were able to get a spot the entire time.

Con - the parking lot is not easily accessible without circling the block and you're not really guaranteed a spot. Was told the motel was considering suggesting parking at Winn Dixie down the road but that wasn't confirmed.

(ROOM):

Pro - Spacious rooms with two queen size beds and a pull out couch made it very comfy and easy to relax. Non-Smoking rooms. Free WIFI

Con - Beds were a little stiff and not so comfortable, but that's more of a preference for each guest

(KITCHEN):

Pro - Microwave, toaster, small stove and refrigerator (which needs to be turned up when you get to the room to make the fridge and freezer cool), coffee pot, some dishes/pan/pot and silverware - very handy for cooking in the room and not having to spend money eating out the whole time. Sink strainer provided along with towel/wash cloth and diluted dish soap.

Con - Garbage can in the kitchen is the size of a small bathroom can and fills up very quickly. There were only 2 bags provided which were used up by day 2. In a room that sleeps 6 people - a bigger can would be ideal. Also, the water temperature in the sink never went past "warmish" no matter how long you ran the sink. Not one to wash dishes in anything but hot water so this made it a little frustrating.

(BATHROOM):

Pro - Simple small bathroom with the basics (tub,shower,sink, toilet)

Con - The water temperature. There is a sign that states the hot water takes a little while to get there because it comes from the back of the hotel, this isn't so bad except when the hot water comes on, there is no way to adjust the temperature - it stays hot. This makes it very difficult when attempting to give a 2 year old a bath...as well as when you've been on the beach and got a little sun...that hot water is not very pleasant on the skin.
**Small suggestion - open the window to allow the steam to go out or your towels/clothes/toilet paper will all be damp

(PATIO):

Pro: Overlooks the pool (2nd floor) and there is a patio table with chairs outside of each room which was very convenient. This motel also allows pets so its nice for them to sit outside with you. (We did not have a pet)

Con: The table is directly across from the A/C unit which blows out hot air on you while you sit there.
There are ashtrays provided for smokers at each table (upstairs and downstairs) If you are not a smoker (which none of us are) smelling the cigarettes from the pool area and anyone below you or across from you with the wind going in your direction - makes for a difficult time to sit out and enjoy the view & company, especially if you are an expectant mother such as myself.
It would be nice if there was a "smoking area" provided so that you're not bombarded by the stench in every direction.
Also, beware of pee puddles from fellow guests pets in front of your door

(OUTDOOR):

Pro: Grills are provided which is always nice. Ice machine on the premises for guest convenience.

Con: There is a $1.00 charge for use of the grill, however this also guarantees you a time slot so that you do not have to battle grill-hogs which is actually a pretty good deal for $1.00.
There is also a $0.25 charge for ice.

(LOCATION):

Pro: Across the street from the ocean and there is a Public Access walk not very far. Stores and shops nearby. Restaurant right next door to the motel.

Con: Its a busy street to try and cross with kids. Do not suggest eating at the restaurant right next door to the motel due to a bad experience with food and a sweaty forgetful waitress. The restaurant is not associated with the motel, but this is just to help you avoid the same mistake we made.

(COMPLAINTS):

There is no daily linen/towel change so try and salvage what you use. We were not offered clean towels/wash clothes/bed linens until over halfway through our visit...when my husband asked the staff for a clean set the day before we were "due"... they assumed we meant additional and were going to charge for more towels. We wanted to exchange the dirty ones for clean ones...nothing additional...but really?? The woman that brought the stack of new towels was very unprofessional and had her cellphone attached to her ear when she handed them to me, never looked at me or said a word, just continued her phone conversation. How pleasant.

We complained that there were roaches in the room...one in the silverware drawer and two in the bathroom. I don't care WHAT KIND of roaches they are (german/palmetto/etc)...they are alive and crawling around. We were told they could come spray again but they spray regularly and sprayed before we arrived however the rain brings them in. If the place was regularly sprayed then I would should see dead roaches not live ones if I have to see any at all....and no...I don't need to have the room sprayed again with a 2 year old running around. I'm hoping they didn't get in to our clothes and travel home with us.

The sign for the motel boldly advertises "Ask us about 4pm checkout"....as the website says, there are certain stipulations such as holidays and more than a 2 day stay. We stayed 4 nights and did not leave on a holiday...however we were told our room was already rented to the VA coming in and we would not be able to have the 4pm checkout. Our friends with the same type of room next door however were ok for the late checkout. Why advertise something like that if you're going to rent out the room of the guest who qualifies for late checkout according to your standards?....your sign also lit up VACANCIES.....could these people not check in to another similar vacant room? Either way it seemed borderline deceitful or just maybe a little false in advertising if you ask me. Why not advertise a free breakfast to guests and then deny some of them because the people who are going to check-in may want to eat the breakfast intended for you.

If nothing of what I have said above bothers you, than this is an ideal spot for you.

I'm sure the management is going to respond to this post and come up with reasons, defenses and excuses for my complaints...but honestly...nothing would convince me or change my mind that we would have a better experience if we ever wanted to stay there again, nor would I ever suggest the place to anyone I considered a friend. Good luck!

Room Tip: Unless you bring a pet to this motel, no room is a good room for avoiding whimpering whining barking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brixistick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR, Owner at Holiday Isles Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of Holiday Isles Resort. We appreciate your feedback and use it to help us improve our services. For all you viewers who read these, I hope you will bear with me on this lengthy response, as I will respond point-by-point to this lengthy review.

As you noted, your stay was during the Fourth of July weekend. This is not just A busy weekend in Madeira Beach, it is THE busiest weekend of the year. Part of the reason this is such a busy weekend is that it is usually families who come to the beach, as opposed to singles and couples, and many of the guests think that they can invite friends and family to come spend the day with them at the beach, while using our facilities as well.

It is most hotel's policy that guests of guests are not allowed, and we are no exception. As it was stated in your confirmation when the room was reserved, "No guests of guests will be allowed during your stay." The front desk clerk had not worked during the Fourth of July weekend before, so he was probably a little stressed, but he should have enforced the hotel policy and explained that there would not be a parking pass issued for your visitor, because no visitors were allowed.

As you stated, a refrigerator stopped functioning properly in a room, and a television stopped functioning properly in another room. They were both promptly replaced by our staff, as is our procedure. Unfortunately, appliances do stop operating sometimes, but our staff is always ready to handle such issues immediately.

Our hotel has off-street parking in our own lot behind our building, which is rare for beach property. A lot of the beach hotels do not have enough parking spaces for all of their rooms, and utilize off-site parking, such as across the street, etc. Our parking lot is accessed from the street that runs behind our building, but the lot is next to our building, with parking spaces also located along the back of our building. If you park in the front check-in area when you arrive, you simply drive around the block to our lot to park. There is easy access to the rooms from both ends of the building.

As stated in the confirmation you received when the room was reserved, there was enough parking for all of our guests, but any extra vehicles would be charged a minimal parking fee, and it would be based on availability. If you were asking about parking an additional vehicle, the front desk may have given you information about the closest pay lots for holiday parking.

We are happy you enjoyed the spacious studio, and found it to your liking. As you stated, bed comfort is very different for each guest, and we appreciate your recognition of this fact.

The kitchen does have all full size appliances and basic dishes and pots and pans, like you stated. We are happy that you took advantage of this opportunity to save some money while on vacation by preparing some meals in the room. The trash cans are small, as is the norm at all hotels, in order to make it easier for housekeeping to collect the trash without having to carry large and heavy bags. As you stated, extra bags are in the trash can, but the office dispenses extra bags whenever guests ask, as does any housekeeping personnel.

Concerning the hot water situation, there is a conflict in the report. Too much hot water in the bathtub and not enough hot water from the kitchen faucet - the same water lines feed both of these faucets, as they feed all of the faucets in every room in the building. As you stated, there is signage posted that states the water heaters are at the back of the building, and to please turn on the tub faucet on the hot setting full blast in order to prime the lines. Once the hot water reaches your room, all of the faucets in your room will have hot water. I have had that same issue in every hotel that I have visited, and I have travelled extensively.

The problem with adjusting the water temperature in the tub is a maintenance issue, and it was corrected immediately after viewing your report in this review. As I have stated in previous reviews, if a guest does not report a maintenance issue during their stay, we cannot address it. It is only after we receive a maintenance issue report that we can address the issue and make the necessary repair. It is sometimes through reviews from our guests that we are made aware of maintenance issues, which we address immediately.

All of our rooms are nonsmoking, but we do provide ashtrays outdoors for smokers to use so they will hopefully use them to dispose of their cigarette butts, rather than leaving them on the ground, etc. Florida does not prevent outdoor smoking, so our guests are allowed to smoke outdoors as well.

We are pet friendly, and have found that most guests who bring their pets are very conscientious about cleaning up after their furry friends. Some of our best guests are the ones with paws! We have never had a report of animal waste being found on our patios or decks, but the decks do get wet from people visiting the pool and beach.

Our gas grills and tiki huts are a popular area for our guests. We do charge $1.00 per grill use just to cover the cost of the propane, but we feel this is not excessive. There is a 25 cent charge for the ice machine, but the ice received will fill a small cooler, and the 25 cents does not begin to cover the cost of the ice. It is simply setup with the changer because it was discovered, in the past, that too many locals were coming by to take the ice, and none was left for our guests. This seemed the easiest way to slow down that traffic, without placing the machine in a locked area.

We are directly across the street from the beach, with a public access trail available. Gulf Blvd. can be busy at times, but there is a middle turning lane with a barrier to make crossing easier. Of course, during Fourth of July weekend it was busier than usual. As you stated, we are not affiliated with the restaurant next door, and any issues with them should be addressed with a review of their business.

Our basic rates include linen/towel changes every third day of the stay, as stated on our website. This was also stated on your confirmation, which you received when the room was reserved. Additional towel changes, linen changes, and housekeeping services are available for a minimal fee upon request. The housekeeper that conducted your linen/towel exchange is actually no longer employed with us, for various reasons, and we apologize for her unprofessional behavior.

We do regularly spray for insects, and as our staff informed you, the rain does seem to attract them. The room you occupied was actually sprayed the day before you arrived, so that may be why you actually saw one or two, as they were in the process of dying. Although we routinely spray and practice a rigid insect control regimen, we cannot speak for the surrounding properties, and insects do travel between properties. It is a constant battle, and we apologize for any inconvenience.

The 4 pm checkout is offered to our guests based on availability. We cannot guarantee it to all of our guests, especially when we are at full capacity, but we try to accommodate as many as possible if they would like to utilize the option. This is an option that we offer for no additional fee, and we are the only hotel that offers this bonus, that I am aware of. As you stated, we were able to extend the option to your friend's room, and our staff informed you that you were welcome to stay and use our facilities, our pool, and our parking until 4 pm for no charge if you wished to stay with your friends and use their room as a base. Your party did stay and take advantage of this option. We just needed your actual room to be vacated, not the entire premises.

The vacancy sign is turned on whenever there will be scheduled vacancies sometime during the day. It does not mean rooms are readily available at that particular moment. Before housekeeping left for the day, there would be rooms available. This does not include the rooms already reserved, as these rooms had to be available earlier and housekeeping cleaned those rooms first. The vacancy sign also does not state which room types may be available, and we have several different room types. The studio, which is the room type you occupied, was not available, as they were all reserved for the day.

I hope that I have addressed all of the issues you reported. In closing, I would like to say that I, the owner, respond to every review from our guests. I do not make excuses for any problems, or issues, but I do take this opportunity to state our hotel policies. A lot of the time, a guest complaint stems from the fact that the guest was unaware of hotel amenities included with their rates, or they were unaware of hotel policies, or they did not adhere to hotel policies. I do not consider providing this information to be classified as "making an excuse."

Again, I wish to thank you for your review. We always find our reviews useful in helping us to provide a better product and service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I again had another great time at this gem of a place so much so that I'm ready to head on back ! We've been staying here for a number of years and have not had a bad experience ever. The current managers, Kim and Luke, are a lovely couple who will do most anything to accommodate and make your experience a happy one. It's clean inside and out, conveniently located to just about everything. It has an old Florida Beach charm that you will not find at a larger motel with a recognizable name brand. What more can I add other then to say we LOVE this place !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR, Owner at Holiday Isles Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of Holiday Isles Resort! We appreciate your feedback and use it to help us improve our services. Our staff works hard to provide you with a quality product and a clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay in Madeira Beach. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This will never be a 5 star. But who is going to argue otherwise? However, there are certainly a few things which can be done to put lipstick on the pig. I will start and stop with the beds as it isn't worth my time to write about anything else. They are OLD and UNCOMFORTABLE!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rodmike9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR, Owner at Holiday Isles Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your review of our facility! We use your feedback as a way to improve our services to our guests.

All of our beds have been replaced within the last two years, but we have had some feedback from our guests that the newer beds are somewhat firm. We are currently in the process of upgrading our mattresses with pillow top covers to improve their comfort for our guests, as we wish to provide a pleasant stay for all of our customers!

We hope you visit us again in the future and try out the new upgrades! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is small. People are friendly. Across the street from the Gulf. All the comforts of home. Kitchen is equipped with almost everything you need. The pool is wonderful and calming. This place is animal friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Isobel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR, Owner at Holiday Isles Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your review of our facility! We use your feedback as a way to improve our services to you! We hope you return to beautiful Madeira Beach and stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before, very clean, lots of extras and right across from the beach. The pool is heated and the area around it clean. We had the newly renovated two room suite, highly recommended. We chose to eat out but there is a grill and tables next to the pool. Right between Clearwater and St. Pete. The owners and staff were very knowledgeable of the area and gave us some great ideas.

Room Tip: There were four of us and have stayed in the bungalows and in the hotel rooms. Liked both
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIR, Owner at Holiday Isles Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your review of our facility! We appreciate your feedback and use it as a way to improve our service to you! It was a pleasure to be of service to you and your family, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
1.0 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schooner Hotel
Schooner Hotel
#8 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater / Madeira Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Isis
Hotel Isis
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites Resort
Beach Suites Resort
#5 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Snug Harbor Inn
Snug Harbor Inn
#4 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Isles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Isles Resort

Address: 14711 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Isles Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean Rooms! Pet Friendly! Full Kitchens! Across the street from the beach, Better Rates! New Flat Screen TV's in all rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Isles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Isles Hotel Madeira Beach
Holiday Isles Madeira Beach
Holiday Isles Resort Madeira Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing