We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1950s Motel on the Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surfs Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Surfs Inn to your Saves list
Surfs Inn
14010 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Louisville Ky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“1950s Motel on the Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This property was built in the 1950s when small mom and pop motels were the norm. Since then condos and large hotels have taken over the area. While this motel needs some serious improvements, the price reflects the condition. It has small rooms and few amenities, but its right on the beach.
The staff tried to make our 3 night stay as comfortable as possible.
My only real complaints were the lame internet service and the tired beds.
It may get some much needed improvements in 2013.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    12
    11
    31
See reviews for
36
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Richey, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I booked this room for 10/27/12 for what they called a delux suite with 1 double,1twin and 1 pullout sofa for 3 of us and when we went to check in the clerk tried to put us all in 1 room with just a queen she said all the suites were booked and I told her that I did not order just 1 bed and either I got the 1 I ordered then, I would not stay there.Just for the record this was three o"clock in the afternoon I was so upset we wound up going back to clearwater and got checked in to the Marriot in clearwater and later on that evening the clerk called my home and got my 87 year old mom all worried that I did not show up for my reservation and that she was leaving our key outside I dont know what that woman was on but she was rude and she should not work with the public.I called the next morning again and spoke with the mgr and she still left my paperwork with no explanation telling him that I was there and she took it upon herself to chang my room without asking.He told me he was not charging my credit card for the misunderstanding and he was sorry for any inconvience this caused.But we wound up with a much nicer Hotel with the Marriot and everyone there was awesome and very friendly.As for the Surf's Inn it is a very old hotel and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.In the end we were alot better off.

Room Tip: Beware of the price and also picture's of hotel they can be very decieving
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We didn't enjoy our stay in our room. We were booked for 2 nights, but we decided to stay only one night and finished our stay in a different hotel. Room was in a poor condition, wall paint was bubbling and peeling off the wall, there was a gap between bottom of room door and frame allowing you to see lights from parking lot and letting a lizard in, carpet was taped down to the tile with duct tape, lamp shades were full of dust, room layout was not good, and we did wake up with lots of bug bites. On the positive side, we had a front view to the beach, wifi access, and the front desk were polite. Overall, it looks like there is little attention to the place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I dont care about dating of motel. If u want to get away and have the best access and view of beach and sunsets, come here.quiet. Very pleasant staff. Treat u like family. U can stay here for minimal dollars or complain about it and put in your deposit for million dollar condo. DO NOT LET THIS PROPERTY BE SOLD! One few gem left on beach !!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is an older hotel that does need some serious updates. But the location is great, the staff is great, and the price is right. I have returned several times and got friends to now use this hotel as well.

Room Tip: I love the bottom floor. walk out you r room and into the pool or on the sand of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

sept 2012, it was our 3rd time there. What a great place to stay right on the beach. Its one of those older type motels that your room faces the beach.You walk right out your room and your on the beach, not like those high rise ones. There's rumors of tearing it down for a condo, sure hope they keep it like it is and just remodel alittle. Just had a great time as usual. Thanks Surfs Inn for a great vacation!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

we stayed one night,staff were super nice, rooms were clean and comfortable. free coffee in the morning, the pool was clean and refreshing, and if you wanted to the beach was just a few feet away. they even have picnic tables and grills for you to use, we will certainly return and tell our family and friends about this hotel.

Room Tip: ground floor, you can walk right out your door to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfs Inn

Address: 14010 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Surfs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfs Hotel Madeira Beach
Surfs Inn Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.