We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View cant get any better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surfs Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Surfs Inn to your Saves list
Surfs Inn
14010 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“View cant get any better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I dont care about dating of motel. If u want to get away and have the best access and view of beach and sunsets, come here.quiet. Very pleasant staff. Treat u like family. U can stay here for minimal dollars or complain about it and put in your deposit for million dollar condo. DO NOT LET THIS PROPERTY BE SOLD! One few gem left on beach !!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    12
    11
    31
See reviews for
36
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is an older hotel that does need some serious updates. But the location is great, the staff is great, and the price is right. I have returned several times and got friends to now use this hotel as well.

Room Tip: I love the bottom floor. walk out you r room and into the pool or on the sand of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

sept 2012, it was our 3rd time there. What a great place to stay right on the beach. Its one of those older type motels that your room faces the beach.You walk right out your room and your on the beach, not like those high rise ones. There's rumors of tearing it down for a condo, sure hope they keep it like it is and just remodel alittle. Just had a great time as usual. Thanks Surfs Inn for a great vacation!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

we stayed one night,staff were super nice, rooms were clean and comfortable. free coffee in the morning, the pool was clean and refreshing, and if you wanted to the beach was just a few feet away. they even have picnic tables and grills for you to use, we will certainly return and tell our family and friends about this hotel.

Room Tip: ground floor, you can walk right out your door to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel 15 years ago and it was not that great then. Nothing has been done to upgrade here. Floor is filthy. I kept my shoes on after noticing my feet were black from the carpet. Shower head was about to fall out of the wall, no water pressure, tub filled up with water while taking a shower and took forever to drain out. Outlets were poor. Tried to plug something in and plug kept falling out. One of the beds had a piece of wood attached to the back of the headboard and was then nailed into the wall. Stove was nasty. Outside grill was filthy and could not be used. The pool was not cleaned. It was full of sand in the bottom. The pool area was not swept and cleaned off. Plants and shrubs were basically dead. Definitely overpriced!!! Will never come here again.

Room Tip: check the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Disgusting.
Rooms are filthy .. OLD. Our mattress was rusty brown .. the chairs in the room were black near the head rests (and were white at one point in time) .. no room ammenities.
View was nice, but we only stayed 50 minutes total before checking out.
The manager had no problem refunding my money .. they must get that a lot. This would be expected for a $50 a room night, but not for $110.00. My sister stayed in another room next to the pool. There were people partying in there until 3:30 am (Pool closes as dusk) .. There was NO one on the property to enforce the rules. STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We frequent this motel multiple times a year....and sadly this years visits will be the last to this property we stayed twice in July the 1- 6th,16th-20th. The new management company has not put a nickle into this place (unless life or limbs are in jeopardy) in years and it shows. The rooms are very run down we have stayed in all the rooms in the main building over the years and all of them are in need of some type of repair. Most recently we stayed in rooms 124 and 118 respectivly 124 a/c needs repair seems it works when it wants to rm.118 bath sink runs all the time. Room 129 best on property has a roof leak has not been fixed in over a month. Very disappointed. The oldest member of the staff is absolutly miserable!!!! and it shows in both her demeanor and attitude...if you dont want to serve get out of the service industry!! Prices quoted and charged change upon checking in. Pool during the 16th stay was not cleaned all week yuck. This place has million dollar views with rooms that are all screaming for help. We just booked our next trip down the beach a bit to the Sun Burst Inn at Indian Shores similar prices and very clean the owners showed us around during our recent trip....perhaps a new tradition is born.

Room Tip: Rooms 128 corner room upstairs is best...sister room 129 see above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfs Inn

Address: 14010 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Surfs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfs Hotel Madeira Beach
Surfs Inn Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.