We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a beachy, laid-back kind of place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Schooner Hotel to your Saves list
Schooner Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14500 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's a beachy, laid-back kind of place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We are very fond of The Schooner as it's a beachy-laid-back kind of place. This was our 2nd stay here this year. Our first stay was New Years Eve and we enjoyed watching fireworks up & down the beach. Speaking of the beach, the sand is only about 20 feet from the building. The rooms have been nicely updated & are clean and inviting. The rooms we've stayed in were well equipped with a microwave, mini fridge/freezer, coffee pot and all of the basic utensils you could need (bigger rm had a full sized fridge, stove/oven, toaster, pots & pans). Pet friendly is a plus but you should note that dogs are prohibited on the beach. Ann Marie the room attendant is an ever present warm and friendly face, and an absolute credit to this establishment. Dave's Dockside Grill across the street has the BEST grouper sandwich & fried scallops around. On the down side...they have got to address the wireless internet situation. My BF wasn't EVER able to connect and he needs to have internet access at all times for his work. While I occasionally found a signal it was excruciatingly slow and it kept going in & out (essentially useless). At least 2 other guests mentioned that they were having the same problems. When we asked the front desk about the issue they said something about cement walls, an unacceptable excuse for a place that claims to offer wi-fi. Thanks to the internet issue we had to scramble to find another hotel, which was difficult during peak season.

Room Tip: If you must have reliable wireless internet access DO NOT stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
21
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We where looking for place we could take our pet and this was perfect place. Very easy to access room and dog walk next door . It's small and has a simple beach life style to it . Nothing fancy about the room but it was clean , for the price don't think you can beat it . Only steps to the beach , where we spent all our time anyway . Plan on booking again next year .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I'm not one to usually complain but this place needs a HONEST review.

1. Extremely noisy.....paper thin walls and I mean paper thin as you can hear EVERYTHING.
2. Large stains on the comforter, filthy!
3. Fire Alarm was missing....this is a huge safety issue.
4. Staff not very friendly as we felt like we checked into the trailer park.
5. Bathroom window was missing and when we notified the staff no one really seemed to care. HMM...how sad.
Do yourself a favor and DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Great place and clean. just renovated..people very nice. patio very prety and great view of the gulf ,also try dakari shack acrosss street for oysters and margarita!! awesome The beds were great very clean the micro and fruidge came in handy. very quaint and not so commercially. going back in january.

Room Tip: get one in the back kind of noisy in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We rented room 105 for a night to celebrate a friends birthday and wee had a great time! The room we had was small but was recently renovated and was in great condition for an older beachfront hotel. No mold or mildew, just a fresh clean room. It had a microwave, TV, coffee maker, small fridge and small microwave. Beds were very comfy. The best part is that you are right on the beach. If the beach is not your thing they have a small but nice pool area. The only drawback I could see is that the commons area is located outside of some of the rooms and it can be noisy in the morning. Staff is friendly, and helpful, but they too can be loud in the commons area having a coffee break of cig break. We enjoyed ourselves and will surely be back. Pet Friendly and that is a plus.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room away from the commons area for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here twice, in August and then again at the beginning of Sept. The first room I got had two double beds, and a mini fridge and microwave, on the second floor. The second room was an "efficiency" which also had a stove and full size fridge, and was on the first floor.

As previous reviewers have said, the doors do not seal very well, which causes a couple of problems. The smoke from outside is able to drift into the room s(didn't bother me), and the noise levels are pretty high.

As a dog friendly hotel, there was constant barking during both of my stays, but I didn't really hear it inside the room at night.

During my second stay, there was a huge group there for a party, and they were very loud. They seemed to calm down around 10pm though.

Staying here is also more like staying at a condo than a hotel. They do not have daily cleaning service, but they do provide a basket of towels that you can leave outside your door if you need clean towels.

Everything in the room was new and clean. I am really surprised at the reviewer that said the room they got was dirty. Both times, mine was spotless.

The parking can get tight, but they have an overflow lot across the street.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room on the second floor towards either end of the building will be quiter than the ones on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Loved this "on the gulf" hotel. Only 16 rooms, but all are remodeled and beautiful. Our dog had plenty of room to enjoy too. The pool was clean and open well into the evening. We were in the 2 bedroom apt. on the second floor. Nice! We had our own private patio.... ocean front and over looking the pool . 2 flat screen TV's, full kitchen, living and dining area. Bathroom was small but very modern and clean. Could have used more counter space there for health and beauty items. Rain head shower was great. I will return again. We checked out some other places while in the area, but if you are looking for pet friendly, small, and close to the gulf water, this is it. There is a park right next door for "Fido". King sized bed in master was very comfortable and well dressed. AC worked well.

Room Tip: Talk to reservation clerk for your room needs...all are layed out differently. They want to work wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schooner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Hotel

Address: 14500 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schooner Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Schooner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida
Schooner Madeira Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.