We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable getaway!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Schooner Hotel to your Saves list
Schooner Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14500 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Madeira Beach
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable getaway!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

A well deserved getaway at a quaint motel on the beach. After reading the reviews, I was not sure what to expect upon arrival, but was pleasantly surprised. Right on the beach, this older, newly remodeled hotel was a bargain for the buck. It offered a friendly staff, clean room, a pool, grills, outside tables with umbrellas and direct access to putting your feet in the sand. The room had a small refrigerator, microwave, cold AC and comfortable beds. The bathroom was a bit small, but clean. There were several restaurants within walking distance. We are already planning a return visit with friends.

Room Tip: Next time I would like an end room with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
21
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our room is amazing, a FULL on view of the gulf and a gulf/pool view to the side ! Beautiful room , nice tiled floors and beautiful bedding. The shower has great pressure and is beautifully tiled. Not a 5 star hotel by any means, but at $98 a night, right on the beach - fantastic ! The pool is heated, and its easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Even with Tropical Storm Debby rolling in and constant rain, we love it here ! Would DEFINETLY recommend this place ! Hint: Ask for rom 211 !!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

And it's not just because they have no rooms available. As a previous reviewer said, we didn't get the room we reserved, and then we were asked to move rooms the last night of our stay. That is just unaccommodating!
Plus watch how you pay. Because the unmodeled building had been sold, we were told we couldn't get a refund for that last night because we paid the money to the people who bought that building. Preposterous! Our receipt says "Schooner Hotel".
Someone needs to tell them that in the customer service business once you start arguing with a customer - a guest - on who is right, you've already lost. But Schooner, you've won a lot of negative reviews and negative word of mouth from people who come to the area yearly!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butler,al
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Pet hair on floor and beds.room not cleaned.didnt get the room we reserved

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Yes, the title was meant to get your attention. This little hotel is old, but some rooms are nicely remodeled...IF you don't mind knocking your knees on the wash basin while you sit on the potty. Tiny bathroom was cute, but had hairs in the shower and a few bugs of unknown origin on the floor by the tile grout where it meets the shower. As I sat down on a chair by the bed, I noticed the white sheets peeking out from the bedspread. There was a stain on the sheet and I didn't even pull back the covers to look for more. The beds do seem new and probably are comfortable, but I did not/could not stay for the nights I had booked. Why? I asked for a non-smoking room and got one...needed it because of asthma. The problem is that I had to walk through a gauntlet of cigarette smoke just to get to my room. Just a foot outside my "non-smoking" room were a few guys smoking like a hay stack. GASP! Once in the room we noticed that the door didn't seal well when closed. I was concerned that I'd have smoke wafting into the room all night and couldn't afford a trip to the hospital. After spending 10 minutes in the room and trying to figure out how I could manage there, we decided it wasn't worth it and we'd have to cancel. It was a very busy weekend due to some kind of local "Pirate Invasion" event, so the hotel was able to rent the room out. They refused to give me a refund (or even a partial refund) because I'd booked a few nights rather than just the one night. Apparently they were able to rent out the Friday and Saturday night, but not the Sunday night. Who knows if that's true or not...I have no proof, but that was their excuse not to let me cancel and get a refund for Friday night. Only one lady there seemed sympathetic to my situation...the smoker lady most definitely was not. If you love cigarettes, don't mind a few bugs or stains on sheets, this hotel will work for you as it has great access to the beach. However, we ended up staying in a wonderful, clean, friendly, very nice hotel down the road and we were all glad to be able to walk to the room without choking. I think these people were very hard-nosed and uncaring. A non-smoking room should at least have a area around it that's free from smokers. Why not have a designated smoking area away from these rooms? What is it with Florida anyway...seems like EVERYBODY smokes there...even on the beach! Also, there is only a tiny parking lot and we had to park away from the hotel and walk to it as the spaces were filled.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I booked a non-smoking room for 3 nights for my mother,who is very asthmatic and can't be around cigarette smoke. Upon arrival and check in, we were very sad to see that the property was crowded with smokers who were apparently permited to light up immediately outside their doorways. To access your room, you have to walk through a breeze way outside, and the breeze way was filled with cigarette smoke. Bad, not to mention that the unit right next to our room had 2 men who sat outside lighting up one cigarette after another, and the door was in extremely close proximity to ours.

We had to cancel our stay, since this was problematic for my mom's lungs. The hotel was able to book people in that room for 2 out of 3 of our cancelled nights, so didn't charge us for the nights they filled. They did, however, charge us $98 for the first night, even though we couldn't stay there. They wouldn't refund it and were unsympathetic to our problem. Most places are willing to make special exceptions if you can't stay in their property due to health related issues, but Schooner was very unwilling to budge on their policy.

My brother in law called them and requested to speak to the manager, and the lady who answered the phone refused to pass him along to the manager and refused to give him a phone number to the manager.

This property seriously needs designated smoking areas. It was a big dissapointment, and the customer service ended up being terrible.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My hubby and I have been coming for years and find this hotel to always be clean and comfortable. The location is wonderful: located right on the beach (our favorite) and across the street from restaurants. We park the car and then it generally doesn't move until we leave. Nice common areas outside of rooms to relax in the open air and get to know your neighbors.

There are two pools that are always kept clean

We find ourselves comparing other places and beaches to Schooner and Madeira Beach, and always come back here. We stay here at least five times a year. Sometimes just when we have a weekend clear, we jump in the car and aim for the Schooner.

Room Tip: Efficiencies are just a tad more and are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Schooner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Hotel

Address: 14500 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schooner Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Schooner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida
Schooner Madeira Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schooner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.