We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Boxer Pub and Grille

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Brown Boxer Pub and Grille
gulf blvd, Madeira Beach, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 61 Restaurants in Madeira Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: New restaurant
Treasure Island, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I went to the Brown Boxer last night to watch the Yanks vs Tigers game. The game was postponed due to weather but we stayed there for several hours and had dinner and a few beers. I loved this place when they opened but it was terrible last night. Food was awful and service was worst. We ordered grouper nuggets which I had ordered there several times in the past and they were always very very good. Last night it was 95% batter if any fish at all. We also ordered wings. Because they under cook their wings I always ask for them crispy and they still come out undercooked. Last night I told the server to have them burn them. I really wanted them crispy. They still came out undercooked. Three bar tenders were either talking to each other or hanging out with friends at the other end of the bar. They never ask if we wanted another drink we had to holler across the bar or wave both hands in the air to get their attention every time we wanted something. They have so many nice TV's you can see any game from anywhere. The place was pretty much empty last night so I know I am not the only one that is not pleased with what they are doing there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    13
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must try for anyone !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Just had lunch here and enjoyed the patio breeze and atmosphere. The Cheese Steak Sandwich "was the best I've ever had", my husband said. I had the Grouper Bites that were just lightly breaded and very fresh. Delicious!! We are coming back tonite with our grand kids coming from Tampa to spend weekend with us at Indian Rocks. Live music tonite and football. Don't miss this great place!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I visited on the Friday for lunch. No one was there. The music was good and open air left for a nice breeze. I had a BOGO from the visitor center and the mojitos were excellent. They offer then with Cruzan rum. The fish tacos were on special at lunch fir $5 for two. They were good, can't go wrong for the price but others in town are much better. Jacey was my server and she was very inattentive. The gal who helped me in the t-shirt shop offered much better service. Would not go back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A lot of TVs -- best part of Boxers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Inconsistent food quality and drinks for the 3 times we have been there. Touristy prices and basically boring food. But they have a bunch of TVs and if you want to watch a sporting event this is the place. Wish I could BYOB.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beach food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

It is what it is, a beach restaurant. Descent menu but nothing stands out as great. Good place to go for happy hour and sit out on deck for beers. You are not on the water, more like street light view so there is lots of Florida foliage to camouflage the view. Do have live music. I live here on madeira beach and we did need another place to go besides daiquiri deck.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brown Boxer Pub and Grille also viewed

 
Madeira Beach, FL
 

Been to The Brown Boxer Pub and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Boxer Pub and Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.