We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal on the boardwalk!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boardwalk Grill

The Boardwalk Grill
204 Johns Pass Boardwalk, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
+1 727-391-8947
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hamburgers, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Established in 2007 We are a casual waterfront restaurant located on the boardwalk in Johns Pass Village. We started as a small ice cream and coffee shop in 2007. We slowly expanded over the next few years slowly bringing in more and more food items. Now we are a one stop shop on the boardwalk for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We pride ourselves in the quality of our food and love to hangout on the boardwalk and talk about fishing. Come on out and try our Authentic New England Lobster Roll, our delicious fish tacos and of course our famous Boardwalk fries, you wont be dissapointed.
Indianola, iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal on the boardwalk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had the fish tacos and they were excellent. My hubby had the fresh grouper sandwich. Best he has had in the area. The french fries are homemade potato sticks deep fried. Highly recommend this no-frills great-atmosphere-on-the-boardwalk restaurant! Will visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    83
    24
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Most of the places i go to have some frozen northern whitefish for the fish n chips. This place has fresh caught grouper, perfectly battered and fried. I would recommend this to anyone looking for the best in town. Great people running a great restaurant. As a native Floridian that grew up right here I am always happy to find a terrific restaurant. This is one I will frequent! No wonder it's ranked number one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I fish-- but this is THE best fish sandwich I ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We came here for the grouper sandwich and Trent recommended we try it "slightly blackened" and he didn't steer us wrong! It. Was. Phenomenal! We got it as a meal-- so came with French fries and soda for $3 more. Couldn't even it all the fries! Jesse recommended the deep fried double stuff Oreo for dessert.... Wow--- like a chocolate filled funnel cake! People walked by checking the place out --- and kept walking... They made a huge mistake by judging by the outward looks! These are 3 guys making a living making awesome sandwiches ! We are already planning a trip back before we leave! Do NOT pass up this ace!! It's #1 on TA reviews for a reason!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for Trip Advisor...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

...or we might have never gone here. You can't make a Grouper sandwich any better. The large piece of meat was so tender and perfectly flavored. The buns were fresh and yummy. The whole thing was a treat. We added a side of fries for one of our orders and a side of onion rings for the other. They were both sooo good! And the Screwy sauce was a perfect accent for them. I hope there is enough time left in the week to go back. The guys working the small, casual restaurant were very good and helpful. There were a lot of take out orders being picked up while we ate inside so you know all of the local shop workers did a take out, meaning that they all know how great the food is. Fortunately, this is a Monday in the off season and the place wasn't as busy as others have commented. Don't expect silverware and china; this is a casual picnic shop atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eat Here!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

When in Madeira Beach, I went on Trip Advisor to see what was the number one restaurant and found it was The Boardwalk Grill. I read the reviews and recommendation to have the Lobster Roll, since they are famous for them. UNBELIEVABLY DELICIOUS! I also had a grouper sandwich on another day and again, was made to order and fabulous! Don't let the casual look of the grill turn you away! The food is great and the service matched it! Eat Here!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boardwalk Grill also viewed

Madeira Beach, FL
 

Been to The Boardwalk Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boardwalk Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.