We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't walk by, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boardwalk Grill

The Boardwalk Grill
204 Johns Pass Boardwalk, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
727-391-8947
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Established in 2007We are a casual waterfront restaurant located on the boardwalk in Johns Pass Village. We started as a small ice cream and coffee shop in 2007. We slowly expanded over the next few years and recently partnered with Noah's Ark Boardwalk Fries to greatly expand our menu. Now we are a one stop shop on the boardwalk for breakfast, lunch, dinner and dessert. We pride ourselves in the quality of our food and love to hangout on the boardwalk and talk about fishing. Come on out and try our Authentic New England Lobster Roll, our delicious fish tacos and of course our famous Boardwalk fries, you wont be dissapointed.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't walk by, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Boardwalk Grill is a small restaurant in John's Pass Village that my husband & I checked out after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and are happy we did! We shared the fish n chips and blackened grouper sandwich which was awesome, the fish was really fresh. We were served by Trent, who was super friendly, and the cook was Jessie who we give kudos to for great food. Highly recommend to anyone looking for fresh food and a casual atmosphere with a great view.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    61
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good but not Exceptional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Tried this place for lunch after reading reviews. Able to get one of two outdoor booths which was good. I had the lobster roll and hubby had the grilled grouper sandwich. also ordered fried pickles. fried pickles were horrible and greasy. lobster roll was good and husband said sandwich was good but fries were not even warm. all in all ok but wouldn't go back. too many other places to try.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must visit!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This place was super good!!! The shrimp po' boy, Philly, fries & Oreos were all stellar. It's kind of hidden but it was definitely one of the best places we went during our visit. The staff was also great :) highly recommend

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stopped by for a bite to eat after hearing about the grill from a friend. Had the fish tacos and let me tell you, they were the best I have ever had. They were so good, I brought my wife and some friends back to eat the next day and my wife, who is very picky when it comes to her seafood, thoroughly enjoyed her food. Nice views and great service capped off both my visits. Will be a repeat customer for sure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Food/Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went here for a late lunch on Saturday. It was quite busy but we were able to get one of the two outside tables, which was nice and gave a great view of the water. We started with an order of deep fried pickles -- just because so few places serve them and they are a tasty treat every couple of years! The batter was lightly spiced and they were very flavorful although a bit greasy. I had the lobster roll, which was amazing. 8 ounces of chopped up cold-water lobster (which is firmer and more tasty) in a lightly grilled pretzel roll -- delish! My husband had the fish and chips, which that day was grouper. Loads of fish and the fries were huge freshly cut and fried. Wasn't super cheap but reasonable -- $12.50 for the lobster roll (and that is all it is so order something else if you want a side) and $12.99 for three piece fish and chips. The thing we didn't quite expect was $4.00 each for the Coronas -- they could easily do the Coronas for $2.50 -- wouldn't have ordered them if we knew they were that much and the prices aren't on the menu. Just an FYI.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boardwalk Grill also viewed

Madeira Beach, FL
 

Been to The Boardwalk Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boardwalk Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.