We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for families to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Song Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madeira Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Song Resort
Save
You added Surf Song Resort to your Saves list
12960 Gulf Blvd., Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Madeira Beach
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place for families to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

To start off I will say I am 21 years old, almost 22 and I've been vacationing at Madeira Beach since I was about 12 years old, about once every other year. The location of this resort is absolutely awesome, beach access, laundry area, grilling area, vending machines, free-WiFi, shops across the street, ice cream shops, restaurants, pizza place, hooters, para-sailing, jet skiing, boat rides, cross walks, music, etc. However there are some cons to this area, there isn't an exercise area, the road can get pretty busy during the busy times(rush hour, people getting out of work, main road etc.), pool could be a little bit bigger, there's a bridge that opens up for bigger/taller boats, and not enough private space near the pool if the resort is packed (fully booked).

Room Tip: North-side rooms (300 and 200+ rooms) are the quietest, but furthest from the beach, which is about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Went to visit my folks here as they stay for the month of Feb. They managed to book me a bachelor condo for my 1 week stay. They have a small 1 bed unit which was perfect for them and they returned every winter for 10 years. This property which is very old is very well maintained. Everything is neat and clean and well looked after. The units are privately owned so they all vary. My unit 154 was a very spacious room with everything I needed for my visit. large king bed , comfortable couch, beautiful view of pool area and beyond that the Ocean. I had a fridge microwave toaster and coffee pot. No stove but 3 barbecues just outside my door. There was a cupboard with some dishes cups glasses and a silverware drawer--perfect! The room was spotless clean as was the small bathroom. There was a dehumidifier (small) running which made the unit very comfortable and I emptied the water out when needed. Very nice staff and everything was well looked after from the pool to the lounge areas and the gardens. Beautiful location on the beach and right across the road from John's Pass which is a lovely area filled with shops and restaurants. Walked along the beach and watched the dolphins swimming. Many people who stay here come back every year as it is a great place to get away from the winter. They only negatives would be when some units are not updated by the owners and they increase the fees every year and flights are cheaper on weekdays so they should change check in for people who stay for the month to Mondays! Just a suggestion anyway. All in all I would recommend this place as it is so well looked after and very comfortable on a beautiful stretch of beach. Laura

Room Tip: All rooms are available on line so you can see them before choosing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood Falls, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in unit 343. Carlos the owner was very easy to work with. He went so far as to call our first night there to make sure everything was as expected which it was. He recommended some eating establishments and things to do. His condo is very nice but maybe not ideal for couples with young children as it is two stories with beds on one and living qtrs. on 3rd level. Everything was as pictured and we had everything we needed. You could easily get by without a car with the excellent location. We hope to come back!

Jeff from minnesota

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our stay in room 238 was very enjoyable. We were there from Nov. 30, 2013 thru Dec 28, 2014. The weather was unseasonably warm so that made our stay more enjoyable. We found staff to be very customer oriented. We would stay in room 238 again because we enjoyed the side balcony view. We saw dolphins in the mornings out in front of surf song and enjoyed coffee on the deck before heading to beach. We loved being across from Johns Pass which offers shopping and restaurants. Our whole month there we did not have a bad meal at Johns Pass or when we ventured down gulf blvd to try other restaurants. That truly was one of our best vacations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in room 230. Room was very clean and stocked with everything we needed to make our Thanksgiving dinner. Beds and furniture were very comfortable. Pool/deck area was very clean. Pool was very warm. Resort is located across the street from John's Pass, which is a shopping village with many novelty shops and bars/taverns, which was great. Only complaint is that music from the bars kept us up until 11 or 12. Other than that, great place, great value.

Room Tip: If you are early to bed like us, request a unit without windows facing the street. Music from John...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simcoe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in room 331 last year and it needs total redoing. Carpet in bedroom is so dirty your feet get black walking on it. Far too much money for such an old relic.
The entrance from the outside is through the bedroom so I guess why the rug is so dirty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We've been visiting the Surf Song every year for the past 5 years in late August/early September and we'll continue to do so in the future. Great location on Madeira Beach and all the tourist amenities anyone could ever want are right across the street at John's Pass Village. The beach in front of the resort is beautiful and the swim buoys keep motorboats far enough away for safe swimming for the entire family.

The pool is excellent and the area seems to always be very clean. Larry and his staff at the front office work very hard to keep all guests as happy and comfortable as possible.

Our room was very clean with what looked like a remodeled bathroom and kitchen. The kitchen was well-stocked and we'd be quite comfortable here for a much longer stay.

We love staying at the Surf Song and look forward to returning next year!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Song Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Song Resort

Address: 12960 Gulf Blvd., Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Song Resort is not your typical high rise hotel. Only 40 units, all individually owned. No two units are alike, offering hotel units, studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms. Large beach front heated pool. Directly on Madeira Beach at John's Pass. Managed by SunHost Resorts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf Song Hotel Madeira Beach
Surf Song Madeira Beach
Surf Song Resort Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Song Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.