We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Surf Song” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Song Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madeira Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Song Resort
Save Saved
You added Surf Song Resort to your Saves list
12960 Gulf Blvd., Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 hotels in Madeira Beach
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love The Surf Song”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just returned yesterday from the Surf Song, there is nothing bad i can say about this place this was our second year there and we will be back next year it is so relaxing and peaceful, There are many people that return there every year. We met alot of very nice people there.They have a really nice pool and all the units are very nice. It is right across from John's Pass where there is lots of restaurants, bars and shops.You won't find a place with such reasonable rates as there. Can hardly wait for next year to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have been staying at surf song off and on my whole life (I am 26). We love the small feel of the place where everyone seems to know each other. As a new mom, I love how family friendly the place is too. The pool is very large for being an older hotel and I love that. It is right across the street from John's Pass which is great! It is so easy to pack up the stroller and head over in the evenings to look for dolphins or get some ice cream! We stayed in room 333 and thought it was really nice. It was recently updated and perfect for our little family of 3. My daughter is only 3 months old, so she slept in a pack n play in the living room.

Since it is a little older hotel, I think some updates could be made to make it a little nicer (although the prices would probably go up then :) ). For example, the elevator broke down for a couple hours one day. It's not a big deal, but I saw some families trying to lug all their suitcases down to their car which looked like a pain. Also, one of the dryers was broken with no sign so I felt like I wasted some money and time waiting for it to work. These are just little things that obviously didn't affect my vacation though!

The service is fantastic! When I had some issues with the dryer, one of the cleaning staff helped me out, which was really nice, since I know she was really busy. The staff is busy cleaning the pool every day, along with cleaning the pool area. The office staff is also very friendly and helpful.

Overall we had a wonderful vacation and would definitely return! Hopefully we will come back next year!

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool can be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Agree with another review this is like a motel not a resort was not what we had hoped at all! I know lots of the guests stay year after year but quality of accomadation as we had hoped.

Postives right on the beach and just across the road from restaurants and bars

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Ridge, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We went back to our favorite place in May of 2011. We visit Surf Song at least once a year and sometimes twice. This is a place where you feel at home and part of a big family. We visit with people we know from there and that come back at the same time each year. As usual it was clean and comfortable. We enjoy the area and the shopping and restaurants across the street. We love just sitting around and also walking the beach. It is a great place for two people or a large family. We stayed in 228 and enjoy the location of the unit.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach all rooms are right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We are a family of 5 with one infant and two small children. We stayed in room #230. This is a 2br/2bath on the second floor with a view of the parking lot which was fine for us considering that the property was right on the beach and we got an incredible discount through the rental company's website. This unit was very clean and well kept. The kitchen is modern and the bathrooms look updated. We have everything we needed in this unit. Each room has a small flat screen as well as the living area. The reading books and deck of cards in the drawers are a nice touch......the beds (yes, i did sleep well), the bedspreads, linens, pillows could use some serious updating as well as the kitchen utensils. Other than that it was very nice! The Surf Song property itself is a bit older and the landscape leaves a lot to be desired (old run down parking lot, not belonging to it, in front of the 'resort',) but the people are very friendly, staff are very accommodating and location is ideal. We felt very safe and taken care of there. A guest computer and printer is available in the office for customer use (I needed it to print out a coupon for Little Toots Dolphin cruise). The pool is a nice size and very clean. I wish we didn't bring all their sand toys/beach gear because the property had a communal stash readily available for anyone heading off to the beach right on the patio. We left some of our supplies here to add to the pile. We had a really nice time here and the kids didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed in room 120 right by the pool. The stay was great as always. The only complaint we have is that the mattress on the bed in the master bedroom is very hard and the bed makes a lot of noise every time you turn while trying to sleep. We did not have restful sleep during our week stay. The rest of our vacation was amazing and the staff there is wonderful. We highly recommend this place...it is beautiful and the beach is right by the room, we just had trouble sleeping. Hopefully the owners will make some changes to that bed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed in unit 334 from July 10 - 17. The location is great! Nice stretch of beach with few people on it. John's Pass is right accross the street with plenty of places to eat & shop. The complex has a nice pool, good bbq area, tons of lounge chairs and was well kept. This is not a luxury complex, it is an older, well kept property. I'd say it's about a 3* complex. Our unit was clean & well equipped. Unit 334 is on the 3rd floor and the balcony looks onto the 2nd floor which has air conditioners blocking the view to the beach. For us it wasn't a big deal, but don't expect a great beach view. We still spent a few evenings on the balcony enjoying the ocean breeze! The unit was a one bedroom with a single pull out sofa. We found it a little small for 3 people but we managed ok. Overall, a nice place, nice area and I'd stay here again for the price I paid. Shop around a bit, some of these units are rented directly by the owner and you can get a better deal than going through the property manager!!

Room Tip: Go online and search for a unit rented by owner instead of the property manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Song Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Song Resort

Address: 12960 Gulf Blvd., Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 hotels in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf Song Resort is not your typical high rise hotel. Only 40 units, all individually owned. No two units are alike, offering hotel units, studios, 1 & 2 bedrooms. Large beach front heated pool. Directly on Madeira Beach at John's Pass. Managed by SunHost Resorts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf Song Hotel Madeira Beach
Surf Song Madeira Beach
Surf Song Resort Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Song Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.