We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great pet friendly place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Changing Tides Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madeira Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Changing Tides Cottages
Save Saved
You added Changing Tides Cottages to your Saves list
225 Boca Ciega Drive, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a great pet friendly place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Reminded me of time spent here in Florida as a young boy in the early 60's. We stayed in the Nature Cottage overlooking the Marina, peaceful at the far end of the property and perfect for our dog who usually barks at passerby's. Features; 1 bedroom cottage with full kitchen with all utensils, pots, pans and dishes, full sized fridge, gas stove and oven, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. Best of all well maintained, clean and no old pet smell. Special features, clean gas grills in common area, loads of outdoor seating, fully fenced and gated so pets are safe and they have Kayaks too. A very affordable get away with plenty of shopping, gulf beaches and things to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
40
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
naples, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Even though I am a dog lover I do NOT want to sleep in sheets covered in dog and long human hair, which there were both. Didn't discover until the girls were getting in their beds the first night so didnt want to disturb the owners. Had them shake the sheets out but they were still grossed out. Sheets were washed the next day by Nancy even though she could not understand how it was possible for hair to be on the sheets? Wine glasses were sticky and had hair in them also. There is no soap, shampoo or conditioner provided so better plan on bringing some or going shopping. The outside area is quaint and hanging out by the water was nice. Also the use of Kayaks is a plus and close enought to walk to shopping and beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiteflier, Owner at Changing Tides Cottages, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are very sorry that our guest had to experience hair on their sheets. Certainly anyone would be upset.

Since I, Kathy, the owner, washed and replaced the original sheets, I am at a loss to say what happened. However, it happened and for that I am sorry.

I am also sorry that our guest did not come to the office at 10:30 pm and tell us of their problem. It is one of the many plusses of having onsite owner / management.

We are never disturbed when one of our guests has a problem. Changing Tides is not only our business, it is our home.

We do not supply shampoo or conditioner. Fortunately, we had some available to share with our guests.

We are pleased that our guests enjoyed the setting, the water, kayaks, being close to the beach, and shopping.

We take all of our reviews seriously and thank our guest for writing.

Kathy Behrmann, Owner / Manager
Changing Tides Cottages of Madeira Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights (3 of us) and our dog. We were in the Nature Cottage which is right on the water. The view was the thing I fell in love with. I just threw open the drapes from the bed and was greeted by the intracoastal and beautiful boats - just 10 feet from my bed! Right outside was a wonderfully peaceful patio with rocker chairs and a dining table. This cottage is very private being at the edge of the property. Our dog was very happy. The properties are very quaint and there's a dock for your boat. Parking was not an issue. The beach was maybe 1/2 a mile away. We were there for the deep sea fishing so it was a handy location. Kathy was a great hostess. Everything was very easy, she responded quickly to my email questions. She has an extremely friendly dog. Would we return? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Choose a waterfront cottage. But, there is a nice seating and BBQ area for all guests to enjoy right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I can't rave about this place enough. These cozy cottages are pet friendly, near to johns pass, near beach and have everything you need. The kitchen has full size fridge, microwave, stove, toaster and is fully stocked with pots, pans, plates, cups, utensils and silverware. We will definitely be coming back and have truly found a home away from home.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Old Florida at its best. Away from the noise and bustle of Gulf Blvd, it's a cozy oasis on a canal, across from a quiet marina. In a residential neighborhood, a short walk to the beach and within walking distance of John's Pass. We always stay at Changing Tides when we come to the Tampa Bay Area.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Fantastic get-a-way! We had a blast and loved the incredible ambiance. The view was phenomenal and Cathy (owner) was very accommodating Our dog was welcome and loved the other dogs. it was comforting knowing the whole place was fenced and secure for our dog. Our adorable cottage had everything we needed and was very clean and comfortable. The beach was just around the corner and we walked a couple of times up the beach to Johns Pass. If you come to the lovely Get-A-Way we would recommend The Salty Rim and Sea Breeze for outdoor eating (pets welcome). We will definitely be revisiting Changing Tides!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here a few years ago ( but the pic list wouldn't let me ignore a date so I had to put in April 2013 to continue), before I was reviewing. It was a great spot! The people were wonderful and friendly. Very down to earth. Clean, Pretty. Comfortable, nicely equipped. The bbq and patio area was so nice to sit out at in the evening. Being on the waterway was nice too, so don't let that hold you back. It was walking distance to the beach and to Johns Pass.

It's always on my list of possibles when we go back to the area, but we like to try new places too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Changing Tides Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Changing Tides Cottages

Address: 225 Boca Ciega Drive, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Changing Tides Cottages of Tampa Bay's Madeira Beach, a family and pet friendly cottage resort, nestled on a small peninsula in Boca Ciega Harbor, beside the Gulf Beaches. The charming complex is comprised of one and two bedroom cottages, fully furnished, on one hundred and eighty feet of waterfront, with boatndocks and decks, two blocks from shopping, restaurants, and the Village of John's Pass. The location lends itself to strolling on the beach, and ending at John's Pass, where the dolphins frolic. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Changing Tides Cottages Hotel Madeira Beach
Changing Tides Hotel
Changing Tides Resort
Changing Tides Cottages Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Changing Tides Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.