We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best.weekend.ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Changing Tides Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madeira Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Changing Tides Cottages
Save Saved
You added Changing Tides Cottages to your Saves list
225 Boca Ciega Drive, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Madeira Beach
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best.weekend.ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Changing Tides for three nights- just got home yesterday (6/23). We live in Orlando and we specifically looked for a place we could bring our slightly bratty rottweiler- most always over the weight limit for other "pet-friendly" places and for being a "restricted" breed. What we wanted from this mini-vacation was simple: a clean comfortable place to hang and do a whole pile of nothing, which was exactly what we did. We brought all our food and I brought kitchen supplies as well, which is totally unnecessary since the cottages are well-supplied. We cooked every night on the outdoor grills and ate on the large deck on the water. We stayed in the Fisherman's cottage, which is their smallest, but also the closest to the water. Literally, if you tripped coming off the porch, you could almost fall into the water. The cottage was very clean and homey and the grounds are very tropical and rustic, exactly what we expected. There were many other people & dogs around and we did a lot of socializing and even met new friends that we exchanged contact info with. Just a laid-back time and one badly needed by both of us. My husband and I talked more than we have in a long time without the distractions of work and home and technology. We didn't bring a laptop but I know other people were enjoying the free wi-fi. We will be talking about this weekend for a long time and we can't want to get back later this summer or fall. Thank you Kathy, Renee and Ace for a great time!!

Room Tip: Fisherman's cottage is smallest but closest to the water. A couple of cottages were more toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
40
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you bring your dog on vacation this place is great very dog friendly...but ifyou have a boat 22ft or smaller they do not have the right docks for it. Very small cottages and no room service or pool. But if you don't care about those things...then it is a very pleasent and peaceful place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for the biggest one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were met at the gate by Cathy and her pooch, "Ace"...we were immediately given the rules about locking the gate behind us...we later met "Charlie", her cat. He was cool. We live in Orlando, the 2 hr drive was well worth it. We stayed in Southwest #2, 2/1. One bedroom had a full size bed, the other, 2 twin beds. The living room had a Futon that converted to a double. It was small and cozy. Yes it is dated, but we liked that about the place...the view from our cottage was Priceless. Cathy was a great host...she even rode from the boat ramp back to the complex with my husband so he knew exactly where to bring the boat. You'll have your own slip...easy access to John's Pass, fishing, paddle boarding, or whatever water sports you desire. Best part, it's intoxicatingly RELAXING! We will go back...

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Want the ideal laid back beach bum life for a little while? This is a dream come true! Kathy has made this rustic oasis on the intracoastal waterway. Her dog Ace roams around with guests and their pets.The collection of little cottages all woven together with walkways lined by native plants in a fenced in area feet from the water. We saw a family of Manatees lazing in front for almost 30 mins. Grab a kayak and vest on a whim to go explore the near by islands off John's Pass.The small docks and retaining wall are perfect for casual fishing. Drop by West Wind Bait and Tackle up the road and chat with Tom. He will give you tips on where to find fishing sweet spots. No fishing gear? He has loaners. On your way back the Candy Kitchen is a must see. Worth standing in line for! Changing Tides is the best!!! We now consider this our vacation home.

Room Tip: Expect cozy and casual apartment sizes with everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I came here with my girlfriend and stayed in one of the cottages right on the water. Although the place was completely packed we rarely saw anyone other than our neighbors across the way. Our porch was literally right on the water, which was great for breakfast every morning and sitting out on whenever we weren't on the beach. The beach is only a short 2 min walk and crossing Gulf Blvd was no problem, they even have bright neon flags to wave down at drivers. Johns pass is about a 5 min walk. The kayaks were great, there were a good amount of boats out but it's a no wake zone so it was easy to navigate around them. If you have any questions just ask Kathy she will gladly give you helpful advice on anything you ask. I don't know when since I like traveling and experiencing different places but the next time I'm in the area I will definitely be back to Changing Tides.

Room Tip: Get a room right on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A very quaint closely group of little colorful cottages right on the water, and I DO MEAN on the water! A couple of blocks from the ocean, but right on a cup-de-sac of the canal with a good view of the boats moored there. Very friendly owners! The cottage was very clean, and there were several dogs around including ours..:-) The area is small, and there is not much to do except go to the beach, about a 5 minute walk. Be sure to go to Bubba Gump's..always a fun place. The cottages are somewhat small, as are the bathrooms, but perfectly fine for a weekend or a week or so. They are nestled in a very quiet neighborhood and blend in so well they are almost hidden from the street. The only suggestion I would have would be to get some new linens, and towels, both of ours were thin and worn, and perhaps update some kitchen utensils. It would not keep us from staying there again however, and it is a good value, with good staff. Just keep in mind, if you are looking for shopping malls, night life, or a variety of restaurants you will not find it at this beach. What you will find is total solitude!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiteflier, Owner at Changing Tides Cottages, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort for reviewing Changing Tides Cottages.

We are glad that you enjoyed and found relaxing our colorful and friendly group of cottages, guests, and their pets. It truly does make for a homey, fun place to be on vacation and often the making of new friends.

Kathy is sure that ‘you guys’ and Renee schemed together to get the new sheets and towels that Renee has been mentioning for a few months! Needless to say, with a smile on her face, and a credit card in her hands, Renee is now off to find the White Sales within a 50-mile radius!

Should you choose to visit us again, which we certainly hope you will, perhaps you will take the short trip down to St. Petersburg, known for numerous wonderful restaurants, museums, and entertainment. Also, we will make sure we give you a list of our own favorite local restaurants and things to do.

Have a wonderful summer and again, thanks for taking your time to write.

Kathy, Owner / Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I and our three hounds spent this past weekend at Changing Tides Cottages. We live about an hour away and needed a mini vacation that would accommodate three dogs, which isn't always easy to find. We were greeted by the owner, Kathy and her pup Ace. They were both very friendly and inviting. We stayed in the jungle room which was clean and adorable and a perfect size for all three dogs and ourselves. The furniture is pet ready with covers also! We arrived late on Friday so Saturday afternoon we let our dogs explore. The community is gated in except for along the canal, which worried me a little at first, but our dogs as well as everyone else's seemed to know better and just avoid. We spent a good two+ hours letting our dogs explore while we talked to all of the friendly visitors to the community. All of which did not mind the fact that our dogs wanted to explore their rooms also. :) Overall, I think Changing Tides was even better than expected. And for anyone traveling from outside the area, it is about a five minute walk from John's Pass, which has everything you would need for an extended stay and it's about a 2 minute walk to our gorgeous Gulf beaches!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Changing Tides Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Changing Tides Cottages

Address: 225 Boca Ciega Drive, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Changing Tides Cottages of Tampa Bay's Madeira Beach, a family and pet friendly cottage resort, nestled on a small peninsula in Boca Ciega Harbor, beside the Gulf Beaches. The charming complex is comprised of one and two bedroom cottages, fully furnished, on one hundred and eighty feet of waterfront, with boatndocks and decks, two blocks from shopping, restaurants, and the Village of John's Pass. The location lends itself to strolling on the beach, and ending at John's Pass, where the dolphins frolic. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Changing Tides Cottages Hotel Madeira Beach
Changing Tides Hotel
Changing Tides Resort
Changing Tides Cottages Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Changing Tides Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.