We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Third Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barefoot Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Barefoot Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13238 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our Third Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a typical old Florida beach hotel. It isn't fancy but very nice and clean. The staff is friendly and attentive. If you want a laid back hotel with a great beach and pool. Give it a try. The also have a very nice gas grill for guests.

Room Tip: Ask for one not bordering the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    131
    28
    16
    17
See reviews for
180
245
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madeira Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

If you are going in with a high expectation, you will be disappointed. It is a family friendly beach hotel, no maid service (they pick up and drop off towels in a basket outside your door) that enters your room at all. But the front desk staff are super friendly and you are conveniently located near John's Pass and of course right on the beach. We chose Barefoot because we used to live across the street and had returned for a Fourth of July family vacation with family from out of town. The fireworks are amazing, and you can bring your own to set off as well. The pool is small but clean if you need a break from the sand and surf. Nice wide beach area and the best rooms face the Gulf. Tiny wet bar/kitchen (sink, fridge and microwave). Bathroom is a little caving but think of the wear and tear it gets every week! We have two little kids and for the price we would go back, again very family friendly.

Room Tip: Beach front is the best, pool facing basically looks over pool and street traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for a holiday weekend. We found the entire resort to be very clean and up to date. The staff was friendly and extremely responsive. This beach is absolutely gorgeous and the location is within easy walking distance to lots of restaurants and attractions. Aaron was extremely responsive and even mailed my son his favorite toy, which he left in the room.

Room Tip: Pretty much every room has a great view. Ours was "pool side" but we could also see the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend and cannot wait to return. We were so pleasantly surprised at how lovely and clean the property is. Our room was just what we needed, and much nicer than expected. Cindy at the front desk is absolutely wonderful making check in and out a very smooth experience. You can leave your car and your troubles behind as you relax on the beautiful beach, swim in the warm Gulf waves, or walk to the many restaurants nearby. This is just a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Everything about our experience with this hotel has been good or better. Arranging multiple rooms with separate families was made as painless as it could be. Rooms were clean and well maintained. I had an issue with the A/C (that I caused) and the staff responded immediately. The location is the real star, though. Right on the beach with sand dunes that separated the hotel beach from the hotels next door. Short walk (5 min.) to John's Pass.

Couple of things to consider: There's no daily housekeeping though they do exchange towels in the morning if you desire. While that worked well enough for us, the sand really started to build up despite our best efforts to keep the room swept. Other thing was the "Eco" amenities. I am firmly convinced that companies have started slapping "Eco" on their cheapest products and started charging more. Not a slam on the hotel since their heart was probably in the right place, but I would recommend bringing your own soap/shampoo/toilet paper.

We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great staff, The hotel is exactly as it appears in the pictures on site. No surprises. Clean,well kept and great location. Beautiful, hated to leave. Laundry area and ice machines. Great restaurants and shops within walking distance. Johns Pass within walking distance. Bars and restaurant prices are very reasonable, not over priced.Lots to do if you want to and nothing to do if you want to just relax.I will tell everyone how great this vacation was.

Room Tip: Beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansing, ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great location! Only a block or so from john's pass. Beautiful white sand beaches! We felt like we had our own private beach! The rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean, and very roomy. This is a great place to visit and a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Beach
1.6 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater / Madeira Beach
1.0 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#13 of 16 in Madeira Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Suites Resort
Beach Suites Resort
#4 of 16 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#10 of 45 in Treasure Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Schooner Hotel
Schooner Hotel
#6 of 16 in Madeira Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#2 of 16 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Hotel

Address: 13238 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 room beachfront hotel. We are located 2 blocks from John's Pass Village where you will find shopping, dining and entertainment for the whole family! We provide our guests with a friendly and accommodating experience that will keep them coming back for years! Our staff loves the property and its appearance and comfort reflect this. You will wake up to dolphins playing in the Gulf of Mexico and watch breathtaking sunsets that will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Barefoot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.