We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Barefoot Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barefoot Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13238 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Madeira Beach
Noblesville, IN
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We got a great rate through Hotwire to stay here during the week. Stayed for 2 nights. They have what you would expect form a beachfront hotel in this area. Nice pool, convenient beach access and outdoor showers to clean off. The front desk was helpful, but is not staffed at all hours. We usually rent a condo, so this doesnt really bother us. I would stay here again if we got a similar rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    103
    22
    15
    12
See reviews for
140
197
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

From our beachfront room we could choose to watch kite surfers or go down to the beach to swim. The sea was a warm 25 degrees ( 80+) and the sand , soft white powder. The pool was excellent.
The unit was functional - microwave, good frig and good air con., good hot showers.
There was no maid service but this didn't matter. We were supplied with clean towels each day.
There was no where much to dine out. I would recommend taking food or visiting a supermarket soon after arrival.
The office staff, during office hours were wonderfully helpful with forward travel arrangements.

Room Tip: Beach front of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We arrived about an hour before the check-in time, but the staff welcomed us and said that we can move in, provided us with detailed instructions and advices. The first impression was - great! Positive experiences continued in the room. We've booked a sea-view room, and I highly recommend it to everyone, because there is a balcony, and in the evening you can sit there, relaxing and watching the sunset. Generally, living there is a self-service, and it was also a big plus, because you can plan your stay your own way. The room was large, with everything we need. The bed was comfortable, very comfortable. There was also kitchen utensils and a tiny cooking table. The shower room is comfortable and there is enough space too. And we always could find places in the parking lot. Most of the time we spent on the beach, it's just one step from the hotel. The beach is very clean, with umbrellas and sunbeds available to rent. The surrounding of this hotel is quiet, but there are several places where you can have a good time. The nearest grocery store (except 7-11) was 5 minutes away by car. We liked our stay, thanks to this hotel.

Room Tip: Great view on the Gulf from sea-view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here 5/29-6/2 after having to cancel our trip to Key West at the last minute. The room was a nice size with a very convenient kitchenette and the view of the gulf was perfect. We did have a huge cockroach greet us one morning in the bathroom but I know that kind of comes with the territory in Florida. The room was extremely clean and is right on the beach. The walk to Johns Pass is short but its not close to much else. We didn't have a car so on the third day we decided to try out the Trolley that runs up and down the coast. What a fun little adventure! My only complaint is that the a/c is a wall type unit and the couch sits right next to it so the air will blow directly on you so it's freezing when you're trying to watch TV unless you're wrapped up in a blanket.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great location, a very short walk to Johns pass.. But try not to use too many towels or ask for clean sheets they will charge you extra on your bill. The front office closes at 6, so if need any assistance with anything good luck. You would be better off looking for a real hotel on the beach..

Room Tip: Find a real hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for the review. I would like to start off by saying that we provide towels and linens daily for all guests. We do not charge extra for these towels or sheets. The only reason this guest was charged was because they put Blood soaked/stained towels in the basket for exchange. The damaged linens consisted of 1 king fitted sheet,1 pillowcase,1 mattress cover,2 bath towels,1 hand towel. Pictures were taken of the damaged linens the day they were placed in the basket for exchange We are unaware of the circumstances that led to the blood soaked/stained linens but our registration makes all guests aware that they are liable for all and any damaged towels.
Thank you for giving us this opportunity to inform our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Renovated hotel that is right on the sugar sand beach. They have done a very nice job updating the rooms. Ours was beach front which was terrific. Easy walk to John's Pass to eat and shop. They were nice enough to let us extend our check out time without any issues. Would definitely return. Something that could be improved upon would be the quality of the bed pillows. Also, internet connection was spotty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We happened upon Barefoot Beach Hotel recently and had a fantastic visit (4 nights). It was instantaneously soothing to have the beach right there with the gulf breeze and sounds that we enjoyed on the balcony and inside the room! I was hugely impressed by Heath, Aaron, and Cindy in terms of customer service (and finding great customer service can be surprising these days!) I also loved that a basket is left outside the room to exchange towels and supplies daily so we didn't have to straighten up for the housekeeper to come in. It pained us to leave... I definitely want to come back for a romantic vacation soon.

Room Tip: Yes, the beachfront rooms cost more but the benefits are priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barefoot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Hotel

Address: 13238 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 room beachfront hotel. We are located 2 blocks from John's Pass Village where all the shops and dining are. We provide our guests with a friendly and accommodating experience that will keep them coming back for years! Our staff loves the property and its appearance and comfort reflect this. You will wake up to dolphins playing in the Gulf of Mexico and watch breathtaking sunsets that will last a lifetime! Come stay with us and experience what all the talk is about at the Barefoot Beach Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Barefoot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.