We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Barefoot Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barefoot Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13238 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Madeira Beach
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel offers free WiFi but what they don't tell you is that you have to go to the parking lot to get it! Our room was facing the pool and the outer corridor so folks going to their rooms looking in on ours. We had to keep the draps closed. This is a non-smoking hotel yet there was a dirty ashtray on the balcony. The sofabed couch sagged and there was a dirty, rusty pairing knife left at the sink. There are wine glasses in the cupboard yet there is no corkscrew. Asked at the desk and told no, they didn't have one. You have to leave your dirty towels in a wicker basket outside the door by 9:30 a.m. or you do not get any clean towels. There is no housekeeping except when you leave. After a short drive, we realized that there was a new Marriott hotel and were disappointed that we had not chosen it - same price as the Barefoot. Overall, would not stay or recommend. Beach was nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest we appreciate your recent review of our property. I am very sorry to hear that housekeeping left a knife in your sink. I have spoken with my front desk staff and they are now aware of the location of our inventory of wine opener corkscrews. Housekeeping was not on the property when you requested this item and the front desk staff did not know the location. We offer our guests fresh towels and linens daily. Our basket system is a efficient way to provide this service without having someone enter your room. This gives our guests privacy and most of them prefer it this way. The sofa bed has been attended to. It was just a broken bracket. Please bring any issues directly the attention of the Property Manager in the future so that they can be resolved promptly. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    99
    21
    15
    12
See reviews for
135
197
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you stay here, do not pay with cash. Also, if there is a problem after 6:00 PM- office closes, you are on your own until the office opens up in the morning. We had a overflowing toilet two nights in a row. Supposenly, they
fixed it but had the same problem the second night and had to leave in the early hours because of the mess and smell. There was no number to call for help. We called the office manager while on our way back home to tell him of the issue. Insincere promises were made for a one night voucher for our trouble. The voucher never came despite repeated phone calls and emails. We even stopped back in at the service desk when we were in town. The manager was not in so we called him on his direct cell phone. He never answered nor responded to our message. Finally, after 10 weeks, we received a spa voucher for $25.00. There is no spa on the premises so we don't think it is even valid. This hotel is located on a beautiful beach and the rooms are clean. It, however, lacks in customer service and accountability. When a manager continues to deliberately lie by making false promises, something is seriously wrong.

Room Tip: make sure everything is in working condition before the office closes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Heated pool and wifi??? We were told the pool was at 82 degrees. It felt the same as the gulf, about 63 degrees. No one went in when we were there and teenagers were daring each other to jump in. Wifi was free but non existent We called down to see if it was just our room but never got a reply. The beds were comfortable but the pull out was old and stained and the couch cushions had holes. We'd all sink into the middle when we sat down.We were in the 2bedroom gulf view. The second bedroom had no door, only a curtain that you had to pull across a large archway. The balcony had a beautiful view but was tiny with 2 small chairs and a table. After having an excellent stay at Worldquest Orlando this was a real downer. The only positive was being able to walk to John's Pass, enjoy a great meal and watch the dolphins play in the ocean... Would definitely not recommend...Also resort is not a suitable description.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are very sorry the pool heater stopped working during your most recent stay.. We had multiple technicians look at and attempt to repair it. Unfortunately we are still in the process of having it repaired. We do not turn off the pool heater until we are certain that our guest will be happy with the temperature that it will remain without the aid of heat. We do encourage all guests future and past to be patient during times like these during equipment malfunctions. We do not encourage bad reviews because of things of this nature. Please if you have an issue with anything at all visit the front office to get the correct information before taking it to the web. We do hope you return in the future. The pool will be warm! Promise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersport, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

property is nice but they advertise heated pool but it was freezing. there were many excuses. heard it was broke, it needed a part, and it kept blowing a switch but they were trying. then we heard it was turned off for the season. that's ok but don't advertise heated pool!
don't come hear during cool spell if you want to use the pool. families and kids were really, really disappointed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are very sorry our pool heater broke during your most recent stay. It has not been turned off, it is actually broken. Pool technicians are working to repair the issue. We would rather be safe and have a cool pool than to operate an unsafe pool heater. Thank you for your business and your review. It gives us a chance to reach others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were extremely pleased with every aspect of this resort. The location is perfect to the beach, restaurants, and shops are within walking distance. The rooms are more like a condo with a mini kitchen (mini-fridge, microwave, dishes, silverware) than a regular hotel room. On our balcony, we overlooked the ocean on one side and a bay on the other, and saw the sunrise every morning. It was a bit chilly on our trip so the heated pool was nice. The rooms were perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! We do look forward to seeing you in the future! Glad you enjoyed our HEATED POOL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Took the kids for spring break, was about to go up and make lunch when the hot announced they were cooking hamburgers for the guest. What a nice surprise. Everyone is so very helpful and friendly will absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Wonderful to hear you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us! Glad you were able to be apart of our Poolside Cookout!! We do hope to have many more! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Room was updated and clean. The front desk receptionists were very helpful. The location was great. 5 minute walk to John's Pass. The beach was at the steps of the elevator and parking lot. We kept our beach stuff in the car to avoid a sandy room. However, wireless internet is hard to get in the rooms further away from the front desk. So although there is wireless don't expect too much and it is slow. As well, our phone in the room didn't work so calling the front desk was not possible. As well when we told them about the phone we were told it would get fixed but it never was fixed. As well, we were there end of February and the pool in the shade was not very nice and useful. Other than the few problems we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barefoot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Hotel

Address: 13238 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 room beachfront hotel. We are located 2 blocks from John's Pass Village where all the shops and dining are. We provide our guests with a friendly and accommodating experience that will keep them coming back for years! Our staff loves the property and its appearance and comfort reflect this. You will wake up to dolphins playing in the Gulf of Mexico and watch breathtaking sunsets that will last a lifetime! Come stay with us and experience what all the talk is about at the Barefoot Beach Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Barefoot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.