We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beachfront Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Barefoot Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barefoot Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13238 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Madeira Beach
Brandon, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beachfront Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here a couple of months ago and loved it. the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and modern. The view from the balcony was breathtaking at sunset. Walking distance to John's Pass. When we need a beach weekend getaway we will definitely come back here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    99
    21
    15
    12
See reviews for
135
197
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our studio beach front accommodation in every way. From the minute we walked into the office, our vacation was "perfect". Staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and worked hard to maintain the building and grounds. Pool and garden area were a wonderful surprise. Our queen bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping does not enter the room...supplies are replenished from a list placed in a wicker basket left in the hall by 9:30 each morning. System works well.
Towels, sheets and tea towels ~ all good!
Hope our travels bring us this way again.
Location is excellent for beach walking, restaurants close by and John's Pass.
Free wifi was the icing on the cake :))

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Not a real fancy place with restaurants and bars and activities,etc., but very clean and modern rooms with small fully stocked kitchenettes (fridge, sink, microwave etc.) for light eating, and a clean pool. It is on one of the most beautiful stretch of white sand gulf beaches, so I highly suggest an oceanside room with balcony. Within walking distance to John's Pass Marina and right on Gulf Boulevard so you can pick up the trolley that runs up and down the Clearwater - St. Pete Beach area towns if you are looking for night life and dining. The staff is very friendly, helpful and right on top of any request you may have. I have stayed there multiple times and am always comfortable there. A great place to get away and unwind, as I prefer a small place with not a lot of people and noisy bars.

Room Tip: Ocean View! (all have balcony's) Why stay at the beach if you can't sit out and enjoy it fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Has a handicaped pool side room. Very nice but the location was terrible. Like being in a fishbowl. Had to keep drapes closed because the room could be viewed from stairs and and the walkways. NO PRIVACY. All staff was very accomodating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Tropical Poolside studio balconies do overlook the pool. The sliding glass doors are tinted and does have a reflective appearance during the day. We do recommend trying one of our beach front studio suites the next trip. They would have a little more privacy if this is your concern. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently stayed here for 3 nights and were slightly disappointed, the hotel having good reviews on Tripadvisor. Although the location of this hotel is good, being right on the beach, there is quite a busy main road on the other side, which makes crossing rather hazardous, especially so for those with young children. The room itself was rather drab and a bit depressing, which was not helped by the bad weather we encountered during our 3 days, as it was rather dark. I feel the hotel could do with a facelift, some bright new furnishings for example. I suppose it was good value but I would not stay there again as there are nicer hotels for the money in Florida. The staff were very nice and if you want to be right on the beach and are not bothered by how the room looks and feels, then this is for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The best part of this hotel is the gulf views. Watching the sunset at Madeira is always a great way to end a day. The hotel is situated a short walk from John's Pass with some great dining options. Location, location, location.

The hotel itself was was adequate. The bed was not overly comfortable and the sleeper sofa was far from comfortable to sleep on. The room had a kitchenette, a small bathroom and had a small half wall separating the bed from the living room area. The room was clean and the staff was friendly at check in and check out. The pool was heated, but being basically as an extension of the parking lot was kind of a strange location. The building is a pretty traditional beach hotel with tile floors which were a bit cold in the winter.

All in all, the location made this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I've stayed at the Barefoot Beach Hotel a few times over the years.
It's always been very clean and neat as a pin. A very well kept property!
There are bigger places as well as smaller places, older and newer available in the immediate area but as always, you get what you pay for and this Hotel falls upper middle of the road as far as such accommodations go.

The staff has always been friendly and accommodating and the location is great for access to the general beach and St. Pete area.
It's a safe bet to book here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barefoot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Hotel

Address: 13238 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 room beachfront hotel. We are located 2 blocks from John's Pass Village where all the shops and dining are. We provide our guests with a friendly and accommodating experience that will keep them coming back for years! Our staff loves the property and its appearance and comfort reflect this. You will wake up to dolphins playing in the Gulf of Mexico and watch breathtaking sunsets that will last a lifetime! Come stay with us and experience what all the talk is about at the Barefoot Beach Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Barefoot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.