We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barefoot Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Barefoot Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13238 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Madeira Beach
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our studio beach front accommodation in every way. From the minute we walked into the office, our vacation was "perfect". Staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and worked hard to maintain the building and grounds. Pool and garden area were a wonderful surprise. Our queen bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping does not enter the room...supplies are replenished from a list placed in a wicker basket left in the hall by 9:30 each morning. System works well.
Towels, sheets and tea towels ~ all good!
Hope our travels bring us this way again.
Location is excellent for beach walking, restaurants close by and John's Pass.
Free wifi was the icing on the cake :))

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    114
    23
    15
    12
See reviews for
152
213
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Not a real fancy place with restaurants and bars and activities,etc., but very clean and modern rooms with small fully stocked kitchenettes (fridge, sink, microwave etc.) for light eating, and a clean pool. It is on one of the most beautiful stretch of white sand gulf beaches, so I highly suggest an oceanside room with balcony. Within walking distance to John's Pass Marina and right on Gulf Boulevard so you can pick up the trolley that runs up and down the Clearwater - St. Pete Beach area towns if you are looking for night life and dining. The staff is very friendly, helpful and right on top of any request you may have. I have stayed there multiple times and am always comfortable there. A great place to get away and unwind, as I prefer a small place with not a lot of people and noisy bars.

Room Tip: Ocean View! (all have balcony's) Why stay at the beach if you can't sit out and enjoy it fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Has a handicaped pool side room. Very nice but the location was terrible. Like being in a fishbowl. Had to keep drapes closed because the room could be viewed from stairs and and the walkways. NO PRIVACY. All staff was very accomodating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Tropical Poolside studio balconies do overlook the pool. The sliding glass doors are tinted and does have a reflective appearance during the day. We do recommend trying one of our beach front studio suites the next trip. They would have a little more privacy if this is your concern. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently stayed here for 3 nights and were slightly disappointed, the hotel having good reviews on Tripadvisor. Although the location of this hotel is good, being right on the beach, there is quite a busy main road on the other side, which makes crossing rather hazardous, especially so for those with young children. The room itself was rather drab and a bit depressing, which was not helped by the bad weather we encountered during our 3 days, as it was rather dark. I feel the hotel could do with a facelift, some bright new furnishings for example. I suppose it was good value but I would not stay there again as there are nicer hotels for the money in Florida. The staff were very nice and if you want to be right on the beach and are not bothered by how the room looks and feels, then this is for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The best part of this hotel is the gulf views. Watching the sunset at Madeira is always a great way to end a day. The hotel is situated a short walk from John's Pass with some great dining options. Location, location, location.

The hotel itself was was adequate. The bed was not overly comfortable and the sleeper sofa was far from comfortable to sleep on. The room had a kitchenette, a small bathroom and had a small half wall separating the bed from the living room area. The room was clean and the staff was friendly at check in and check out. The pool was heated, but being basically as an extension of the parking lot was kind of a strange location. The building is a pretty traditional beach hotel with tile floors which were a bit cold in the winter.

All in all, the location made this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I've stayed at the Barefoot Beach Hotel a few times over the years.
It's always been very clean and neat as a pin. A very well kept property!
There are bigger places as well as smaller places, older and newer available in the immediate area but as always, you get what you pay for and this Hotel falls upper middle of the road as far as such accommodations go.

The staff has always been friendly and accommodating and the location is great for access to the general beach and St. Pete area.
It's a safe bet to book here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel is comparable to staying at a Country Inn and Suites, but with an amazing view and beautiful location. The people working at the hotel are all very friendly and helpful. One thing that is kind of odd is that the rooms with king size beds are all pool view rooms and the rooms that face the gulf only have queen size beds. My husband and I were hoping to have a kings size bed and a gulf view, but given the choices available we went with the gulf view room. The rooms are nice and the view is beautiful!! The bed is separated by a half wall so you can still see the TV from the bed although the view is at an angle. In the other part of the room there is a small table and a loveseat. I know they offer other types of room arrangements, but this is the one we had. Our room also had a refrigerator and microwave. Parking is right under the hotel and there is no additional charge for it. The pool was nice sized and clean - and also warm. Even though we were there in December, the pool was comfortable. Although the hotel doesn't provide beach chairs, you can rent them for $25 per day ($20 for multiple days). Another nice thing about this hotel is that you can walk just 2 blocks and you are at John's Pass which is a fun shopping area. You can also walk to Lisa's Cafe for breakfast, lunch or dinner, which is super convenient. We would definitely stay at Barefoot Beach again!

Room Tip: Choose the gulf view, it's the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Hotel

Address: 13238 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 room beachfront hotel. We are located 2 blocks from John's Pass Village where all the shops and dining are. We provide our guests with a friendly and accommodating experience that will keep them coming back for years! Our staff loves the property and its appearance and comfort reflect this. You will wake up to dolphins playing in the Gulf of Mexico and watch breathtaking sunsets that will last a lifetime! Come stay with us and experience what all the talk is about at the Barefoot Beach Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barefoot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.