We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barefoot Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Barefoot Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13238 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Wooster, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I went with a group of friends. We had connecting rooms. The rooms were clean and very nice. They take pride in their hotel. Loved the size of the refrigerator, not your normal hotel size. We also had a microwave, coffeemaker, and the usual hair dryer. The staff was very friendly, caring and helpful. It is in a good area that we could walk around the neighborhood and on the beach at nice and feel totally safe. Definitely will go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    114
    23
    15
    12
See reviews for
152
213
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland, Indiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My neighbor and I went to Madeira Beach, FL this past summer. Our travel agent booked us at the Barefoot Beach Hotel and we did not know what to expect. WOW! The rooms were clean and we had absolutely no complaints. Everyone was so kind and made us feel at home. The gal at the front desk was so nice to keep our bags for us so we could go out to eat after we checked out. I will certainly refer my friends and family to stay here. I had never been to Madeira Beach, as my husband and I usually go to Destin. Madeira Beach was so much more enjoyable because it is not so busy with traffic. The whole area is just more calm and relaxing! Thanks to the staff for making me feel at home!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were down in Madeira beach at the end of August during the very stormy weather. We were looking for accommodation for 5 of us. The first place we came by was 'Barefoot' and that's where we stayed. We were welcomed in at reception and ended up in a great apartment overlooking the ocean. perfect spot, rooms were immaculate and ideal for the 5 of us.
Shame about the weather but I bet it is fantastic when the weather is good as the views are fabulous. Swimming pool was great even when it was raining! Good facilities, great price and perfect recommendation for breakfast over the road at Lisa's. Would happily go back and stay or our next trip over from the UK.

Room Tip: we had a 4th floor apartment with a sea view - very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and i stayed here for 15 nights and could'nt have asked for anything more it was lovely,the rooms where very clean the staff are extremley helpful and freindely,we had a sea view a little bit more expensive than the other rooms but really worth it sitting on the balcony in a morning watching the dolphins was fab. i would recomend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing wonderfuly peaceful holiday.the hotel is close to johns pass some lovely places to eat and some nice bars with live music on weekends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for one week, which was far too short !!. We are from the UK.
This hotel is located on a beatiful stretch of long beach which is miles better than Clearwater and even better than Honeymoon Island State Park. We swam with wild dolphins and pelicans. The ambience (quiet and chilled out) was a perfect contrast to Orlando. In short, the location is paradise.
St Johns Pass is 5 minutes walk which is working fishing village with great food.
The rooms were tastefully laid out - ours had an amazing sea view. Balconies were large and perfect for watching the sun go down, armed with a glass of red wine. The swimming pool was also spotless and just the right temperature.
UK visitors please note......the helpful and frinedly service that we received from Heath in the hotel office was excellent and 200% better than you will ever get at home.
Thanks also to Rob who provided us with a wealth of local information, around his many hotel duties. Thanks also to Lisa's retaurant opposite for a number of delicioius breakfasts plus, in particular, a fantastic grouper wth boiled herb potatoes.
We are a family of four and we all rate this hotel 11/10. Please visit it as soon as possible !!!
Thanks again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed 5 days in a studio suite. The size was great but keep in mind the pull out couch will sleep only 1 adult or 2 small children (12 and under). Otherwise get the bigger room. We booked through a third party and got a really great deal. With that said, I do feel like the front desk (maybe the owners, not sure) were kinda less than helpful when needing any assistance. 1st When we arrived to our room, the kitchen area was covered in ANTS. After going back down to the front desk, they said they would send someone up who knows how to deal with this sort of problem "An Expert". Needless to say, he showed up with a half empty can of Raid & said it was really strong smelling stuff so be carefull. First off, RAID really? That stuff stinks so much especially in a small room. He told me to return the can in the basket. Hmmmm, the can was almost empty & this isn't going to resolve the problem. We ended up having to put everything in the fridge because the ants were persistant and I didn't feel comfortable spraying Raid in the area where there was food prep. We finally decided to eat out! The coffee pot was a total joke. If you like cofee as much as I do, bring your own. Othewise, we drove to the gas station each day. The room on it's own was cute & updated. The beach is awesome! We swam with dolphins one morning. They were SO close. We also saw lots of small stingrays. Make sure you do the stingray shuffle....REALLY. John's pass is close. If you have small kids, bring the stroller. It is a long walk for them. Overall, I like the towel and supply system. It worked great for us. The beach was nice. Upgrade to Beach View, it is worth it unless you like the pool. I would have given it a 4 star if the front desk lady would have been as genuin as she acted and we were never able to get rid of ants.

Room Tip: Ocean Front is a must. Bring coffee pot if you are a local.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear that Ants were in your kitchen area. I would like to mention we use a name brand "Kitchen Bug Spray with Botanical Insecticides" if we ever have any minor bug related issues in the kitchen areas. This spray is supposed to be low odor We would like to mention that all the studio suites have a 4 cup coffee maker. The 2 Bedroom Suites have a full size coffee maker. We do have large full size coffee makers in the office to loan out upon request. As well as blenders for mixed drinks! We do hope you come back to visit us in the future. We promise to have you a large coffee maker to use and your room will be ant free!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

A fantastic week at the beach. We were a family with two teenage sons, so it was great when we were given interconnecting studio rooms, which allowed everyone the space they needed. Beds are wonderfully comfortable, although the sleeper couch mattresses could do with an upgrade!
Air conditioning in room, kept everything lovely and cool after a hot day on the beach and pool, and the flat screen TV was a hit especially as the Olympics was on. St Johns Pass a short walk . Would recommend Foxy's Cafe on Treasure Island about 2 miles away for great service, breakfast and fantastic value. All in all a great week , thank you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Hotel

Address: 13238 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 room beachfront hotel. We are located 2 blocks from John's Pass Village where all the shops and dining are. We provide our guests with a friendly and accommodating experience that will keep them coming back for years! Our staff loves the property and its appearance and comfort reflect this. You will wake up to dolphins playing in the Gulf of Mexico and watch breathtaking sunsets that will last a lifetime! Come stay with us and experience what all the talk is about at the Barefoot Beach Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barefoot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.