We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"wow"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barefoot Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Barefoot Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13238 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Madeira Beach
newcastle upon tyne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"wow"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and i stayed here for 15 nights and could'nt have asked for anything more it was lovely,the rooms where very clean the staff are extremley helpful and freindely,we had a sea view a little bit more expensive than the other rooms but really worth it sitting on the balcony in a morning watching the dolphins was fab. i would recomend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing wonderfuly peaceful holiday.the hotel is close to johns pass some lovely places to eat and some nice bars with live music on weekends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    114
    23
    15
    12
See reviews for
152
213
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for one week, which was far too short !!. We are from the UK.
This hotel is located on a beatiful stretch of long beach which is miles better than Clearwater and even better than Honeymoon Island State Park. We swam with wild dolphins and pelicans. The ambience (quiet and chilled out) was a perfect contrast to Orlando. In short, the location is paradise.
St Johns Pass is 5 minutes walk which is working fishing village with great food.
The rooms were tastefully laid out - ours had an amazing sea view. Balconies were large and perfect for watching the sun go down, armed with a glass of red wine. The swimming pool was also spotless and just the right temperature.
UK visitors please note......the helpful and frinedly service that we received from Heath in the hotel office was excellent and 200% better than you will ever get at home.
Thanks also to Rob who provided us with a wealth of local information, around his many hotel duties. Thanks also to Lisa's retaurant opposite for a number of delicioius breakfasts plus, in particular, a fantastic grouper wth boiled herb potatoes.
We are a family of four and we all rate this hotel 11/10. Please visit it as soon as possible !!!
Thanks again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed 5 days in a studio suite. The size was great but keep in mind the pull out couch will sleep only 1 adult or 2 small children (12 and under). Otherwise get the bigger room. We booked through a third party and got a really great deal. With that said, I do feel like the front desk (maybe the owners, not sure) were kinda less than helpful when needing any assistance. 1st When we arrived to our room, the kitchen area was covered in ANTS. After going back down to the front desk, they said they would send someone up who knows how to deal with this sort of problem "An Expert". Needless to say, he showed up with a half empty can of Raid & said it was really strong smelling stuff so be carefull. First off, RAID really? That stuff stinks so much especially in a small room. He told me to return the can in the basket. Hmmmm, the can was almost empty & this isn't going to resolve the problem. We ended up having to put everything in the fridge because the ants were persistant and I didn't feel comfortable spraying Raid in the area where there was food prep. We finally decided to eat out! The coffee pot was a total joke. If you like cofee as much as I do, bring your own. Othewise, we drove to the gas station each day. The room on it's own was cute & updated. The beach is awesome! We swam with dolphins one morning. They were SO close. We also saw lots of small stingrays. Make sure you do the stingray shuffle....REALLY. John's pass is close. If you have small kids, bring the stroller. It is a long walk for them. Overall, I like the towel and supply system. It worked great for us. The beach was nice. Upgrade to Beach View, it is worth it unless you like the pool. I would have given it a 4 star if the front desk lady would have been as genuin as she acted and we were never able to get rid of ants.

Room Tip: Ocean Front is a must. Bring coffee pot if you are a local.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarefootBchMgr, General Manager at Barefoot Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear that Ants were in your kitchen area. I would like to mention we use a name brand "Kitchen Bug Spray with Botanical Insecticides" if we ever have any minor bug related issues in the kitchen areas. This spray is supposed to be low odor We would like to mention that all the studio suites have a 4 cup coffee maker. The 2 Bedroom Suites have a full size coffee maker. We do have large full size coffee makers in the office to loan out upon request. As well as blenders for mixed drinks! We do hope you come back to visit us in the future. We promise to have you a large coffee maker to use and your room will be ant free!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

A fantastic week at the beach. We were a family with two teenage sons, so it was great when we were given interconnecting studio rooms, which allowed everyone the space they needed. Beds are wonderfully comfortable, although the sleeper couch mattresses could do with an upgrade!
Air conditioning in room, kept everything lovely and cool after a hot day on the beach and pool, and the flat screen TV was a hit especially as the Olympics was on. St Johns Pass a short walk . Would recommend Foxy's Cafe on Treasure Island about 2 miles away for great service, breakfast and fantastic value. All in all a great week , thank you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

For years we have visited the west coast and always stayed in this general area. We have stayed at several hotels, of which we have rated on TripAdvisor. We chose to stay at Madeira's Barefoot Beach Resort off a recommendation from a friend. We are glad we listened. There are other nice places to stay in this area but we were very pleased with this hotel. Plenty of parking, very nice staff, great location (you can walk to just about everything from here), clean rooms, clean pool, great beach, and balconies everywhere :) This would be a good place to stay for couples just getting away or for families of all ages. My only thought is it would be nice if the rates were a little more friendly. We will return to Barefoot Beach Resort to enjoy more time in Madeira Beach.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed nice. You either paid for a pool view or a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed at the Barefoot Beach Hotel July 27 - 29, 2012. We were in a 2-bedroom suite on the end, on the third floor, facing the Gulf. It was really nice! The whole suite was smaller than we expected, but the view out the balcony and the windows was breathtaking. It was clean, modern, comfortable, and the whole family enjoyed it.
The main bedroom has a comfortable king-sized bed and it's own air conditioner, which was a life saver since my husband is a polar bear and the kids are not. The only downside was that one of the bedroom windows faced east with just plantation shutters, so sleeping in wasn't really an option. But who wants to sleep in on a beautiful beach like that?
The second bedroom was rather oddly proportioned. It had an arched opening with curtains instead of a door, and the queen bed filled up most of the door - you had to squeeze past it to get to either side of the bed. One side had two closets, the other had a window looking out onto the beach. We had a roll-away bed for one of our sons and had to squeeze it in next to the closets, rendering them useless, but he was very happy with the arrangement. I soon realized that the door had curtains because the room had no a/c unit, and with the west-facing and south-facing windows it could be unbearably hot in there.
The balcony was tiny - just deep enough for two small chairs and a smaller table - but it was fine for hanging out towels, watching the waves, or yelling at your hubby to come in. The living room had a full-sized pull-out bed in the couch which, according to my nieces, was quite comfortable. We did not try out the game console or DVD. The flat-screen TVs were nice, but we hardly turned them on. Who needs to, with the beach right outside?
The kitchenette had new appliances and was clean and well-equipped. The bathroom was just as nice, only one complaint - the fan was useless, and we started showering with the door open just to let out the steam. The walls and floor appear to be poured concrete - the unit next to us had a party, and we didn't hear a thing.
The resort pool and pool deck was clean, well maintained and nice. They also had gas grills for guests to use, and they were nice as well. Parking was a little challenging with a minivan, as the whole bottom floor of the hotel was parking and the concrete posts made maneuvering an adventure, but it was worth it to have a nice cool car.
The front desk staff were very nice and very accommodating. They made sure we had everything we needed, including an extra half-dozen towels.
The hotel is about 2.5 blocks from John's Pass, which is full of touristy shops, restaurants, attractions, and is a departure point for sightseeing boat trips. It is also the longest, hottest 2.5 blocks I have ever walked in my life. If we didn't have to pay $10 to park at John's Pass, I would have driven in a heartbeat.
If you like enormous tasty breakfasts, we enjoyed The Frog Pond (on St. Pete Beach and also on North Reddington Beach). The rest of the meals we cooked ourselves and ate at the beach picnic-style or in our dining room. The nearest proper grocery store is less than 10 minutes away.
We would go back in a heartbeat! This is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: There is really no bad room that I can tell. The walls, floors and ceilings seem to be poured concre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The reviews on tripadvisor helped my decision to book this hotel with NO regrets! The rooms were VERY clean and had everything we needed plus more. The hotel offers beach chairs, toys and umbrellas for guests at no charge. The front office staff was always professional and very accomodating. The beach and pool were never crowded. We had a nice, quiet stay and didn't have to worry about loud music or partying. The rooms are no-smoking so guests go out on their balcony, which meant we could not always enjoy our beach front view (we were on the top floor), but other than that we will definitely come back and recommend to others:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Hotel

Address: 13238 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barefoot Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
43 room beachfront hotel. We are located 2 blocks from John's Pass Village where all the shops and dining are. We provide our guests with a friendly and accommodating experience that will keep them coming back for years! Our staff loves the property and its appearance and comfort reflect this. You will wake up to dolphins playing in the Gulf of Mexico and watch breathtaking sunsets that will last a lifetime! Come stay with us and experience what all the talk is about at the Barefoot Beach Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barefoot Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfront Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.