We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Gardens Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madeira Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Gardens Resort
Save
You added Gulf Gardens Resort to your Saves list
14141 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Winchester, Kentucky, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I had a week stay at Gulf Gardens (unit 5), the whole resort was just amazing. Clean, comfortable, great pool and a very short walk across the street from the beach. I swear it has taken me longer to get to the beach when staying at a high rise beachfront property. If you are looking for something unique and reminesent of "old Florida" this is for you! Imre and Maria (caretakers) are amazing, and answer any questions quickly. I look forward to many more vacations at Gulf Gardens Resort. I also think it would be a great group or family trip utilizing multiple units. There is a wonderful poolside covered large eating area with gas grill for end of the day get togethers! Love it! p.s. parking is right at your front door!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Always clean, managers are wonderful. Couldn't have asked for more! Gazebo area is kept up and grilling options available. Plants and trees well kept, pool area always clean. We loved Imre and Maria. Just a walk across the street to get to the beach and johns pass is a nice place to browse for shopping.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashville
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Had the occasion to visit the Gulf Garden Resort recently while visiting friends staying there for 2 months. This beautifully situated resort on Gulf Blvd, directly across the street from the Gulf is a very well kept property. A beautiful pool area, covered pavillion with tables and gas grill, plenty of parking and best if all, beautiful Florida weather. We were told their is a waiting list for longer term rentals so check it out early to see if there are any openings for the time you'd like to stay in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Gulf Gardens (Unit 2) at the end of September. We had a fabulous week and are already trying to figure out when we can make it back. We booked through VRBO.com and were very pleased with that process. The resort is very modest, but extremely quaint, and CLEAN.

Gulf Gardens: We were looking for a cottage-type getaway where we could relax and unwind, but still cook our own meals and we got exactly that. I felt I relaxed more on this trip than any of our all-inclusive trips. Our unit's kitchen was stocked with every supply you will need for your stay. The complex has a BBQ that you can use as well as a shared outside eating area. We didn't use these amenities but will try to take advantage next time. The pool is extremely clean and quiet. When we were there there weren't any other guests really using the pool. The beach is right across the street, so we spent most of our time there. In the mornings we'd brew our coffee and bring them across the street to enjoy as we walked along the beach. Madeira Beach is one of the cleanest beaches I have been to. We walked a couple miles north, and as soon as you crossed into Redington, the sand was much less groomed than what it is in Madeira.

Let me also mention that the property managers Imre & Maria are extremely warm and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure you were comfortable and happy with your stay...I even got a hug when we left!

Location: Within walking distance is a great little ice cream shop, a few convenience stores, and a little further up (walkable if you like long walks) is John's Pass to the south, and to the north the CVS & Wynn Dixie are not far either. Everything is right there. Madeira Beach being between Clearwater and St. Petersburg makes it a great home base for your stay. There is lots to do close by.

When we went it was after Labour Day, so it was VERY quiet. We loved it though. It felt at times like we had the beach to ourselves, and we never had to wait for a table at the restaurants. I would go back at this time of year again.

Great value!! If you're looking for an all-amenities resort, go to one of the resorts in Clearwater and pay big bucks. But if you're looking for a more affordable, do-it-yourself type getaway where you will feel at home, I would HIGHLY recommend Gulf Gardens. The value cannot be beat...you will be very happy with your choice. I can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Have been coming to Madeira Beach many years, just found this charming place this year, our new vacation destination. Perfect! Incredibly clean, maintained gardens, crystal clear pool, across street from beach, and lovely resident managers. Home away from home. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto,ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We just finished our 7th April at Gulf Gardens and hard to believe every year gets better. Maria and Imre keep the place beautiful and are the main reason it is the best in Madeira. The people that are there for April are fantastic and we are already counting the days until next April

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

J&R 2010

Every April our highlight is to spend quality time with our family at Gulf Gardens. The complex is managed by a wonderful couple, (Imre & Maria) whom put their heart & soul into ensuring people have a fantastic experience. Their apartments, gardens, pool, patio and parking lot are impeccable! It is a rarity to find complex managers like them!
Gulf Gardens is an affordable Madeira Beach Oasis located across the street from the Gulf of Mexico and a stones throw away from John’s Pass and all amenities. You are guaranteed a great time. The residents are always friendly and inviting. If you love to socialize this is the place for you. A surefire thing is that you will leave with life-long friendships!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Gardens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Gardens Resort

Address: 14141 Gulf Boulevard, Madeira Beach, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gulf Gardens Resort, located on the east side of Gulf Boulevard in Madeira Beach, Florida is one of the hidden treasures in central Florida. Madeira Beach lies in the center of miles of beautiful white sand beaches, just north of Treasure Island and St. Pete Beach. The area offers many leisure and recreational options including sailing, fishing, parasailing, golf and tennis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Gardens Hotel Madeira Beach
Gulf Gardens Resort Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Gardens Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.