We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice staff, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Shoreline Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shoreline Island Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   14200 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Madeira Beach
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice staff, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed in Gulf View King Suite, a nice large, comfortable room with a well equipped kitchen, and a good size balcony looking over a beautiful white beach and the ocean. The room had a very large wardrobe, a great bed, large flat screen tv player, dvd player, dining table and chairs and two very comfortable reclining chairs with pop up foot rests. The place was generally very clean, but it really needed a deep clean to remove scale and dirt around the bathroom taps, the awkward bits of floor, the room edges etc. The kitchen area was quite new and nice and clean, with an oven, hob, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, electric can opener, large fridge / freezer, silver ware, crockery and glasses. Minor moan, the steak knives and bread knife were very blunt!
The external building fabric is a little tatty and worn, but the overall feel is good. There is currently a new block under construction, with the concrete frame going up, so there is some noise during the day, which wasn’t a great problem, though one day they had a major floor concrete pour, and we had continuous noise from just after 7 until around 5, so don’t expect peace and quiet for several months.
The pool area and surrounds are well maintained and kept very tidy, and there are plenty of chairs, sun beds, tables and sun shades, with a gate onto the beach where there is a shower for sluicing off salty water and sand.
The staff was helpful and friendly, offering advice and the use of a computer and printer.
The location is fantastic, we saw dolphins cavorting just off the beach every day, a manatee, pelicans, and osprey catching fish, and walked the beach for miles, a really lovely place to be.
So all in all, a great location, good staff, well equipped rooms, but current construction noise and could use a deep clean and some work on the building fabric.

Room Tip: Choose a gulf view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. We appreciate all the information you provided of our rooms and amenities. All of our rooms are always on a rotation for preventative maintenance and repairs as needed. Because this is an older property we recognize what needs to be repaired and updated and we are always working to keep the Shoreline in the best possible condition. We are excited as we are now more than half way through our construction project. We are now seeing the outer part of the building and new private balconies being developed. We are looking forward to project completion in late November.
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    98
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
25
185
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mid Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Hubby and I stayed here March 26-28, 2014. The weather was not great, being cold and rainy for the most part. The first afternoon as sunny and we were able to sit out and sip on a cold one. The room (237) was right on the gulf, had a great view of the beach, a full kitchen, and was far from the noise of construction. (The resort is building an addition which is expected to be done by the end of the year.) Bed was a bit hard, but not unsleepable.

We like walking, so we hoofed it about a mile down to the shopping area called John's Pass Village. Lots of little kitschy shops and restaurants. It got pretty crowded around afternoon.

As it was cloudy and rainy most of the second day, so we walked the beach in the morning, lots of sponges washed up. Spent the day reading, listening to the waves, and returned to the John's Pass Village to visit the Mad Pub (If you like craft beer ~ GO THERE!).

Yes, the weather could have been better, but we made the best of it. Having the nice room on the Gulf was a big plus.

Room Tip: Go for Gulf Front Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We are sorry to hear the weather was not the best during your stay. Johns Pass Village is always a great place to visit in this area and has a lot of great things to offer our guests and beach goers. We are glad that you enjoyed your room. Our Gulf front rooms are perfect for rainy days as you can sit out on your private balcony and listen to the sound of the waves and rain.
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to having you as our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay for a reasonable price. You can find more elaborate hotels in the Clearwater Beach area, but they are much more expensive. Shoreline Island Resort is well kept and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Our ocean front king room was clean and updated with fresh paint and quality appliances in the kitchen. The paint was fresh, the water pressure was wonderful and the view of the Gulf was most pleasing.
My wife was a bit taken aback when we drove up and saw the big letters on the Shoreline sign that say "ALL ADULT" but I assured it only meant that no little kids would be disturbing us. The owners are continuing to improve the property by constructing a new building and while the construction created a bit of noise, it was not unbearable and I personally like the sound of progress.
The free continental breakfast was nice and when you want to go to the beach they have beach chairs to borrow at no extra cost.
We will be back to Shoreline Island Resort on our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our goal is to provide every guest with a home away from home that you can depend on. We are always working to keep the property clean and well maintained with routine and preventative maintenance and fresh paint as needed.
Our construction project is going very well and we are happy to hear it was not bothersome for you while you were here. We are so excited that we are now about half way done.
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, IL
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My review might be a little jaded, after suffering through the worst winter in history. Staff was so pleasant, beach is even better than Ft. Myers Beach, "free" newer movies to use in DVD player, it was all good. Took one of their nicest rooms - a King Suite facing the gulf, very nice view and sound of waves in the background. I would definitely return. (The only thing that kept me from giving it an Excellent rating was that the WiFi service was pretty bad, and since I paid $250+ night for the room, it would have been nice if the room wasn't so worn. That being said, it was clean.)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We are so pleased to announce that as of April 1st, we have officially switched our internet provider and upgraded our services. Our wifi signal is now excellent and rarely gives us any issues or inconsistencies with the connection. We all depend on the internet and we understand how frustrating it can be at times when the signal is bad or doesn't connect.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This is the third time I've been here. Each time it's been excellent. The staff is very helpful. It's very nice. It's quite. It's very relaxing. This is the first time I've been here solo. I miss not having my wife with me, but it's still all good. I'm at the beach. I highly recommend this place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you have found peace and comfort at our resort. We really appreciate your recommendation and we will continue to work hard to provide the same experience you have come to depend on, each time you are here. Thank you for your great review and for being a loyal guest. We look forward to serving you many more times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Overall a nice place. Location right on the beach is outstanding. Only downside is the construction of the new rooms. Noise from construction voided out sitting by or being in the pool. Once construction is done, I'm sure that it will return to its higher previous status.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We understand how the construction has been bothersome and we really appreciate your willingness to stay with us during this time. We look forward to when our project is complete and being able to offer brand new rooms to our guests. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to have you as our guests. We hope to see you again when our project is finished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canal Winchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Clean room, friendly staff, wonderful pool. We were upgraded to the ocean front from the apartments across the street. The unit is smaller but has a full kitchen and lovely screened balcony overlooking the beach.WOW. There is some noise during the day from construction. The beach and pool and views are amazing. There is a grab and go breakfast bar with fresh coffee that is a real convenience. I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Gulf Front room. Waking up to the sound of the waves and the beautiful view of the Gulf waters is a really great way to start your day. We are glad to hear that the noise from the construction was not too bothersome for you during the time that you were here. We really appreciate the understanding and patience of our guests who have come and stayed with us during this time. Thank you for your great review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shoreline Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Island Resort

Address: 14200 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Island Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent white sand beaches engulf Shoreline Island Resort, located between Clearwater Beach and St. Petersburg Beach. This family owned resort has blended many of the comfortable conveniences with leisure and recreational amenities you expect from a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Shoreline Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Island Resort Motel Madeira Beach Hotel Madeira Beach
Shoreline Island Madeira Beach
Shoreline Island Hotel Madeira Beach
Shoreline Island Resort Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.