We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shoreline Island Resort to your Saves list
Shoreline Island Resort
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   14200 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Building
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Madeira Beach
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is an older motel, but they are remodeling the rooms. This place is very clean and refreshing. They have a simple breakfast - coffee, orange juice, apple juice, pastries, bars such as Fiber One and Kellogg's breakfast bars. They have a pool, which is refreshing, a grill, and a shuffle board. Oh, did I mention that this is for adults only! No one under 21 allowed - and not because it is a nudist hotel -- clothes are not an option -- you must wear them. I have and love my children and grandchildren; however, I love to have a vacation once in awhile without children. Most of the residents are friendly and get along with everyone.This hotel is right on the ocean.

We were in the one room, which had a kitchenette and a balcony. Rates are extremely reasonable. Also, in the office, they have DVD's, books, and puzzles that you can borrow free. They also have a 2 bedroom suite, which has 2 bedrooms with king beds, full kitchen, living room and a balcony. The penthouse has 3 bedrooms - 2 rooms have king beds and one room has 2 twin beds, full living room, full kitchen, and balconies.

We first went there last year and came back again this year. We will be back again next year. We cannot wait till next year!!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the bldg of the office have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We too love our kids. But it’s nice to have a place to get a way. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    103
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
27
191
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south bend
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Had a lovely weekend and will definitely return. In agreement with the other reviews.
pros-perfect location, nice pool, good choices for breakfast.
cons-loud refrigerater, AC & skimpy towels. Still it is clean and well cared for and a great deal for the price-adults only another plus. Front desk very nice-overslept & got an extra hour to check out which was appreciated! They have another building across the street to rent for longer periods of time which is being renovated & we might check it out next winter-when the snow is dumping on us! If you like crab & other seafood, go to Frenchys in Clearwater beach-the 2 lbs of snow crab special was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We are glad you enjoyed your weekend. Our weekend Get-Away special had been very popular. We are completing the renovation on the second floor across the street this week. I will keep updating on Facebook and Twitter. I will replace that refrigerator. I agree Frenchys in Clearwater is great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatka, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was the first time we've been to this area. The price was awesome for a beachfront hotel. Our room had a king bed, 2 recliners, 2 person dining table, small kitchen with stove & oven and bath. They keep it really clean. The housekeeper came every day and changed towels, made the bed & wiped everything down. Only issue we had was the elevator went our in our building but we were only on the 2nd floor so it didn't really effect us much and they had it fixed in a day or two. Also it's an adult only property so it's nice and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate all the great comments. We apologize for the elevator. It has been fixed. Again, thank you and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

From our arrival to checkout, the staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived several hours early, and no problem to park there, enjoy the pool or beach while waiting for our room. Our room was just as stated, large and clean. Good sized kitchen for our needs. Agree with other reviewers that having the heat of a/c blow onto balcony limits use in summer. There are still some minor repair issues, but they seem to be working hard to fix these.
The hotel is in a great location and for the money, it was just what we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Early check in is never a problem. We’re glad we could accommodate. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Me and my boyfriend ended up staying here and this was by far the best choice we made. The prices for the entire week were extremely low! There was continental breakfast included and beach chairs to take on the beach. The minute we walked in Kristin greeted us and all of the staff they even helped us pick out good places to eat over there and where the best places were to shop and go site seeing. They were so polite and friendly even maintance was so nice! Our room was amazing and very clean. This is by far a great establishment you won't be disspointed and you can tell they care about the people staying there which you don't get often from other hotels. Maintance was outside every day cleaning up making sure things looked good which it all did! Not to mention this hotel is on the beach and also has a pool! The front desk staff was so pleasant I have really no complaints about this hotel except the bed in our room which was 121 is a little hard but other than that everything was perfect!. I was so happy with my stay i'm booking my return for next summer. This hotel is above and beyond great I can't thank them enough for making my vacation awesome!
-Nicolette , Illinois

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed along your comments to the staff. You made Kristin’s day. New beds are on the way. Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

When I went looking for a property to stay for a few days in July 2012, I started by searching for low nightly rates. This is always tempered with a cross-reference to multiple sites for user ratings. Shoreline did have very reasonable rates, the proximity to the beach was fantastic, and multiple websites had very favorable average user ratings, but there was still something just made me hesitant and a little nervous about selecting this hotel. I think it was mostly the photos posted on the property's website, which did not do justice to the overall experience. All that said, we had a great time at Shoreline and would absolutely stay again in the future.

Location: This property could not be closer to the beach! There is a "courtyard" area in the middle of the U-shaped building and at the edge of the courtyard, the sandy Gulf coast beach begins. Unlike a property I have been to before on St Pete Beach, where the water seemed like a half-mile hike across the sand, the gulf front at Shoreline is only a few steps away from the patio deck. We could quickly exit our hotel room and be in the waves within three minutes. The property is also easily accessible from major highways and there are a number of shops and restaurants nearby, including the John's Pass Village, home to many little shops and surf stores.

Rooms: It is clear that this property is on the older side of the spectrum, and my only negative would be that the rooms don't send a message of luxury by any means. But we felt that they were clean and well cared for. There was a fridge and an oven in our room with dishes and glasses so we could have eaten in if we had stayed longer. The bathroom also seemed larger than many other "surf inn" type properties. The bed was somewhat lumpy and thin, but it was not as uncomfortable to sleep on as I might have guessed. The best thing about these rooms is that I think any room onsite would have a view of the Gulf.

Amenities: Being close to the beach was priority number one and it was well-met! There was also a large, beautiful pool which was never crowded during our stay. The courtyard area makes for a nice place to sit back and enjoy the sun and breezes - or to just leave your belongings in the shade while you swim or stroll. There are also two shuffleboard courts for a little relaxed recreation. The resort is adults-only, so using the pool, beach, or shuffleboard is quiet and relaxing without the screaming and splashing of rowdy kids. One thing they do not have (or I did not see it) is a fitness center.

Lobby: There is coffee and tea available basically all day. They also have continental breakfast each morning, with cereal bars, pastries, yogurts, juices, etc. The lobby also offers the use of books, puzzles, games, and DVDs for checkout.

Overall, the Shoreline is not a five-star, luxury resort. But it is clean, quiet, enjoyable, and worth a visit. If you want to stay as close to the beach as possible, the Shoreline is the place to be!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your great review. We are doing our best to address some of the issues you commented on in your review. We are in the process of installing all new beds with triple sheeting (70% Complete as of today) and HD TV’s are in our near future. We promise to keep improving and I thank you again for the great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

we were there moth of May ,, every one is so friendy and helpful.. room was very clean and huge .. we are going back on my B,day ( next month )

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShorelineGM, General Manager at Shoreline Island Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We love it here too. Look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shoreline Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Island Resort

Address: 14200 Gulf Blvd, Madeira Beach, FL 33708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Madeira Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Madeira Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Madeira Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent white sand beaches engulf Shoreline Island Resort, located between Clearwater Beach and St. Petersburg Beach. This family owned resort has blended many of the comfortable conveniences with leisure and recreational amenities you expect from a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shoreline Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Island Resort Motel Madeira Beach Hotel Madeira Beach
Shoreline Island Madeira Beach
Shoreline Island Hotel Madeira Beach
Shoreline Island Resort Madeira Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.