We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Entente Cordiale Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Entente Cordiale Inn
Save
You added Entente Cordiale Inn to your Saves list
11 Main Street, Portland Creek, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4G0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Yorkton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Entente Cordiale B&B was a great place to stay! It's right on the shore, the breakfast (and dinner if you order ahead) was really good, the rooms were nice / quaint, and it is a great launching place for the western brook pond tour and to head north towards the viking stuff in St. Anthony if you are so inclined. Peaceful and relaxed; probably the best setting of any of the B&B's that we stayed in the week we were in Newfoundland. Listen to the waves roll in off the ocean from your bedroom. Ahhhhhhhhh.......

Pros: Good breakfast, good dinner, good accomodation, good proximity to the ocean, reasonably close for accomodation to the western brook pond hike & tour, peacful and relaxed, good common room & space for people to mingle in. Oh, the staff are really nice and accomodating!
Cons: A bit farther north of Gros Morne`s ``southern`` points of interest that I thought - a full 1.5 hr drive to the Tablelands we found out. Stay here a couple of nights, and then head south in the park to Woody Point or Birchy Head and stay there while you tour the tablelands and green gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Entente Cordiale for two nights in mid August as part of a tour of Western Newfoundland. The inn is located on a long beach facing the Gulf of St. Lawrence with the mouth of a small creek bordering the property on one side. There is no other development nearby. Overall, a spectacular setting. It was very windy when we were there, and went to sleep to the sound of the crashing surf. The beds were comfortable, although the rooms and bathrooms were pretty basic. We had an ensuite bathroom, but some other rooms had to share facilities. The staff exemplified Newfoundland hospitality, and the meals were excellent. Breakfast is included but you can also have dinner if you reserve in the morning. We were travelling with our nine year old son, and we're a little concerned about how he would make out staying in B&Bs. We shouldn't have worried - he was made most welcome at Entente Cordiale and other placed we stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for the room above the dining room, as it faces the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at Entente Cordiale because of the positive reviews and because it looked like a peaceful setting and it didn't disappoint.

Hospitality: We arrived late, (on a dark and stormy night) but Edna met us at the door and gave us a cup of tea and one of her homemade partridge berry muffins. That was indicative of the hospitality we would receive during our four day visit. Effy and Elaine were always smiling and willing to help out and they gave us inside tips about places to visit. Paul gave us a tour of the addition he's building. We'll have to visit again so that we can have dinner in the new ocean front restaurant.

The Inn: My first impression was that this was a historic building, (without the crooked walls and noisy plumbing) but I learned that it was built to look that way, but it's only about 20 years old.

Rooms: I stayed in room #5 which has a lovely ocean view. It was tastefully decorated with antiques to reflect historic Newfoundland and it was spotlessly clean.

The meals: We had breakfast in the oceanfront dining room. Effy made our choice of eggs, bacon, ham, homemade toast, several different cereals, orange juice and a fruit bowl. The coffee and tea were great. We ate dinner at the inn because it's the only restuarant for miles and also because the food was great, the view spectacular and the price reasonable. There were several types of fish to choose from and some other choices for those who aren't fish-eaters. Edna's desserts were delicious.

The setting: The inn is on a long stretch of beach, which is perfect for walking. When walking north on the beach we had to remove our shoes to walk through a creek that's a couple of inches deep. (This wasn't a problem, it was fun.) The ocean water was reasonably warm and if the weather had been warmer I would have gone for a swim. Sunsets were lovely.

Location: Although part of it's charm is it's isolation, it's a great place from which to make day trips. Cow Head is about a 30 minute drive and has a great dinner theatre, as well as a local museum. We also visited the Nurse Bennett Museum in Daniel's Harbour, about 10 minutes north. She was an amazing women and it was well worth the $5 fee. The Inn is also commuting distance to the Western Pond Book Tour which is a must-do. ($65 + $9 park fee) We were also really inpressed by the light house trail in Cow Head. The light house itself was nothing to write home to mom about, but the trail links up with the "head of trails" which brings you out to a spectacular vista with ocean on both sides where you can see ocean for miles and watch the waves crashing onto the rocks. That hike ( "hike" is probably an exaggeratation, it's more like a long walk) took us about 90 minutes. It wasn't difficult and it was very well marked. Best of all, it's free because it's not in the park, so you don't have to pay the $9 fee.

All in all we had a wonderful time at Entente Cordiale and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to people we like.

Room Tip: The ocean view was inportant to me, so I stayed in room #5. There is at least one other room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We loved it because it is secluded, close to the highway but "far" from the highway, ocean view, beach for walking, good place to stop/rest between St. Anthony and Deer Lake Airport, convenient to the boat ride on the Western Brook Pond "fjord", pleasant staff... We enjoyed dinner with wine (fresh fish of course), breakfast, and even got the ladies to make sandwiches for our sojourn into Gros Morne National Park. Leo55, Patricia R, and LPJ-Lydia couldn't have expressed our thoughts better. Our room was in the back, but had a view of a brook running through a wildflower-filled meadow. Interesting shape with gable window and sloping ceilings. No internet; they can only get dial-up for their own computer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at Entente Cordiale Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Though our guests may not have used it, there is a computer in the common area for guests only. Unfortunately, our little community has no high speed internet service, so the connection is dial-up. For many guests this isn't an issue, as they use high speed internet via the hotspot feature on their cell phones. That connection is very good, as the B&B is located near a cell tower. Note: Travellers are reminded that there is no Rogers cell service in Gros Morne National Park and on Newfoundland's Great Northern Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here twice on our trip in Newfoundland and Labrador; once on the way north, and again on the way south. We were very impressed by the friendliness we had found on our one night stay travelling north - and also the quality of the evening meal which we had wisely booked in for. On our return a week later travelling south the weather was horrible; foggy and raining heavily, but on walking through the door and being greeted like longtime friends the Newfie weather was soon forgotten and we quickly settled in at a table in the dining room (with lovely views of the ocean when the weather allows) to enjoy what we knew without any doubt would be a lovely evening with excellent food and wine and a friendly relaxed atmosphere. Since Effie, who cooks the evening meal, also cooks the breakfast, it goes without saying that breakfast was just as good and we were especially touched that she, and Elaine, came in early the day we were leaving to make sure that we had a good breakfast and a reasonably early start before our long drive that day.
Our room, Room 3, was bigger than it looks on the website and very pretty in green, white and pink, with dual aspect windows. The bed was very comfortable and we were able to snuggle under the covers the night the house 'shook' in a storm!
We can highly recommend this B&B for an overnight stay (or longer) when travelling along the west coast of Newfoundland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This small B&B/Inn is in tiny Portland Creek not far from Newfoundlands's Viking Highway. But you step into another world at the gate. Named for a fascinating piece of Newfoundland history, the Entente Cordiale is located on a secluded stretch of beach and the wood frame home invites you in, as do the wonderfully friendly and knowledgeable staff. The rooms are very comfortable, (With our window open, we could hear the ocean all night), the quiet dining room has a magnificent ocean view, and the homecooked meals are beautifully prepared. Plan to stay there if you are vacationing in Gros Morne Park or travelling through the Northen Peninsula and plan to eat a peaceful, well-cooked meal, with a glass of wine and and a gorgeous sunset!

Room Tip: Check out the pictures on the B and B web site for great photos to choose the room you want. They...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place was recommended to us by another B & B that was fully booked. Entente Cordiale Inn was at the end of the road, almost in the middle of nowhere, but right on the coast. It was just a picturesque place and the hosts were great. The room and ensuite were so clean, comfortable with interesting decor.

Food was delicious, professionally presented, and the view from the dining room was breathtaking, especially at sunset. They offer dinner as there is no restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Entente Cordiale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entente Cordiale Inn

Address: 11 Main Street, Portland Creek, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Portland Creek
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Portland Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 7 acres of secluded beachfront property just 25 kilometers (15 miles) north of Gros Morne National Park, Entente Cordiale is a 4-star heritage-style B&B with modern utilities and traditional decor. We are renowned for clean rooms and low prices, in a scenic and relaxing maritime setting. Watch the sun set into the Gulf of St. Lawrence while savouring a fresh seafood dinner in our licensed dining room, roast wieners and marshmallows over a fire on the shore, and enjoy a morning stroll on a sandy beach before a hearty breakfast of homemade breads, jams and more. View the northern limit of the Appalachian mountains and the nearby Arches natural scenic attraction, or fish for Atlantic salmon on a river named by the famed explorer Captain James Cook. Or use our central location as a base for your exploration of Newfoundland's Great Northern Peninsula, from Gros Morne National Park to the UNESCO World Heritage Site at L'Anse aux Meadows, the Vinland of Viking lore. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Entente Cordiale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.