We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Chukirawa

Save Saved
You added Hostal Chukirawa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Chukirawa
Laguna Quilotoa, Quilotoa, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

One of the most established guest houses here, but there is a lot of competition now, and many more being built. Nearest to the crater rim, and right by the trail head for hiking on the loop, the location is good. Not that the village is big anyway. The sullen son did not want to light the fires in the bedrooms - and did not in some instances despite the really cold weather and polite requests. The lunch was lovely, but dinner which was included in the room price was exactly the same as lunch and also cooked at lunchtime, so not so good as the chicken was dried up. Beds were cosy, the rest of this family operation a delight. The parents are only around during the day. Seemed like a good place to meet friends, have a drink, lunch, etc, much more so than any of the other places in town, judging by the number of guides that bought their hikers in and other travellers who stayed somewhere else, but popped in for a drink.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We turned up on spec after travelling fro Latacunga. There are a lot of hostals in the village ( or at least a lot of signs. We walked past all of them as most looked a bit grim, until we hit this place which is in a great location right opposite the crater rim. The owners are really nice and the food, cooked by the lady of the house was simple but very good and reasonably price, given the captive audience.

Our room was small and basic but perfectly comfortable and was heated by a wood burning stove. Dinner was in the main room where we were joined by gringos from other hostels and locals from the village who seemed to use this as their local hostelry. Great atmosphere.

When we retired for the night one of the workers came to light our stove. It went out 10 mins later so we asked for him to come and relight it. He was reluctant (in fact he completely ignored my wife) but eventually dragged himself away from the football on the TV and proceeded to relight the stove by throwing in a plastic bottle half full of kerosene!!!! He tossed in some lighted paper and left the room in a hurry closing the door behind him. 5 seconds later there was a whoosh! and the fire was relit. I am not sure my father in law, a retired fire station chief would have approved!

Fire lighting protocols excluded, this is a nice, friendly and WARM place to stay. Be warned , it does get cold and VERY windy here re at 3900m but the location right next to the crater is unbeatable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

It's located right opposite Quilotoa Crater, literally across the road. It takes about 5 minutes to walk to Hostel Chukirawa from the bus stop. The staff are friendly and helpful, the gentleman speaks some English. The rooms are very basic, our bed was comfortable. There is no wifi. Free breakfast and dinner which was ok. We asked for the fire in our room to be lit after dinner and it made the room much more comfortable. When the fire was not lit, we were uncomfortably cold despite layering up. Because we were so cold, we only stayed 1 night instead of 2. If there had been a fire in the main part of the hostel, we probably would have stayed and hung out there. They are currently doing renovations downstairs, hopefully it will include heating during the day and wifi. This place has a lot of potential to be amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is small Hostel owned by a wonderful family, they make you feel welcome. You have a wood stove in your room that they light for you daily. Breakfast and dinner is included in the price. The owner is also an artist and has some of his work for sale. You will have a true Andean experience. They do not have stores so make sure you bring all you need for your stay. It gets cold a night but it warms up during the day; you can also hike around the lake and I think it takes around 5 hours and you are at a very high altitude. This is a little place in heaven. If you enjoy nature and wonderful people this is a place you need to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Chukirawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Chukirawa

Address: Laguna Quilotoa, Quilotoa, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Quilotoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Quilotoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hostal Chukirawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Chukirawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.