We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away and relax!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wekiva Island

Wekiva Island
1014 Miami Springs Rd., Longwood, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in Longwood
Type: Marinas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rent canoes and kayaks at this marina close to the Wekiva State Park.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Get away and relax!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is the old Wekiva Canoe Rental Dock that has been given a GREAT facelift!

Bring a float, tube or your canoe and enjoy the day - this place is about relaxing! Float and swim in the river or cruise the river in your canoe and enjoy nature. Enjoy a picnic or a drink on the dock in one of the Adirondack chairs and picnic tables (huge ones) made of local cypress wood by local artisans. There is a cozy bar that serves wine and beer with a friendly staff, a TV for sports fans and free WI-FI.

You can rent a cabana or a canoe for your enjoyment - see the Wekiva Island website for more information: http://www.wekivaisland.com

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    18
    3
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great dive hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Wekiva island is at the end of a canoe trip and it was great to get a drink and something to eat while we waited to be picked up. There was live music, drinks and barbeque, what else can you need?

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing piece of Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a great venue for swimming, canoeing, kayaking, or drinking! It is a great family place or friend hang out. It is beautiful and simple.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Planned an outing with a few other couples for last 4th of July. Reserved a cabana on the river. We had electrical power, a grill to use (shared with one other party- no problems), outdoor furniture - a couch, chair, coffee table. I covered the furniture with towels & blankets to sit on. The cabana had an ice chest that included a few waters. We brought a box fan that was great to get a breeze flowing through for the hot Florida weather. We also plugged in a radio. There was a server who came by frequently to bring buckets of beer that were ordered. We also rented a canoe. Really enjoyed the day & plan to return.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

There is nothing else like this around Orlando that I am aware of and I live here. Not great for the little kids as it is basically a bar by the river IMHO. You dont go here for food. You go here to drink beers, play bolleyball and socialize while jumping in the Wekiva river of renting a canoe or layak.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wekiva Island also viewed

 

Been to Wekiva Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wekiva Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.