We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views and wildlife” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Resort at Longboat Key Club to your Saves list
Resort at Longboat Key Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and wildlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This resort is fantastic, we had Junior Suites with lagoon views, the staff noticed we were 3 couple travelling together and made sure we were all in the same building. The suites are big with a kitchenette including a fidge, freezer, microwave and washing facilities these were great and we used all of them. The large balconies looked over the balcony and we were visited by manatee, dolphins and an assortment of birds daily. I could wake up to this marvelous view everyday and not get bored. The resort pool was a good size and had an 8ft deep end, this was a short walk from the private beach with beds, umbrellas and cabanas included in the price. The sea is warm and full of fish, most days there was a strong current in the morning, which made for good exercise as it was difficult to swim against it. We also saw Manatee, Dolphin and Pelican close to the shore. The service was great, especially when there was a burst water tank that affected one of our rooms, the couple were moved to another room in the block within 1 hour and all their washing was done free of charge as it got wet, in addition they were given some compensation for the inconvenience. Only one issue with this resort was the restaurants; in its write up it has several dining options but only two in the resort and one of those closes at sunset. The menu is limited and rather expensive for Florida generally. Other dining options are 3 miles away at the marina. Luckily with Sarasota and Bradenton within 30 minutes reasonable priced dining options are many. All in all this was is a great resort and destination and we all had a great 10 days.

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Janet0256:
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m glad you enjoyed the wonderful views from your Lagoon Junior suites and were able to watch the dolphin, manatee and other wildlife. It is a very relaxing building. I apologize that your friend’s room had the unexpected leak, but happy to hear you felt it was resolved quickly and correctly.
At the Resort area, we have Sands Pointe Restaurant, Barefoots restaurant and also offer In-Suite Dining. In addition, for breakfast and lunch, Spike-n-Tees is only one black from the resort center and The Tavern, Portofinos and Court 21 are available at our Harborside location.
Glad you enjoyed your 10 days with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    169
    82
    27
    16
See reviews for
228
221
6
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We already posted a review of how much we LOVE the LONGBOAT KEY CLUB but I wanted to share pics also. This is a beautiful resort that makes you feel like your in paradise. Also like I posted for people with disabilities it's fabulous. I also forgot to mention John who works the beach and pool is a fabulous waiter in the restaurant at night. James the young server is also a doll. It speaks volume to me to have staff that is on their game like they are. I hope you enjoy the pictures. We can't wait until we get back!! This hotel has had our hearts for 18 years..

Room Tip: The gulf rooms are amazing BUT the lagoon rooms are so tranquil w/manatee and dolphins. Even the gol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear ally e:
Thank you for the “5” rating and for sharing the wonderful pictures of your stay. Thanks for mentioning John and James and them being “on their game”. Thanks for mentioning it is fabulous for people with disabilities. Among other things we offer a lift at the pool and wheelchair for the beach area. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Just spent 10 days at the resort. The staff were fantastic, especially Gloria the concierge. Location is truly beautiful and it is a really peaceful retreat after the Orlando theme parks. Rooms were a little dated in places but very clean and service was great which more than made up for it. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Charlotte S
Thank you for the “5” review! It pleases me to see that Gloria made such a positive impact on your stay along with our other team members. Great that the 10 days were enjoyed and you found the place clean and service excellent. I apologize that you found the suites a bit dated and we are doing many improvements in that area. I appreciate that you will recommend us to others and we hope to see you again soon.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Need a one day or multiple day getaway? This is the place. Quiet. Relaxing. Private. The staff at check in made us feel incredibly welcomed. Lisa was the front desk staff and she greeted us by name before we even said who we were. (Probably announced by security at the entrance gate but still impressive never the less).
Our room was a gulf view with a large balcony - incredibly romantic and private.
This will be our go-to escape location.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Scott S:
Thank you For your very nice review. I’m glad Lisa made you feel very welcome upon arrival and that you were able to relax and enjoy yourself for your romantic time at our resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Just spent three nights here for a group function and really did have a relaxing weekend. Upon early arrival, our room was not quite ready. We found our way to a parking space and headed to the pool bar. The pool area was quite full and there were many families enjoying the day. The bartenders were busy serving up cold beer, several frozen drink concoctions and food when ordered. It was a very hot day and they consistently made sure everyone was taken care of. The music playing helped keep an upbeat atmosphere. Nice!

The rooms are clean, spacious and well appointed. The small kitchen really came in handy as we invited our group to our room for drinks before dinner. Publix is just up the street and they have a nice wine selection.

One evening our group enjoyed a poolside heavy Hors D'oeuvres and drinks evening. The staff was most gracious and took care of us as if we were family. We also spent a lot of time at the inside bar. The female bartender (wish I could remember her name) was at the top of her game. Great service to say the least.

The beach is nice and clean as well. The staff members will make sure you have an umbrella and chairs for your chosen spot for the day. If you are thirsty or hungry, there is an employee always roaming the beach to take care you. Very Nice:)

All in all this is a nice place to stay. The only real down side is the parking situation. There are wood structures built over the parking spaces with vines growing on them. They are very attractive, however, my car was an absolute mess when we left. I had to take a credit card and scrape the bird droppings off my windshield because it was more or less baked on. The landscapers were also tending to the plantings and there was dirt and leaves on my car as well. I know its just a hunk of metal, but Really??

Would absolutely return in the future!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear BahamaBreeze1:

Thank you for your “5” Rating and for being our guest. I really appreciate that your group had a successful time with us and you found your suite to be clean, spacious and well appointed. Thanks for mentioning the bartender inside on top of her game (Dawn) and the gracious staff that took care of you at your Barefoots function. Glad you also had time to enjoy the beach and happy to hear the team members in that area took good care of you there as well.

I’m sorry your car was visited by the local birds. Our bellman are always willing to rinse your car to keep it clean if this occurs.

Thanks again for your comments.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at the resort and enjoyed it thoroughly! Awesome location and the amenities were fantastic. If you like the beach, the pool, the pool BAR and great restaurants, you MUST check this place out! New owners have bought the place within last 18 months and are upgrading everything piece by piece. Rooms and public spaces are still OK currently (pre reno) but will no doubt be even better after the facelift. Didn't play golf but the course(s) looked amazing - one course undergoing complete refurbish so out of action. Incredible spa and fantastic private beach on the gulf. Not too much more you could ask for!

Room Tip: Ocean view is obviously the best, but most rooms have a view. Higher floors would probably be bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Kirkwood_Fl
Thank you for your stay and review. Glad you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for the favorable mention of the beach, pool , pool bar and restaurants. Glad you noticed all of the renovations around the property. The Links on Longboat (Formally Islandside Golf) is now reopened after the extensive renovations were completed. We are getting great compliments on the new course. Glad your stay was everything you expected.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have been holidaying on Florida's Gulf Coast for the last 20+ years. Our favourite spot is Naples - Edgewater Beach Hotel, but this year we decided to return to the Longboat Key Resort (our last stay at this resort was a week in 2007). This time we had a 10 day stay and It held up to expectations, the location is fantastic - we had a 2 bedroomed deluxe suite in building 4. This was for a party of 4, my husband and I; our 21 year old daughter and 18 year old son (parents be warned, if you take your kids on holidays to these resorts when they are young, then be prepared for them to be still coming with you at this age)! We were impressed with the overall cleanliness of this oversized suite that offered every amenity - plus it contained a washing machine and tumble dryer where you can load up your washing whilst gazing out across the ocean! We like to do some research into the company that owns the hotels where we stay - the management team is Ocean Properties. Surprisingly they have just taken over the Edgewater Beach in Naples (previously Waldorf Astoria) so we hope to return there in 2015 to check that out (and report back via Tripadvisor).
Anyway, back to Longboat Key Resort - we can definitely recommend it, special thanks to Dante on Reception who has a very friendly disposition and also Chris, Beach Attendant, who had great P.R. skills. If I had to give any suggestions it would be a very small one - the breakfast buffet in the hotel is great, but you have to spoon hot food onto cold plates. A small fix to find a device or system that will keep the plates warm or heated. That's it - we won't be waiting another 7 years for a return visit, in fact I think we've now found our perfect holiday package split between Longboat Key Resort and the Edgewater Beach!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear JeanH186411:
Thank you for your recent visit and the “5” rating that you gave us! So glad you came back to stay with us again. Glad you enjoyed the overall cleanliness of the suite and that you enjoyed the layout and amenities. Thanks for your positive mention of our team members of the front desk and beach area. They appreciate you taking the time to recognize them. I have also shared your plate recommendation to the F&B team.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Longboat Key Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.