We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Save Saved
You added Resort at Longboat Key Club to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Couples Weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the resort and enjoyed it thoroughly! Awesome location and the amenities were fantastic. If you like the beach, the pool, the pool BAR and great restaurants, you MUST check this place out! New owners have bought the place within last 18 months and are upgrading everything piece by piece. Rooms and public spaces are still OK currently (pre reno) but will no doubt be even better after the facelift. Didn't play golf but the course(s) looked amazing - one course undergoing complete refurbish so out of action. Incredible spa and fantastic private beach on the gulf. Not too much more you could ask for!

Room Tip: Ocean view is obviously the best, but most rooms have a view. Higher floors would probably be bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Kirkwood_Fl
Thank you for your stay and review. Glad you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for the favorable mention of the beach, pool , pool bar and restaurants. Glad you noticed all of the renovations around the property. The Links on Longboat (Formally Islandside Golf) is now reopened after the extensive renovations were completed. We are getting great compliments on the new course. Glad your stay was everything you expected.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    153
    78
    26
    16
See reviews for
219
199
6
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been holidaying on Florida's Gulf Coast for the last 20+ years. Our favourite spot is Naples - Edgewater Beach Hotel, but this year we decided to return to the Longboat Key Resort (our last stay at this resort was a week in 2007). This time we had a 10 day stay and It held up to expectations, the location is fantastic - we had a 2 bedroomed deluxe suite in building 4. This was for a party of 4, my husband and I; our 21 year old daughter and 18 year old son (parents be warned, if you take your kids on holidays to these resorts when they are young, then be prepared for them to be still coming with you at this age)! We were impressed with the overall cleanliness of this oversized suite that offered every amenity - plus it contained a washing machine and tumble dryer where you can load up your washing whilst gazing out across the ocean! We like to do some research into the company that owns the hotels where we stay - the management team is Ocean Properties. Surprisingly they have just taken over the Edgewater Beach in Naples (previously Waldorf Astoria) so we hope to return there in 2015 to check that out (and report back via Tripadvisor).
Anyway, back to Longboat Key Resort - we can definitely recommend it, special thanks to Dante on Reception who has a very friendly disposition and also Chris, Beach Attendant, who had great P.R. skills. If I had to give any suggestions it would be a very small one - the breakfast buffet in the hotel is great, but you have to spoon hot food onto cold plates. A small fix to find a device or system that will keep the plates warm or heated. That's it - we won't be waiting another 7 years for a return visit, in fact I think we've now found our perfect holiday package split between Longboat Key Resort and the Edgewater Beach!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear JeanH186411:
Thank you for your recent visit and the “5” rating that you gave us! So glad you came back to stay with us again. Glad you enjoyed the overall cleanliness of the suite and that you enjoyed the layout and amenities. Thanks for your positive mention of our team members of the front desk and beach area. They appreciate you taking the time to recognize them. I have also shared your plate recommendation to the F&B team.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Returned last week from a 9 night stay at the longboat Key Club. We stayed in a ground floor suite, which was a good size, with pool view and access off the deck to the pool / beach, this was priceless (and highly recommended) given that our six year old daughter practically lived in the pool during our stay! The room was fantastic and was equipped with all we required from cocktail making set to dishwasher. The maid visited daily to restock with towels and toiletries and check if we needed anything further. All the staff, restaurant, reception, pool and beach were friendly and attentive and helped make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. I would have no hesitation in recommending LBKC and we are looking forward to planning our next visit!
A special thank you goes to Sue in the kids club who entertained our little girl on a couple of occasions, taking walks on the beach and painting shells, she enjoyed it very much and is looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: For travellers with children request a ground floor suite with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear LWAW2014
Thank you for the “5” review and for being our guest. It is wopnderful that your 6 year old had a wonderful time from the easy access to the pool from your suite to the Camp Loggerhead experince with Sue. I agree Sue is a wonderful asset to the Resort and the kids love their time with her.
Glad you enjoyed your ground floor suite and apreciate your mention of the friendly and attentive staff. We hope to have you visit us again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We are currently approaching the end of our stay. Its a wonderful place. Relaxing and peaceful. The beach is wonderful. The sunsets are unbelievable. Really pleasant rooms and the staff are very good. The guys at the pool and beach are very good. Well done Kenny, Matt and Charlie for all your help.

Reception staff (chung, Lydia, Sarah, Dante and matt all of them) always friendly and helpful.

Rooms kept very clean. Well done housekeeping
Lovely stay and we will definitely come back.

Room 4403 from London

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear profdeer:
Thank you very much for being our guest and glad you found it wonderful, relaxing and peaceful. I agree that the sunsets here are unreal and glad you found the beach wonderful. Thanks for your mention of the job well done by Kenny, Matt, Charlie and the rest of the beach team. Glad as well that our reception/front desk team Jung, Lynda Dante and Matt made an impression being friendly and helpful during your stay.
We have shared your review with each member of the team and greatly appreciate you taking the time to rate your visit with us.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The wait staff at the Longboat Key Club were the only employees there that seem to understand the value of customer service. We stayed four nights, five days and not one time were we acknowledged at the front desk. No bell service, in fact, when we asked for a luggage cart we were told we could use it but be sure to return it to the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Kim H

I apologize for your concern. We have bell staff here at all times to assist you with your luggage and I am at a loss as to why this would not have been offered as matter of course. This is being reviewed with our entire guest service team to be sure that even before asking for a cart, our guests are offered bell services. I am appreciative that you enjoyed the wait staff, but truly disappointed in your perception of the front desk. I assure you this is not the norm and we hope to see you again in the future.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I just got home from spending 5 night here on an Adult Girl Trip. Overall, we really enjoyed it and would return. I want to hit on a couple of recommendation for improvement:

1. The elevator in Building 4 is SLOW. It took forever.
2. The fridge door in our room didn't stay shut so nothing stayed cold.
3. Carol at the Pool Bar was a walking nightmare. Rude and inconsiderate.
4. Beware EVERYTHING at this resort (and I mean everything) has to be charged to your room.
5. If you order food from the beach. Order before you get hungry. We timed it and it took 45 minutes-an hour after we placed our order to get our food.

Things we loved:
1. Except for Carol at the Pool Bar all the other staff was amazing. Helpful and nice.
2. The beach/pool towels are top quality and big.
3. Beach was wonderful. Kept clean and beautiful.
4. The guys working to find chairs/umbrellas for everyone one the beach were hard working, always busy, and was still very nice.
5. Our room was clean & very nice. Out balcony was amazing to view sunset on.

Like I said overall, we loved it. And I would go back at any chance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Christina W
Thank you for your recent stay and review. Glad you enjoyed your adult girl’s trip to the resort and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sorry you found the elevator slow and the fridge was not closing properly. I have attempted to reach you directly as well through this site to find out which suite so the fridge can be resolved. Otherwise, we will check the entire building to resolve. Also, apologize that the food service at the beach was slower than it should have been and your employee concern has been noted as well. Yes, we do require everything to be charged to the suite as a way to ensure that only guests or members are using our facility.

Glad you found our associates to be amazing and you enjoyed your experience. Glad you also found the beach to me clean and beautiful and that the team working this area was very nice and helpful for you. It is great that you and your friends were able to enjoy a nice sunset from your very clean suite. Please come back and see us again soon.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Longboat Key Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;