We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views, ok service. Overall nice stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resort at Longboat Key Club

Save Saved
You added Resort at Longboat Key Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Resort at Longboat Key Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views, ok service. Overall nice stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Never been to Sarasota before this visit and stayed at this property for a babymoon. Was a beautiful property and room with a gorgeous view. One downside was that we expected more amenities at the hotel but maybe we just didn't see them. The lobby is small and leads to the pool/beach. Didn't see much else there other than a gift shop and a restaurant. Overall beautiful property and nice stay. The gentleman that checked us in was very nice and accommodating. The others seemed a bit snooty and weren't very friendly which we found odd given the pricy rates at this hotel. We had a great time regardless so again that didn't matter in our case. From a vacation point of views, more relaxed and upscale feel in Sarasota than ST Pete/Clearwater.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Susankaren:
Thank you for writing a review on the Resort. Glad you found the property beautiful and your suite view was gorgeous. From your description, it does not sound like you explored our property beyond the resort center. We have a tremendous amount more to offer including golf courses, tennis center, 4 more restaurants, Fitness, spa and fitness class room. Hope you will come back to explore the rest of the property. I am glad your check-in went well and you found the receptionist very nice and accommodating. I’m sorry you did not feel that way about some others you encountered. I would be happy to speak to you further about the concern to gather more information. Our genuine goal is to provide excellent friendly service throughout.
I am please you had a great time and we hope to see you again in the future.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    142
    78
    25
    14
See reviews for
205
188
6
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Longboat Key Resort met and exceeded all my expectations for a great anniversary. I requested chocolates and a floral arrangement as a surprise and it was perfect. The room was beautiful. We decided to upgrade to a 2 bedroom deluxe room and all I can say is WOW! Absolutely awesome room with spectacular views. We had a slight issue with Direct TV but they came right away to resolve the issue. The staff was always courteous and professional. We definitely will be back and will bring friends and family.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Kris W:
Thank you for the "5" review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your 10th anniversary trip with us at the resort. Thank you for mentioning the staff was courteous and professional. So happy we were able to arrange the special flowers/chocolates in your suite. Thank you again.

Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatt. TN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Longboat key resort several times.It just keeps getting better and better.If you want true service in a wonderful setting,this is it. All the amenities plus superb cleanliness make this our favorite place to stay. The beach service is first class..Included in the resort fee are beach umbrella/Cabana set up, bicycles,beach towels,etc. It doesnt get any better than this

Room Tip: Bldg 2 is where you can see sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear bkiv:
Thank you for the "5" rating. I am very appreciative of your comment of the resort getting better and better with each stay. Thank you for mentioning the true service including beach service, the cleanliness and that it is your favorite place to stay. we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our 5th stay at the Resort at Longboat Key Club and they have not disappointed us yet. We always stay in a one bedroom suite in building 4 on the 5th or 6th floor, the views are incredible!!! The staff at the RLBKC is so very nice and helpful. The pool area is very nice but we usually elect to stay on the beach. This year we were treated to Manatee sightings almost every day of our 8 day stay. I will say that some of the furniture in the room is beginning to show a little wear and can use an update soon. Our 8 day stay flew by and we didn't want to leave. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sully-Chicago:
Thank you for the “5” rating. We greatly appreciate you continuing to return to us each visit and glad you loved the location of your suite. Thanks for mentioning that the staff are all very nice and helpful. I have shared your review with the team. Watching the Manatees is a majestic site and I’m glad you were able to experience them this trip. On the furniture, we are going through them now and doing touchups and in the beginning planning stages of our next remodel. Thank you again and we are look forwards to seeing you again soon.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at RLKC for 2 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday. At checkin, Dante made it clear that we would not like the view in the available Jr. Suites, which is what we had reserved. He said he had already been authorized to upgrade our reservation to a 1 brdrm suite. When Dante said this would be in Bldg 1, I told him that I was aware of some issues in Bldg 1 based on reviews I had read. He assured me the issues were only because of the other bldgs were so much newer, not Bldg 1. He also said if we didn't like the room, once we saw it we could change back to the Jr. Suite. Once we saw the 1 Bdrm Suite, we loved it. It was equivalent to a nicely appointed 1 Brdrm Condo. Naturally, we opted to stay there.

To make a long story short, the previous reviews were correct. The air conditioner noise when the compressor turn on was almost unbearable. I say almost because we chose this trade off for the nice homey feel of the place... and the nice view. Besides we were only there for 2 nights. We did have 2 other small maintenance issues: the IR sensors for both TVs was turned away so the remotes didn't work until the maintenance tech moved them to a point where they worked; also, the smoked detector in the bedroom was flashing every few seconds. I know this may be normal for the addressable smoke detectors, but my wife likes a completely dark bedroom in order to sleep, and this flashing even annoyed me too. The maintenance tech said what I expected, that this was normal, so I asked him if he could cover it with a piece of tape. These were the Cons of our stay.

We used the gym and spa facilities every day we were there and loved it all. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcomed (for a Black couple like us, that hasn't always been the case at some other resorts). We also had fun at the beautiful beach and rather small pool. Again, the reviews were true regarding the waiter service. There was only one waitress we saw taking orders around the pool. We were never able to get her attention the whole time we were there (about 2hrs)... others were annoyed by this also. On the beach there wasn't any waiter service that we could see. We were there about 4 hrs total.

Upon checkout, I did mention issues we had with the resort to the manager, who gave me his card so I can contact him on a future stay with an upgrade.

In summary, we feel the RLKC has some issues that need to be addressed in a straightforward manner in their advertisements and realistically reflected in their pricing. We also loved certain aspects of the resort which were indeed first class. We will be watching resolutions to their issues in future reviews before entertaining a return visit to RLKC.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Ted-Claudia:
Thank you for staying with us and your review. I have spoken to Dante and I believe there may have been some confusion in what he said. There is not a view challenge with our junior suites as many of them our similar views to the 1-bedrooms. Also, our buildings were all built at the same time and remodeled at the same time so there is no age difference in building one over any others. Building one is one of our most requested buildings and a great building to stay in.
I do apologize for any challenges you had specific to your unit. I have asked our engineering to take a look at the specific rooms A/C as if it needs repaired/replaced we will do so. Also, the remote sensors should have worked upon your arrival and I apologize that you had to deal with these nuisance issues. It is our sincere goal for everything to be perfect upon your arrival
I’m glad you enjoyed the gym and spa facilities and that the staff made you feel welcomed and they were friendly. Glad you also enjoyed your time at the pool and beach area of the property. Your comments on wait staffing have been discussed with F&B management. We have made significant changes in this area recently including adding service flags at the beach to make it more convenient for our guests who wish to have drink or food service.
We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you again for your comments.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I just got back from a little slice of Paradise. From check in to check out the experience was excellent. Staff was very friendly, without being fake. The location was perfect,the resort's private beach was wonderful. The beach was never crowded and many times felt like you had the beach to yourself. Quality of food was excellent, but a little pricey.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Building two will give you a good view of sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear DarkCloud1967:
Thank you for the “5” rating and for your recent stay! I’m very pleased to hear the check-in and checkout experience was genuine and friendly. It’s great that you enjoyed the location and that the uncrowded beach was enjoyable. Thank you for mentioning the excellent food quality even though you feel it was a bit pricey. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Accommodations at this resort are not clean, the pool is in terrible condition and not children friendly. Too many adults drinking and carrying on around the pool, which children should not be around.

If you rent from an owner, inside or outside of the main hotel, you cannot use their facilities (i.e., food and beverage, and/or beach rental).

The quality of service is not good, water leaking in rooms, bath tubs will not drain, bugs in every room.

This at one time was a great resort but going down hill fast. I have stayed at the resort for over ten years and this year will be my last.

Room Tip: Ask that the rooms are well taken care of, as they are not, need updating, etc. The pool is not c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benninghove, Manager at Resort at Longboat Key Club, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Charlotte N:
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review, but since it sounds like you were staying as a guest of a Non-Participating owner and not with the hotel itself we have no control or access to those few units. If you book through the hotel (Resort at Longboat Key Club), then you would gain access to all of our amenities through the resort and club and we clean and inspect the units to ensure you do not experience the types of issues you are mentioning. Our units also enjoy regular engineering preventative maintenance, housekeeping deep cleanings and regular extermination program. Our suites are also remodeled at the same time to maintain a consistent look throughout.

Thank you again.
Yours in hospitality,

Rick Benninghove
Director of Resort Operations
Longboat Key Club and Resort
rick.benninghove@longboatkeyclub.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Resort at Longboat Key Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort at Longboat Key Club

Address: 220 Sands Point Road, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort at Longboat Key Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four-Diamond private beach front resort just off the coast of Sarasota. Elegantly appointed suite accommodations feature a kitchen, washer/dryer, private balcony and twice daily housekeeping. On-site amenities include six restaurants, championship golf, all new Tennis Gardens, Spa, fitness center, marina, year-round Kids Klub and miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Resort at Longboat Key Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longboat Key Club Hotel Longboat Key
Longboat Key Club And Resort
Longboat Key Resort
Longboat Key Hotel
Longboat Key Club Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort at Longboat Key Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.